We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Location, suberb views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel to your Saves list
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.3 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Iowa
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Brilliant Location, suberb views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I always use this Hotel when in Hong Kong. Even though I preferred the Hotel, when Hong Kong was a British dependence, I still give it a 4 star. The Hotel is in a beautiful location with superb views of the water (if you are getting that side) and a short walk through the Mall to the Kowloon ferries to Hong Kong island. The rooms are descent size and clean. The room service is efficient and the selection descent. Prices are normal for a Hotel of this category. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    459
    125
    42
    14
See reviews for
258
332
89
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I am always concerned when a hotel room proclaims a Harbour (or any) view. Our view was like stting in the middle of Hong Kong Harbour - huge room, huge window and huge view - could not have been better.
Room was a good size and the bed and all the furnishings were excellent.
Check in and check out were excellent - staff were wonderful (I love it when I ask for an extra couple of tea bags and the staff have the foresight to include more coffee, milk, sugar etc).
The restaurant and bar were excellent - again with great views. The position was great - a couple of minutes walk to the star ferry and everything else close by. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view - very worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Park, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We arrived at the Marco Polo Hong Kong from Tokyo. The bell boy/doorman was at the main entrance and when I stepped out of taxi, he was trying to usher a cacasian couple into the taxi. My husband was still in the taxi paying and I had luggage in the trunk of the taxi/cab.
The bell boy named Ken must have either recieved a big tip from the cacasian couple or whatever, because he was trying to please them more than he was trying to help me - a customer checking into the hotel.

When I mentioned to Ken that I had luggage still in trunk and he should be looking or arranging for luggage to be taken care of, the cacasian couple interferred and passed comments.

I don't know what the procedure is at Marco Polo HK, but at all other hotels that I arrived at, guests are usually helped out of the cab/.taxi before ushering another guest into the taxi.

Marco Polo HK needs to sort their priorities right and train their staff well at the front of the line. How can the staff allow guest waiting for taxi to 'bully' an incoming guest by passing verbal comments etc. there should be clear lines for taxi and staff should be trained to ensure that incomning guest disembark from cab properly with their luggage.

I complained to the duty Manager Mr Will To of the above incident and all he said to me was that Ken was doing his job hailing a cab for the guests and he may have over looked that i had luggage. He seems defensive of his staff instead of accepting a complaint. which prompted me to write this review.

I've stayed at Marco Polo HK many times and the staff on the club floor are excellent, especially Winne and her team, but all it takes is one ill trained staff at the taxi stand and a not too caring duty manager to tarnish an otherwise great image of this hotel,

I am truly disappoiinted indeed of how they treat their regular guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Well worth the extra for the Continental Club. A bygone era of superb service and delectable delicacies. The fact that in two days Roy, Noel and team knew our preferences and we remember their names is testament to their assiduous dedication to their customers.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was the first time we had stayed in Kowloon when visiting Hong Kong. Situated right on the harbour in a wonderfully central location this Marco Polo Hotel is a gem. The rooms are large and beautifully appointed. Ours had a harbour view to die for. From check in to check out the service in this hotel is impeccable.
We were met on arrival by a delightful staff member who took us straight to our room and completed check in there, this was a most welcome service after a long flight.
We were very impressed by the restaurants in the hotel, in particular Cucina. This restaurant is a superb Italian restaurant. The ambience, the service and the food all combine for a great night.
We will most certainly stay here the next time we visit Hong Kong.

Room Tip: The Harbour View Rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our second time staying at this hotel. No doubt will be staying there every time when we visit again. This hotel will be our home in Hong Kong. Nice big room with fantastic view overlooking the city & the harbour. Not to mention the handy location just next to the Star Ferry, connected to the Harbour city, Ocean terminal up market shopping complex etc. also MTR & buses are right at the door steps. We requested a non-smoking room which was definitely in a no smoking area, not a trace of cigarette smoke at all, not like some other hotels we stayed before.Good management, very friendly & helpful staff even getting us packaging tapes & boxes for our extra luggages, also delivered them to the post office for us. The breakfast buffet was excellent, Chinese & western foods, full of varieties. Bottles of water left in our room everyday.We would highly recommend Marco Polo Hong Kong Hotel to all our friends & relatives.

Room Tip: It is worthy to pay a bit more for the magnificent harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Fantastic location on the Harbor, connected to a mall and located in the most fashionable street in HK.

Ferry station is a 5 min walk away and so is the metro

It took me less than 10min to check in with the aid of a very hospitable and friendly member of the team who escorted me to the room to insure that it was up to my expectations.

The room has the best view of the Harbor and HK's breathtaking skyline. A comprehensive selection of amenities including a Nespresso coffee station, complimentary tea and water.

Concierge team very professional and offered great assistant to help me make the best of my trip to HK

I highly recommend the Marco Polo Hong Kong to anyone who appreciates quality and personalized service

To everyone at the Marco Polo Hong Kong, I congratulate you on a job very very well done!

Room Tip: Make sure the room is on the harbor side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel

Address: No.3 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#18 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the waterfront overlooking Victoria Harbour, on the doorstep of Star Ferry and Hong Kong's Cruise Terminal. Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel is in the heart of the commercial, shopping and entertainment district of Tsim Sha Tsui and integrated into Harbour City, Hong Kong's largest Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marco Polo Hongkong
Marco Polo Hotel Hong Kong
Marco Polo Hongkong Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marco Polo Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.