We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Hong Kong (Kowloon side)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel to your Saves list
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.3 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 Reviews
Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in Hong Kong (Kowloon side)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

When travelling to a foreign country on the other side of the world it is always important to chose a hotel that gives you the kind of personal service that adds to your level of comfort. That is along with a welcome that makes you feel you are not in a big city, all alone. That is why, me and my family have always chosen to stay at the Marco Polo Hong Kong Hotel in Kowloon, our favorite area of Hong Kong. Besides having the best view of Hong Kong harbor and the accessibility to the Star Ferry and Nathan Road (great shopping area), you have the choice of their incredibly good Continental Club with excellent food offerings and services throughout the day. The concierge desk in the lobby and the one on the Continental Club floor are a handy tool when it comes to locating something special or simply confirming a reservation. It’s top notch! In the heart of everything and offering good value, we recommend The Marco Polo as an excellent choice. For us, it is like coming home to old friends. The fantastic Club floor is run by Winnie Siu, a true asset to this hotel. Having met the General Manager, Mr. Mark Heywood, I am sure this hotel will continue to grow as one of Hong Kong’s best stays!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    461
    125
    42
    14
See reviews for
258
335
89
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights on 19 mar. It was a very busy period for them due to the Rugby Seven game and we were fortunate to be upgraded to their deluxe room on the club floor on 17 th floor. There is a strong old smell either from the carpet or their wood furniture from lift are to the corridor. The room is nice but shower area a bit too small. Overall service was excellent even it was a busy period for them. Convenient located at the heart of TST.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

If this is considered an Asia top hotel I might have been extremely unlucky or my standards are way off from reality. I believe the first, as I have been in many many Asian 4 and 5 star hotels and almost all of them have been really good.
Not this Marco Polo hotel unfortunately. The standard room I had was stuffy, smelly and dark, overlooking the port area with a big steamer righ in front of me.
The hotel was very impersonal with a lobby that is more like a corridor of a shopping mall and a restaurant / breakfast area that looks more like an all-you-can eat joint.

I am going back to Conrad, Langham or Shangri La next time

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I remember staying here in the late 70's and 80's. They were about to keep the hotel fresh and well maintained. I was looking for something from the old rooms in the rooms now and all I could spot were small parts of the shower stall haha. The only thing I disliked about the hotel is the distance to the subway station (although the bus station is close you need to figure out which bus goes where)The rooms are spacious and it connects to Ocean Terminal/Ocean Centre/Harbour City complex (shopping and dining). You can take the airport express to kowloon station and take the free shuttle bus to the hotel K2 I believe

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

The location is perfect - K2 Bus (free shuttle) takes you and your luggage to the Kowloon MTR station where you can check in for your flight, drop off your checked in luggage, and be a tourist until it is time to take the Airport Express (light rail) to HKG. Hotel is walking distance to TST subway station, Nathan Road, and harbour attractions.

Restaurants at the Marco Polo Hong Kong are very good, although expensive compared to what we are used to in Canada. You can also dine at the other Marco Polo properties on Canton Road and charge your bill to this hotel.

One freebie that is not mentioned is that on the 6th floor, you can walk past the Cucina Restaurant onto the top deck of the Parkade where there is a small outdoor bar, and beautiful views of Victoria Harbour. It is perfect for watching ocean liners, the Star Ferries, and the light show starting at around 8:00 p.m.

The staff are very friendly and attentive!

Room Tip: Rooms with a harbour view would be considerably more expensive. Our room (facing West?) overlooked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Stayed at this hotel Christmas 2011. The location is perfect. It is integrated with the Harbour City, one of the area's largest and most famous shopping and entertainment complexes including the Ocean Terminal.

It's great to stay in this hotel when it's summer in Hong Kong and too hot to walk outside. Everything you need is under one roof.

I only find it quite expensive for the quality of room they're offering. Spacious but rooms need a total makeover. However, I think they're working on it since the lobby has been renovated. Overall I highly recommend Marco Polo.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We enjoyed the Marco Polo's friendliness once again this year. Our last visit was in 2010.
Naomi, the Front Office Manager made us smile with her friendliness and good guest relationship qualities.
As always, the Marco Polo Club floor was wonderful, the staff there gives good service and the selection of food on the club floor good.

A good central stay hotel. Food wonderful, their breakfast buffet to me was better than the Intercontinental Hotel Hong Kong
Great views as always

Room Tip: Rooms with a habour view on Club floor wonderful and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel

Address: No.3 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#18 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the waterfront overlooking Victoria Harbour, on the doorstep of Star Ferry and Hong Kong's Cruise Terminal. Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel is in the heart of the commercial, shopping and entertainment district of Tsim Sha Tsui and integrated into Harbour City, Hong Kong's largest Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marco Polo Hongkong
Marco Polo Hotel Hong Kong
Marco Polo Hongkong Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marco Polo Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.