We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong to your Saves list
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China (Admiralty)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Harvey Nichols Package
Ranked #21 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had the harbour facing view from our room, which looked even more scenic at night. We were served Chinese tea on arrival which was very refreshing. The rooms were bigger than anticipated and quiet clean. The location is quiet good. It is connected to the mtr. Admiralty is the nearest station. The peak is walking distance and so is hongkong park.

The hotel is connected to pan pacific mall. It has high end brands and much eating options. Even a food court, though it was under renovatin during our visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    369
    77
    13
    9
See reviews for
225
190
97
435
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Right above a huge mall with every high end store possible, access to the light rail transit system again, right under the building and in the middle of great dinning, what else could you want. The rooms are in great shape and the conceirge lounge is staff by the best. The best Dim Sum of the 6 resturants we tried in the area was in the hotel! Saturday is the best day for Dim Sum!

It's right up there with the JW inBangkok and the Singapore Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for the Harborview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

On a recent stay for a family reunion in Hong Kong, we stayed at the JW Marriott, located at the Pacific Place, a venue with shops, markets and high end designer stores connected to this hotel. As with other JW Marriotts, the facililties offered convenience and the amenities expected of this higher end Marriott chain. The service, starting with the check in, bell service, to the Cafe service was outstanding. Our room with a view of the harbor was spectacular and offered a spacious shower, bath and large closet.

The best thing about the hotel was its Cafe with outstanding breakfast buffet daily, included in the room rate. The cafe offered standard American breakfast fare, scrambled eggs, bacon, eggs benedict but also Chinese food: jook, soy milk, dim sum and made to offer noodles. There were more than five different fresh juices and an outstanding fresh fruit bar and granola, cereal and yogurts. You could dine in for a breakfast which would last you throughout the day.

Although we did not have much free time to explore, I was told there is a zoo within walking distance up the hill from the hotel. It is within walking distance to shops, restaurants, the tram, ferries and subway. This will definitely be a repeat venue!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Yes, as so many have stated the location and service are both top notch. Great to be able to walk to so many places or easy access to the subway.

The pool remodel is done, although they were still working on the area next to the pool. It's more or less kid friendly. You just need to keep close tabs on your kids as the life guards are a bit too controlling. Spoil some of the fun for kids.

Executive lounge is fantastic. The food and service there is great for those who have Marriott status or pay to use it. My wife and kids enjoyed it the most. The breakfast alone for this lounge is all one can want to start the day.

Rooms are small as others have said, but this is HKG and for the hotel location, it is what it is. The room was clean. I staid on the executive level, so I had fresh tea and fruit delivered on my arrival. Again, the service is what stands out for this property. Are there better hotels, sure. But, this place stands up to those well.

With it's central location and service, I'll be back here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed at the JW Marriott Hong couple a couple of weeks ago and for those that are interested in "seeing" the property I put up a video review of the hotel on youtube here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a7cfX6duGZA

I also stayed at the Conrad Hong Kong on this trip... and for those that are debating between the JW or the Conrad, I'd highly recommend the JW Marriott. I felt the rooms at the JW were nicer, the staff was more attentive, and the breakfast at the JW was FAR superior to that at the Conrad. Yes, the Conrad has better views of the harbor from the guest rooms, but the JW Marriott also has an excellent view of the harbor from the Concierge Lounge if your room doesn't have one.

The JW Marriott is located on Hong Kong Island within a short walk (<5min) of the Admirality MTR station via underground tunnel. The hotel is also situated directly above the Pacific Place shopping mall. For those that want to do some grocery shopping, there is a grocery store in the basement level of the Pacific Place shopping mall. Overall it's an excellent location for tourists or business travelers.

To get to the hotel from the airport I took the Airport Express train to the final "Hong Kong" stop which takes about 20 minutes from the airport. From the airport train station I took the complimentary Airport Express Shuttle Bus -- H1. The ride on the H1 shuttle took about 7 minutes to reach the JW Marriott... very easy.

Upon arrival at the JW Marriott the bell staff grabbed my luggage and directed me to the check-in desk. Check in was easy and the front desk staff indicated they had booked me in to a "quiet room" per my request, and I was upgraded to the Executive level. Once my check-in paperwork was completed, I was escorted to my room by the staff-member that processed my check-in AND the bell-boy that had my luggage.

The check-in assistant showed off the various bells and whistles in the room, like how the curtains open by the push of a button, while the bell-boy set my luggage up on a stand. After being in the room for about 10 minutes, housekeeping rang the doorbell with a special "welcome gift" of hot-tea and a fruit plate. The housekeeping staff that brought the tea also poured it in to a cup before leaving.

As a Gold/Platinum Marriott Rewards member I was given the option of breakfast in the lounge of the Marriott Cafe. Definitely take breakfast in the Marriott Cafe. It's easily the best Marriott breakfast I've ever had. Not only is the food awesome, and the staff is super attentive and polished.

The room itself was very nice... my words won't do it justice, so just watch the video .

Overall I had an excellent stay at this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone going to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The JW Marriott may not be the newest hotel and could possibly use a small update, but they deliver a quality overall experience at a super convenient location. Connected to Pacific Place gives you access to first class shopping, restaurants, and easy access to the underground. Additionally, you can easily venture to Wan Chai and points beyond. Service at the hotel is friendly and attentive, as expected of a property of this costs. You can feel sure of a positive experience and enjoyable stay while visiting Hong Kong should you choose this location.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo, norway
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The location was just perfect - in the middle of everything. Shops. restaurants, ferries, the tram to the peak, etc. The hotel staff was very friendly and professional, We were very good taken care of. The view from the hotel room was georgeous - the higher the floor the better. I engjoyed the stay enormously and would have liked to stay longer than the just two nights. The only negative thing I found was the stiff price for gin and tonics.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong

Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#19 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hong Kong is a cultural centre renowned for its entertainment, shopping and cuisine. When looking for an exquisite Hong Kong hotel, the JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong offers an ideal location set atop the world-famous Pacific Place. The guestrooms boast breathtaking views, contemporary furnishings, luxurious bedding, 42" flat-panel TV and include free internet in all guestrooms. Relax with a dip in the outdoor pool. Stay fit at our 24-hour health club. Enjoy dining at one of our eight award-winning restaurants. We offer the finest event facilities to suit a variety of occasions and functions of varying sizes. Our ballroom, the largest on Hong Kong Island can accommodate up to 1,100 guests for receptions. Discover the many rewarding experiences JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong can offer to complete a memorable stay, whether for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao, Reservation Counter, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Hong Kong
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.