We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China (Admiralty)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Buy 2 get 3rd night free
Ranked #21 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This hotel has a fantastic location, both for central and access to the metro system. The staff are helpful but it's a fairly impersonal service. A good hotel with very clean rooms that contain everything you need. I'm quite fussy about beds but theses were very comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    380
    79
    14
    9
See reviews for
232
201
103
453
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel is right on top of Admiralty station, you come out of the Pacific Place plaza and you are at the hotel. No hassle on the street at all!
The hotel is impeccable in every single detail. We got the club room which is on a high floor. The room has a harbor view and is in a non-traditional shape to suit the view. There is not much to see from the Island's side, but the view is the best I've got on the Island, since most of the hotels on the Island have their view obstructed by other buildings.
The common area is totally awesome, and the club lounge serves very non-continental breakfast to club level guests, who can also go to the regular restaurant for the breakfast (if I remember correctly, that I may have a confused memory between this and the Marriott at the airport.
It is as good as the InterContinental on the other side of the harbor, and this one is a much better one in terms of ease of subway transportation.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid staring at rooms in other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel was perfect for my business trip. Great location that's a quick walk to most offices in central. Great service, clean, and offers everything you need for a nice trip. The pool, gym and spa were especially excellent. Will definitely stay here moving forward.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greater los angeles
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I just stayed at the JW Marriott for 6 nights on a business trip. I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel. Here are some of the highlights:

- Location is great for the central side. Very close to many attractions including walking distance to the peak tram. And next door to the posh Upper House.
- Great breakfast buffet with many options
- Small but nice outdoor pool area which faces towards the hillside, offering a more private orientation.
- Small but comfortable rooms
- Great grill restaurant - wonderful steak house offerings and sea food

Some of the items that could use improvement:
- Better food offerings at the pool side restaurant
- The gym is small for this sized hotel and during popular times, it may be hard to get the machine you want

The overall hotel is quite nice but compared to some of the others I've stayed in at the same price and service category, some of the furnishing choices and overall vibe seem a little dated, or perhaps geared much more towards eastern business travelers than westerners. I'll give you an example, there is a wine bar at the hotel and the night I went there there was a band with two musicians and two female singers. They were actually fine music-wise, but the two girls were both dressed in inappropriately short dresses, especially for the cold temp of the ac. What would have been somewhat pleasant background music came across as a really tacky wedding band. Secondly, the products in the bathrooms are definitely more male based. Even the hairdryer which was wall mounted was a very low end model. These may seem trivial, but when you are a woman traveling on business, and you use a dryer everyday, those are the things that you come to expect at a 5 star hotel. Again, I am sure for most of their customers none of those issues would be a problem. But if the hotel wants to be known and considered by a more international client, it may want to make some adjustments in these areas.

Room Tip: Views are great so higher floors will have an advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I expect high quality hotels in Hong Kong to be quite excellent. I wasn't disappointed at the JW Marriott. Staff was friendly and efficient and looking out for you from the moment you get out of the car to the elevator. Check in was efficient. My room was not huge, but had a great view (a "wall" of windows) of the city/partial harbor and was quite comfortable. My room was very quiet (my preference). Lights, drapes, and everything necessary were operated by a keypad by the bed. The bathroom was nicely sized. WIFI worked without problem.

The club lounge had an excellent breakfast, a better "hors d'oevres" (can't fool me, it was dinner), and snacks from morning to night. (There were sandwiches at lunch time, and lots of cookies, candies, fruit and Free Snickers all day!) Staffing ranged from the brusque ("What's your room number?") to the very friendly and helpful ("Do you know about the laser show at 8?"). The club had an excellent view of the harbor and seating on two floors (the upstairs being away from the food but quieter). The hotel is connected to a mall and convenient to the MTR station. The exercise room was worthy of the hotel as well; lots of modern equipment, water, fruit, teas.

Room Tip: The Harbor View is quite magnificent; watch for the 8 pm laser show. If you don't mind a slight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

When in Hong Kong visit all the other hotels but come home to the JW Marriott.
I've stayed here numerous times over the past 15+ years and though there was a brief period several years back that things were not so great thus hotel remains on the top of my list for HK.
Visit the Mandarin, Penninsula the new Ritz Carlton and all other well known stops, but come home to the JW.
Wonderful staff, comfortable rooms, excellent food; especially Fish Bar my personal fave.
Not another Marriott in my world comes close.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I love that check-in took less than 10 minutes, with no wait. Love that! Hallway decor had an older feel, but I didn't mind. The room was plenty big, and bed was comfy. The bathroom was also very spacious, with lots of extra amenities. Overall everything looked clean.

There's not too much to complain about. The location is ideal, if you want to stay in Central. The hotel is connected to a high end mall with subway station underneath. My only comment is that the lobby sitting area is always jammed packed. I guess this is a high volume hotel with lots of guests. The rate is definitely not cheap, but I think it's worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong

Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#22 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hong Kong is a cultural centre renowned for its entertainment, shopping and cuisine. When looking for an exquisite Hong Kong hotel, the JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong offers an ideal location set atop the world-famous Pacific Place. The guestrooms boast breathtaking views, contemporary furnishings, luxurious bedding, 42" flat-panel TV and include free internet in all guestrooms. Relax with a dip in the outdoor pool. Stay fit at our 24-hour health club. Enjoy dining at one of our eight award-winning restaurants. We offer the finest event facilities to suit a variety of occasions and functions of varying sizes. Our ballroom, the largest on Hong Kong Island can accommodate up to 1,100 guests for receptions. Discover the many rewarding experiences JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong can offer to complete a memorable stay, whether for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Hong Kong
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.