We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Hong Kong North Point

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Hong Kong North Point to your Saves list
Ibis Hong Kong North Point
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.138 Java Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China (North Point)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 stars 1,735 Reviews
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unexpected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Indeed room is small but unexpectedly comfortable and clean. Double bed is rather small, however if you are not a 250lbs person should be quite comfortable to sleep alone. Location is superb, just steps away from North Point MTR also taxis are easily available outside the hotel lobby. Many local restaurants nearby, Causeway Bay shopping area only 2 stops by MTR.

Room Tip: Book a room facing sea view for a little bit more otherwise don't bother to open the curtain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_INP, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong North Point, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Hong Kong North Point. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It is glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with our great location and comfort.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Yours Sincerely,

Wilson Choi
General Manager
Ibis North Point Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    753
    602
    142
    70
See reviews for
203
495
445
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the IBIS North Point hotel for a night when we were transiting to Shenzhen, and the rooms were really small. There was just enough place to have 2 bags standing vertically. However the location was great with the MTR (North point) literally 2 buildings away. Also the rooms were clean and so was the bathroom. The hotel reception staff were helpful and polite. If you are traveling with a kid, forget about staying here as the beds barely are big enough for 2 people. However if you just need a place to crash for the night, this is a really good option as the prices are not as high as other hotels in central Hong Kong. The lifts seem to take really long, and the TV channels are non functional, but I doubt that anyone would spend alot of time in a hotel in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_INP, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong North Point, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Hong Kong North Point. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

It is glad to learn that you love our great location and guest service during your stay.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.


Yours Sincerely,

Wilson Choi
General Manager
Ibis North Point Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

It's actually in a very good location, less than 5 minutes to the entrance of North Point MTR Station, with lots of food choices and grocery shops nearby. It's also quite close to the North Point branch of Tim Ho Wan (if you're into dim sum! :) )

I went on a peak period, celebrating New Year's Eve in Hong Kong, all the hotels have crazy rates, which is understandable and Ibis offered quite a good rate already considering the season. The beds are quite comfortable, even the duvet! However, the pillow is to thin and soft, no support for your neck at all.

The room is very small in general but if you intend to spend most of your time outside and explore the energetic city of Hong Kong, it shouldn't be an issue. Just no place to put 2 luggages and heavy coats that you want to hang.

The toilet is also tiny, but sufficient. The heater is quite fast to heat up the water!

The TV is TERRIBLE! Not much english choices and the signal is terrible. You never get to watch anything as it is always static, better to listen over the radio channel or watch movies in your iPad.

Cleanliness, it's quite bad as well. My room wasn't swept properly leaving dusts and hair on the floor. My friend's socks got missing as well, she left it on the bed. They never replace the hand soap in the toilet and there's no complimentary bottled water.

As all the other reviews say, the lift is a nightmare! There are only 2 lifts for 31 floors!

The front desk staff were quite friendly and attentive.

I guess it's ok to stay here if you just really need a place to crash at night and don't mind the level of comfort you'll get.

Room Tip: Not really sure. Get a harbour view room..?
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_INP, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong North Point, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Hong Kong North Point. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.


Yours Sincerely,


Wilson Choi
General Manager
Ibis North Point Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Spent several nights at IBIS North Point and we would rate it as less than good. First, let's talk about the positive:- A) It is just 30 meters away from North Point MRT station(Exit A1). So it's convenient. B) The room and its facilities in-room are okay and functional C) Smoking is not allowed in room/hotel~ so it is good for guests who are sensitive to the odour of cigarette smoke. D) Location is good if travellers plan to use public transportation. The North Point bus terminal is across the hotel. Airport transfer bus and Ocean Park bus are available there too. E) Reservations and Checking-in and out are efficient and fast. Good work.
Negative points:- 1) The bed is small. If you're a BIG guy...try doing a cantilever-style sleeping position, and you may succeed. Any morning aches or sore can be massaged away easily. There is a massage service operator at the ground floor. 2) The in-house breakfast(about HKD 61) at Level 2 is not great. Very limited variety. Waiting-staff is not motivated. Try budget-eating @ the Java Road Market and Food Centre if you're looking for local Cantonese food such as congee/noodle/Dim-Sum/etc. It is across the road about 8 minutes walk. The food centre is on the 3rd level. Cheap food. 3) Room 2602 bathroom smell badly. Maybe due to the defective extractor fan or ... ? Or insufficient drying inside?

Based on our experiences, we will not give more than a 3 out of 5. IBIS brand of hotel could have done better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_INP, General Manager at Ibis Hong Kong North Point, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Hong Kong North Point. I am sorry that our bed and breakfast did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.


Yours Sincerely,


Wilson Choi
General Manager
Ibis North Point Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Usually when I am in Hong Kong I stay at either the Langham Place hotel in Mongkok (my favorite) or Novotel Kowloon. This time I decided to go for the Ibis North Point, knowing that this hotel chain is a true low cost hotel chain, basically just a place to sleep, but certainly not to spend your afternoons when in Hong Kong. Be aware that the standard is at a minimum, hence the rather low price (Hong Kong is expensive). I was prepared as what to expect and was not surprised to discover that the quality of both room and bathroom (I've seen much "worse" Ibis in Europe) was at two star levels. Room was clean, bathroom small but functional, a small desk and chair. I had asked for a high floor room and got it. I had asked for harbor view and got it. The service at front desk was efficient and responsive to my requests and questions. On arrival I needed to iron some shirts, and an iron board was delivered within 10 minutes to my room. So, no complaints there. The only (and major) negative was the noise from the AC which really disturbed my sleep. Very loud, even at low fan, blowing out cool air at high decibel levels. One of these old style AC boxes mounted on the wall and.....noisy. Luckily I only stayed two nights, but enough for red eyes. In conclusion, Ibis is "you get what you pay for". Hotel is very easy reachable by public express bus A11 directly from Hong Kong International airport (HKD 40.00 one way), takes about 1.5-2 H depending on traffic.

Room Tip: High floor with a harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Hong Kong North Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hong Kong North Point

Address: No.138 Java Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > North Point
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Hong Kong North Point 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Hong Kong North point is located in the heart of North Point area. All forms of transportation are easily accessible with the Mass Transit Railway next door, bus, tram and ferry stops nearby.Make yourself at home… Inviting, modern, spacious and comfortable, with a cosy bed and a functional bathroom. Your choice from our comfort standard room or breath taking Harborview room. Your room has everything that you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Hong Kong North Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Century Hotel
Ibis Hong Kong North Point
Hong Kong Ibis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Hong Kong North Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.