We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creature Comforts for the Busy Traveller” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jen Hong Kong to your Saves list
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong) (Sai Wan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Jen's Spring Deal 25% Off
Ranked #71 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Creature Comforts for the Busy Traveller”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

On the overall, my 6 nights of stay in Traders Hotel HK went pretty well except for some minor hiccups. On the last day of my stay, the housekeeping staff took away one of my keycards by mistake but I managed to retrieve it from her supervisor when I returned to my room in the evening. The bed was comfortable, the air-conditioning was working well, and the water pressure of the shower was strong. The only thing that made me slightly uncomfortable was that the security of the lifts seem to be not working - I was able to access my floor even without tapping my key card at the ground floor. The location is not too bad, plenty of local food outlets to satisfy one's stomach - there's plenty of convenience stores, McD (24-hrs) and cha-chan-ten (teahouses) near the hotel. To get to the nearest MTR (Sheung Wan), either take the public bus, tram or you can take the complimentary mini-bus shuttle to Hong Kong station. An Octopus card is a must-have when you're in HK.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear zarkhrov,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, find our rooms comfortable, water pressure impressive and air-conditioning good. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improve our standards.

We are also pleased to let you know that our key card system is currently working in a good condition, and we totally understand your security concerns.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely
David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    532
    127
    33
    16
See reviews for
167
373
135
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Far from the center of Hong Kong and no MTR stations. But they have a free shuttle service to Central MTR station that runs apprx. every hour. Otherwise it is possible to walk to the center - a walk of around 45 min. And taxis are cheap in Hong Kong and easy to find. Close to Hong Kong University. Breakfast OK but nothing special. Clean rooms and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

There is ionly one reason why this does not get an excellent rating and that is its location which is a little bit away from what we needed (downtown HK, tube etc). There is a courtesy bus to/from hotel and Central HK (8 mins) but of course you are tied to it unless you take a inexpensive taxi (roughly £5 from Central to hotel). The nearest Underground is 10 mins walk away (if you know the way) although a new station is being built somewhat closer.

That all said though, the staff at this hotel were truly excellent and I would happily stay there again, without issue and knowing the above. Nice view over the harbour, nice, clean room. We had a great stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Martin L,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, find our staff accommodating. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improve our standards.
Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely
David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

As a HK Chinese who lived outside of HK for more than 5 years, I need to stay in hotels once in a while when I visit the city. This time, I have tried out a property managed by Shangri-La under the Trader's brand. The entire stay was perfect, I just wish I had stayed for one more day. This Hotel has done everything right in its category and I would like to congratulate the entire team in making this a success.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Can't say enough great things about Traders Hotel in Hong Kong. This was not only our first visit to Hong Kong, but our first visit to Asia and literally every aspect of our experience was wonderful. We (my friend and I) arrived very late as our flight did not get in until 10pm. The check in was smooth. We had prepaid for a city view room through a travel agent, but the front desk attendant offered us an upgrade package that we decided was well worth the money. For 450HKD extra a night (around 55 USD) we were upgraded to a Harbour view room that included breakfast every day, cocktail hour every night, and snacks/soft drinks available throughout the day. We were very pleased that we made this decision because the breakfast was delicious! Nice spread of eastern and western options, something for everyone! The cocktail hour was great as well, with beer/wine/liquor and a nice spread of appetizers. One night we weren't super hungry and we were actually able to just make a light dinner out of the appetizers. The service in the Traders Club lounge (where breakfast and happy hour were held, top floor of the hotel overlooking the harbour) was also incredible. Gilbert and Wendy were always eager to serve us and made our stay really wonderful! Our room was very nice, small by Western standards, but that didn't bother me one bit. We had an awesome harbour view. The bathroom products were plentiful and very nice. The maid service was excellent. The location is nice, easy to hail a cab (which are pretty cheap), and the free shuttle to the Hong Kong Station was nice as well. We did not encounter a single rude staff member. The wifi was also very reliable and was accessible throughout the whole hotel. We had lunch at the hotel restaurant one afternoon and the food was delicious and reasonably priced. We also used the pool a couple of times. Rooftop pool overlooking the harbour ... doesnt get much better than that!

If I had one tiny complaint, it would be that the room window shades weren't very effective. The sun comes up very early and bright over the harbour, and it woke us up early every morning. A better shade would have been nice, although my friend and I both agreed that we didn't really come to Hong Kong to sleep, so we didn't mind being woken up early (other than the one morning I was a tad hungover from a fun night in Lan Kwai Fong ... but that's my own fault!)

This hotel seemed to have travelers of all types ... business, families, friends, and couples. We never heard other guest in their rooms or in the hallways. I would 100% recommend this hotel to a traveler of any type. I am looking forward to visiting Hong Kong again soon and will without a doubt stay at Traders!

Room Tip: definitely upgrade to the Trader's Club package. Higher the floor, better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear kam1829,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, find our colleagues helpful, rooftop pool impressive, Wifi reliable and food at Cafe Malacca delicious. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improve our standards, and we shall surely relate your comments to our colleagues, especially Gilbert and Wendy.

We are also aware that you do not find our window shades effective. Please rest assured that we are seriously looking into this problem, and replacement plan is currently in place to remedy this situation.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you like more local flair and part of the "Original Hong Kong", Traders can be a hotel of your choice. In the middle of the busy upcoming Western District, you will find old style Hong Kong shops and posh and stylish new shops and restaurants. A good fusion. The hotel is lean, modern and stylish with all you need for a sightseeing and business trip.Popular for travelers from Mainland China If you need fast access to public transport (MTR) not yet the best location. The staff at the reception and bellman are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are bright and comfortable, with complimentary internet connection. the hotel offers free shuttle bus to central and the MTR access.

Room Tip: If possible, try to get a room on a higher floor with Seaview which is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The staff at this hotel appear to be unwilling to disclose all of the payment options. When questioned several times regarding this, they finally admitted that they should reveal all of the available payment options. However they then went on to claim that they could identify the staff member that checked me in; Clearly not true, as every staff member has a login identification revealing this. Not a place to be trusted.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Ian A,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are disheartened to learn that you did not find our colleagues accommodating and helpful during your stay. We are currently investigating into your case, and shall be in contact with you shortly.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jen Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Address: 508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#58 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#58 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Hong Kong, offers 283 elegant rooms and suites. From the economical to opulent, each room is characterised by clean lines and functional creativity. These accommodations are enhanced by wireless Internet connections, LCD televisions and sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong city and distant mountains. 3 Rooms caters to disabled guests, and 84 rooms have connecting doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Splendia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Jen Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jen Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jen Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.