We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top hotel in Hong Kong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jen Hong Kong to your Saves list
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong) (Sai Wan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Jen's Spring Deal 25% Off
Ranked #70 of 693 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Top hotel in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Fantastic place to stay. Catered for every need with very welcoming and helpful staff. We loved it. Extremely clean, modern and comfortable in every way. Brilliant shuttle bus to central places - free.
Would definitely stay there again when we come to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: If you want to travel light then you won't need slippers, robe, toiletries as it is all there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    529
    127
    33
    16
See reviews for
165
366
135
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Although there is no mtr there was no problem getting around. You can take the shuttle provided to mtr, taxi or even the tram. Restaurants and convenience stores aplenty. Great service and clean room. I will be coming again!


Room Tip: Better view from floors 12 onwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights ,room was good ,but not big as K.L. equivalent. Staff are obliging ,but the understanding of English needs to improve .Free .WIFI for all at Hotel. Hotel Shuttle bus travels to 3 transportation depots, Ferrys and Station. Getting around by taxi is EXTREMLY difficult as drivers understand very little English. Get hotel to write destination in Chinese. Beware travelling to Kaloon (Main Land) taxis charge double the fare on the meter(to cover road tolls)about $130-140HG to get to Kaloon. Best bet get shuttle to station and get train (MTR)marvellous system, fast ,often and max cost about $18HG.Great for getting to the best sights and markets of Hong Kong. Location is not the best for shopping, not much around. Restaurants are Ok ,but understand very little English. Overall nice Business Hotel, comfortable. food good, but location ???? for touring.

Room Tip: This is a high rise hotel floors 3-10 smoking 11-27 non, anything above 12 is good for city or harbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Being a family holiday, we were looking for something that would be pretty good but also avoid that huge expense that you can run up when kids want a snack or drink in a hotel like the main shangri-la properties. Traders was perfect for us. The staff were exceptional, better than anything you would find in a high end hotel in europe. The lounge provided soft drinks and nibbles throughout the day and also a nice breakfast and early evening snacks and bar that worked well if you'd had a big lunch or just wanted to grab a snack. Rooms are compact, well designed and worked well. Good gym, pool was too cold in November as it is unheated. Only really poor thing was the internet, which was free but weak and intermittent. The location is not Central, but HK is so compact that being further away from Causeway Bay means you are closer to Ocean Park, so it is swings and roundabouts. Taxis are the best bet, especially if there are a few of you. If you are at all into walking, HK is superb (we used to live there). Do the Dragon's back or walk down from the peak to Pok Fulam. Only a short cab ride from there back to the hotel

Room Tip: Definitely get the traders club upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel_HK_13, General Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear UkTim2008,

Thank you for taking your precious time to write about us on your last visit to Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

We are delighted to hear that you found our service staff accommodating and facilities functional. We apologise that our complimentary Broadband Internet access was not up to your expectation. Regular maintenance and improvement plan is currently in place to remedy this problem.

In the meantime, should you want to provide more information please contact us via David.Preisig@tradershotels.com.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

A very good Hotel which we could not fault- apart from 1 annoying problem A pity about the Restaurant's inability to sort out which should have been a simple issue-we ordered with our 4 meals 3 portions of french fries which French fries acc.to the menu should have totalled approx. H. K. $75 or some such sum. I complained when I got the bill that we were charged over H. K.$140 approx. I was told that we were served with larger portions than shown on the menu, I asked where on the menu it showed such a price and was told it didn't appear on the menu but it was up on the board. As a lawyer I said the price had to be shown on the menu for it to be charged- but the lady insisted we had to pay the full amount . Rather than cause a scene I paid but a responsible Restaurant would not have done this.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traders_Hotel_HK_13, General Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Raymond K,

Thank you for staying with Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your recent stay in Hong Kong.

We regret to hear about your dining experience in our restaurant. We shall to look into the pricing on our menus.

In the meantime, should you want to provide more informationa please contact us via David.Preisig@tradershotels.com.

Many thanks and we look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, early Oct and had booked room only. The inexpensive upgrade we took gave a better room on the 25th floor with a great view along with breakfast served on the 28th floor, even better view, and an all day facilities for tea/coffe, soft drinks and nibbles. Then to cap it off between 530pm & 7.30pm free cocktails and canopes. It was a a great offer. Very good staff in fact sometimes too good, if you left a plate unattended while you browsed for more they would clear it.
The free shuttle service is very handy and it runs to the airport, great if it ties in with your flight.
Easily accessible by cab or the trams. approx 27p a trip.
I wouldn't hesitate to use it again.

Room Tip: Higher room facing the water give great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed here for six nights en route to UK. Really good value for money. The room was spotless and for Hong Kong had a very reasonable amount of space, ensuite inc. bath as well as shower. The price included free wi-fi in rooms, use of gym and swimming pool and a complimentary hotel bus operates to and from key areas of the city. There were plenty of eating places nearby and making our own way to other parts of the city was easy, either within walking distance or by very cheap and handy trams/buses when time was short. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a 'harbour view' room, which was about level 17, high enough to see over other buildi...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jen Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Address: 508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong)
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#50 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#59 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Hong Kong, offers 283 elegant rooms and suites. From the economical to opulent, each room is characterised by clean lines and functional creativity. These accommodations are enhanced by wireless Internet connections, LCD televisions and sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong city and distant mountains. 3 Rooms caters to disabled guests, and 84 rooms have connecting doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Splendia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Jen Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jen Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jen Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.