We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location but over priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Golden Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Golden Mile to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Golden Mile
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.50 Nathan Rd, Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #93 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 1,343 Reviews
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good location but over priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

On arriving at the holiday inn i found the lobby chaotic to start with ,then there was the room that was o.k but it was in a noisy part of the hotel and as for the vew from the window please refer to photo that vew filled me with such joy HA HA. So we asked for a upgrade to the executive club with that we was moved to new room. The breackfast in the club lunge was excellent all staff in the lunge was happy polite and always willing to help.the DVD loan was a added bonus. The hotel is in a prime place but i really got cheesed of with ladys of the night ( and day) hovering out side the lift once you made your way threw these little flowers and there side kicks (the pimps) you only had the street vendors out side the main exit trying to sell you a genuine dodgy nock off watch.We ate at the osteria ristorante italiano once do yourself a faver avoid unless you want to give your credit card a good spanking the same goes for the lunge bar i only wanted a drink not part shares.apart from that the stay was all good and yes i would stay again only with the upgrade.

Room Tip: go with executive club
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    680
    211
    53
    30
See reviews for
439
227
98
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you require wheel chair access to MTR stations, or if you need to push a pram for the kids then this is the hotel to stay in. Easy access from the shopping center right across from Holiday Inn allows one to use the escalator or lift down to the MTR station. There is a under ground labyrinth that also allows you to travel to Habour City and other places away from the traffic, the sun and the rain. Perfect for families with young children.

Hotel staff are helpful and there is a free shuttle from Kowloon station to hotel. I would recommend this hotel for it's location and cleanliness.

Room Tip: I think you don't need breakfast thrown in...there's plenty to eat just around the hotel! No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is the nicest HI I have ever stayed at. The location can not be beat as you are right in the center of Kowloon. You can really walk anywhere. The rooms are very nice. We splurged on the Executive floor and had a nice breakfast and evening meal every day. The service was great and the front desk was a lot of help. There are no views however, but this is a small downside for what you are paying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Typical Holiday Inn hotel. The breakfast buffet choices were really delicious. I had enough to last me the whole day! I love the location as it is near the MTR and it is surrounded by several shopping malls. It is not as classy as other hotels, but if you're on a shopping trip, this is one hotel you should consider. Another plus for me is the fast internet service they provide in your room and at the lobby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

I use to come to this hotel frequently when I visit Hk. As a Priority Club member they are always ready to late check outs or early check ins and this is a great point for me, along with some upgrades, not always however.
The locations is absolutely central in Kowloon, and sits just over the MTR, it is totally convenient. Staff and service is quite much HK style, which means efficient and spotless. I simply like it.
The style is kind of classic, renovated floors have a contemporary touch. However this classic component, makes for me a kind of cosy feeling, and this is why I maybe keep coming back, even though it is also not the cheapest location nearby.
If you can book an executive floor room, not only they are on high floors (no rom in the hotel has great views however) but you will have access to 17th floor lounge with happy hours and breakfast included.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel smelt throughout of very bad deoderiser which made my mother (and myself after the first day) sick. In Hari's Bar, from about 8pm on, there are prostitutes in the bar. That doesn't normally bother me, but when you start getting dirty looks from them and their pimps are there as well, being rude to you, well not very comfortable if you are a hotel guest. Bar staff know about it and it all seems to be accepted. So for a woman travelling on her own, absolutely do not go to Har's bar. Also, the safe in our room was opened two days in a row, nothing we saw was taken, however our passports were in the safe, so whoever opened the safe could have taken the details. I thought room safes were secure (there for a reason, otherwise why have them at all?) THere is no natural light in the rooms, they need a complete renovation, (however I read that they already have?). The only good thing I can say about the place, is it is a great location and Osteria Restaurant was great. I moved hotels halfway through my trip (was in Hong Kong for a week) to get away from the sickly smell, the hookers and whoever was getting into our room to check out the safe. DO NOT STAY THERE, IT IS ABSOLUTELY DREADFUL.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Golden_Mile, at Holiday Inn Golden Mile, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear KirrilyS_13,

We are incredibly sorry and disheartened to hear that you had to leave our hotel early. We are concerned with the encounters you came across during your stay, and your comments will not be taken lightly.

We are sorry about the smell in your room and how it made your Mother feel unwell. It is a rare incident as the floor you stayed at was a non-smoking floor. Our Housekeeping department has been informed and has revisited the room and the floor to make sure such smell is no longer present. Meanwhile regarding the in-room safe, while we are relieved that none of your belongings were lost in both incidents, our Security team did a thorough investigation, but they were unable to find any record of breach during your stay. The in-room safe we use is a digital safe that allows our guest to set their own customized password, hence it should be secure enough to prevent both our staff and other guests to open the safe. We have a strict policy implemented and only our Security team has the authorization to open the safe. But they would only do so when guests forgot their password or when guests forgot to unlock the safe after checking out, with presence of a second witness. In the future, if similar incidents happen during your stay, we hope you could inform us immediately, so that we could look into the issue, take action and rectify the problems at once to ensure the rest of your stay is smooth and satisfying.

We are also sorry about your unpleasant experience at the Hari’s Bar. We wish to assure you that safety of our guests is our first priority, and we do not condone any activities in our premise that affects our guests. Our Security team has been informed to patrol the bar more frequently to make sure our guests could relax and enjoy their drinks without any disturbance.

Thank you for sharing with us your stay experience, it is critical for us to identify our areas of improvement. We sincerely hope you would come back and give us a chance to provide you the real Holiday Inn Golden Mile experience.

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Golden Mile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We like the location of this hotel very much. Easy access to the Ocean terminal, MTR and the boats to HKG.

We booked through an agent so we did not get to collect the points. But they gave us complimentary wifi in room and in the lobby, very hard to find for hotels in HKG.

Overall, it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Golden Mile

Address: No.50 Nathan Rd, Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#80 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Golden Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 614
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of Kowloon's bustling city centre lies the Holiday Inn Golden Mile , an oasis of quiet charm blending superior location, contemporary conveniences, and all the luxuries of home. The hotel is centrally located in the commercial and entertainment district of Tsim Sha Tsui, only a two-minute walk from the MTR (Hong Kong's underground Mass Transit Railway) and a forty-five minute drive from Chek Lap Kok International Airport. In addition, the famous Star Ferry and boat tour piers are also within five minutes walking distance. With invitingly comfortable guest rooms and suites, Executive Club floors, award-winning restaurants, a landscaped rooftop pool, a state-of-the-art health club, free high-speed Internet connection throughout the hotel, easy access to public transport plus shopping, dining and entertainment mere moments away - why would you stay anywhere else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hotel Hong Kong
Holiday Inn Hong Kong
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Hong Kong Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Golden Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.