We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel '&facilities ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jen Hong Kong to your Saves list
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong) (Sai Wan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great hotel '&facilities ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at the hotel in early May for a business trip. While the hotel was a little out of the way, the free shuttle bus was great! The wi-fi and breakfast spread was good too. Plenty of tasty food shops outside the hotel with lots of different options to choose.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    497
    115
    30
    16
See reviews for
155
344
129
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We really enjoyed both of our recent stays at Traders. It is a very modern, well appointed, well maintained property in a convenient downtown location. The roof pool and sitting area offers great views of the city. The free shuttle is added bonus.The staff were, on both occasions we visited, very helpful and extremely pleasant. I am happy to recommend this hotel which is under the umbrella of the Shangri-la hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms facing sea have great view. Upgrade is worthwhile if you are working or spending enough time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Patti G,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong again for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, found our hotel well-maintained, and colleagues accommodating. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving.

Thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The service is superb! The room is very well layed out. If you get a club room and have access to the top floor, then you can have free drinks and food in the evenings.....very worthwhile. The only downside is that it is in Western District but you can take a tram ride into Central for $2.30. A bargain!!!

Room Tip: Go for the Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Philip C,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, found our colleagues accommodating, and rooms functional. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving.

Thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here. The hotel is very clean and great facilities. The secret to the high regard I hold for this hotel, is its staff. Always helpful, respectful and friendly. Nothing is too much for them, to make your stay a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Peter B,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong again for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, found our rooms clean and colleagues accommodating. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving.

Thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've got a chance to stay here with special rates. Overall, it's a very nice hotel with lovely staffs. We are in an ocean-view room on higher floor. (highly recommened!) The room size is pretty for us, cas the functions are impressive. It's sad to miss the gym and pool since we only have 2 nights. The location is not a big deal. There's shuttle bus service and Tram station is not so far from hotel.
If you like modern&trendy hotel but not too near the centre, try Traders HK. :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Letian008,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, found our rooms functional and colleagues accommodating. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving.

Thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Turk
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel was excellent with compact but very clean and attractive rooms, roomy shower, toilet and closet in adjacent compartments. Great beds. Our view of the western harbour was nice but not spectacular. We stayed one night. Given the cons below (mostly the neighborhood) I would not have wanted to stay much longer - 2 nights at most.

Pros
Check-in was done in an open format on a central table as opposed to the traditional desk/counter format. I liked Trader's approach to check in better.

The price was very good for the quality of room we received.

Check in staff were very helpful and all were pleasant and service-oriented.

Cons
Although we are adventurous we did not find any of the nearby street restaurants to our liking for dinner - they just had a very down-in-the-mouth feel to them. Perhaps we should have looked harder but we arrived late. We resorted to a nearby McDonalds for dinner at about 9 p.m.

The hotel is not on the free airport shuttle network. If you are travelling to or from the airport the hotel provides a shuttle to or from Hong Kong Station however it goes only once per hour. Taxi is the best bet and costs about HKD25/USD3.50. This is no problem from Hong Kong Station, as there is a 4-queue taxi stand downstairs. (Note re HK Station, the taxis drop passengers off at street level but are only allowed to pick up downstairs so follow the signs to taxis in the lower level of the station, don't just go outside expecting to hail one -- also, to save time, go to the furthest of the 4 queues, the line is much shorter). It is a slight problem departing the hotel as taxis are fairly randomly dispersed and the hotel is right on a main road, the front door being two metres from the road -- get someone at the hotel to hail a taxi for you.

On the whole, we had a pleasant stay and were happy with the price, room and service.

Room Tip: High floors give quite nice views of the western harbour but it is the industrial end of HK. Still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear mlm1023,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, found our reception counter interactive, colleagues accommodating, and rooms functional. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving.

Thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This review is long overdue and I hope that there is no time limit imposed by Trip Advisor! Anyway, I brought my daughter to Hong Kong for her 21st birthday present a little while ago and always meant to write a review of the hotel and the restaurant. We were booked into Traders hotel and albeit a large hotel, our whole experience was restful and relaxing. We particularly enjoyed the 'sage green' soft furnishings and decor of our room, which added to the peaceful feel of the place. All the staff we encountered on our holiday were friendly and helpful with customer service being their priority, as nothing was too much trouble for them. The restaurant was magnificent - we ate there most evenings but on the day of our departure, we ate at the lunchtime buffet which was out of this world - the range and quality of the dishes on offer and the attention to detail, was first class.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Susan C,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

Our special thanks to your writing about your pleasant experience even after so many months! Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving.

Thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jen Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Address: 508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#51 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#52 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#58 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Hong Kong, offers 283 elegant rooms and suites. From the economical to opulent, each room is characterised by clean lines and functional creativity. These accommodations are enhanced by wireless Internet connections, LCD televisions and sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong city and distant mountains. 3 Rooms caters to disabled guests, and 84 rooms have connecting doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jen Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jen Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jen Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.