We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Obvious Secret of Success” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Century Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Century Hong Kong to your Saves list
Novotel Century Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.238 Jaffe Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% Off Winter Promotion
Ranked #122 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The Obvious Secret of Success”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My wife, my kid and I travelled to Hong Kong for the Hogmanay celebrations. We were spending only one night in the city, and we'd be out most of that, but still we wanted a nice hotel to stagger back to in the wee small hours.
We found one in the Novotel Century. Crammed into the small busy streets of Wan Chai, the hotel is not overly luxurious looking for its four stars, yet it is stylish in that Italian way; bright colours; solid materials and clean lines - you know the idea.
Check-in was quick, welcoming and easy, and they offered us an upgrade to the executive floor for a not unreasonable 500 HKD ( about 40 quid ).This included all day use of the executive lounge ( tea/coffee snacks ) networking cocktails at five, and a five star hotel room - as well appointed as any hotel room I've stayed in. And lastly - and maybe most importantly - check-out as late as 4 pm. Since we planned a late late night - this was perfect. A mention here for the staff in the lounge - relaxed friendly and cool in the face of an slightly over-excited seven year old. Generally the staff in this hotel were super friendly. When I lost my free reception wi-fi ticket, the girl I told, went off and brought me back two.

I’d recommend this lovely hotel to anyone. There is even an M&S within walking distance.

By the by: We’ve been travelling quite a bit over this holiday season, and it is amazing how many, " good hotels " are reluctant to grant late check-outs. It leaves you wondering whether they're angling for more cash, are just mean-spirited, or just too dumb to realise that often a little give is all it takes to leave a customer satisfied, and earn the hotel a return in future profits. As it is, with many “ good hotels ” ( especially when you’re travelling with a kid ) you leave in a rush, and, in a bad mood - vowing to stay elsewhere next time. It happened to us just a few days before in five star in Macau.

Room Tip: If they offer you an upgrade for a little more money - take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHKGR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Century Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for having taken the time to write such a detailed review.
We appreciate also that you call us “The Obvious Secret of Success”

I have personally shared your gratitude with them and they were glad to hear about this.

We will be looking forward in welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Vanessa HO
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    891
    373
    66
    38
See reviews for
311
432
234
632
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, England
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights on way back home from Australia. We were a little concerned with some of the reviews but for no reason. It is very well located and 50 yards from walkway to Ferry terminal. Couple of blocked to MTR. Plenty of shops and restaurants nearby and Spring Street markets a short walk and well worth a visit. Some people think the rooms are small but we thought ours very satisfactory and, well how long do you spend in them? We both slept well.
Additionally we got a super deal with flying with Cathy Pacific plus Trailfinders got a 4 nights for the price of 3 and an upgrade to a superior room. Disappointed that the pool was closed but I guess the locals felt it was too cold. 60's and happy to be in my shorts.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I had originally stayed here years ago and found the location - right on Joffe Rd - incredibly handy for business so I booked a return visit based purely on my previous impressions hoping that I my memory of the place wasn't incorrect. I was not disappointed - this is a very comfortable and pleasant place to stay for business which is reasonably priced and offers all the major attributes for the business traveller. Given that it is a couple of weeks prior to Chinese New Year, the place is abuzz. Given that The Century is situated right in the heart of Wan Chai, it is always bustling around the area. It is possible to walk under cover through to Central, the Exhibition Centre, the Star Ferry Terminal and Causeway Bay for shopping. The train station is within a 2 minute stroll. The hotel is outfitted with modern rooms with environmental controls for lighting, TV etc all at your fingertips. I had an in room ironing board and iron available but the laundry service offered was reasonably priced with quick turnaround (again, great if you are travelling for business). The restaurants inside the hotel are great if you don't want to leave - the Italian restaurant was very reasonably priced with a comprehensive menu of salads, pastas, pizzas and mains, the service is great. I visited the AK bar a couple of times with work colleagues for a late night relaxer and again found the service pleasant and professional, the ambience modern. There is an outdoor pool which I remember using on my previous trip but only the gym got a visit this time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour if you can otherwise you'll probably end up looking in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

There is nothing more than poor nights of sleeping due to bad sagging mattress. My wife & myself suffered from neck & back pain! Bad quality mattress! Management should engage mattress specialist to conduct check every 2 years.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHKGR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Century Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you very much for your compliments on our hotel during your recent stay. We are delighted to hear that you had a satisfactory stay with us. We will share amongst our team and your compliments provide us a lot of rapport and motivation.

Meanwhile, there is junior suite available at our hotel which is double size of the standard room with an extendable sofa bed in the living room, in which you can take into consideration for your future visit. Please feel free to contact our reservations team at h3562-re1@accor.com in case you plan to visit us in the future.

Once again, thank you for your support and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Vanessa HO
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yehud, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I was on vacation in HK on January 02nd for 3 night.
I stayed at this hotel before and chose this hotel again because it was clean, closed to the
Wan Chai MTR and Star Ferry. It is also within walking disstance to Causeway Bay.
I did not use the Spa. I could not get used to the normal sleeping hours due to Jet Leg.
Great b/f which was included in price.
Modern bathroom.
My room was a bit small but it did not bother me due to the fact I was out the whole day.

Room Tip: When I came to the room late evening I was very tired so I just wanted to have a nice and cleam roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NCHKGR, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Century Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your valuable comments on your recent stay at our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you like our location.

At Novotel Century we try our utmost everyday to satisfy and even exceed our guest expectations. We have a passion for all of our guests hence interact in a genuine way with them.

I look forward to welcoming back very soon.

Best Regards
Vanessa HO
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Century Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Century Hong Kong

Address: No.238 Jaffe Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#87 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#88 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Century Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Century Hong Kong hotel is located in the Heart of the bustling Wanchai district- ideal for both Business trips and vacations- just a 8 min walk from Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Center; subway station (MTR); Wan Chai Star Ferry and a 10 min walk to Causeway Bay key shopping areas.Renovated in 2010, the hotel offers 510 elegant rooms and modern facilities including- 2 restaurants, bar, gym, swimming pool, spa, meeting facilities and executive lounge.Wi-Fi is available in the rooms and complimentary in the lobby, all restaurants and the executive lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Century Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Century Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Accor Hong Kong
Novotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Century Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.