We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for first time traveler to Hong Kong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Golden Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Golden Mile to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Golden Mile
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.50 Nathan Rd, Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #92 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good location for first time traveler to Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

One word that sums up this hotel: location & convenience. Everything is within walking distance -- convenience stores, halal restaurant, mobile phone vendors to get internet for your phone & tablets (free Wifi included in the rooms), the train stops is literally across the street & hundreds of meters of shopping malls & luxury shopping. The rooms are adequate for a family of four & I have no complaints on the price. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to first time Hong Kong travelers.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    749
    226
    60
    33
See reviews for
483
250
111
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Balanga City, Philippines
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The location of this hotel is very strategic. It is walking distance to Harbor City. Along the street where the hotel is located are stores where you can buy souvenirs, make up, branded apparels. Just across the street is a mall with shops with international brand. Along the way towards Harbour City, you can pass by outlet stores of Giordano and Bossini and Esprit, Adidas on the other side. On the other side of the hotel, there's also a mall, with grocery at the ground level. There's also a 24h convinience store on the side. Rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast is also very good with variety of choices. Highly recommended esp for first timers in HK.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is worn and tired as is most of the staff. There is no acknowledgement at check-in that I have stayed their previous or that I am a platinum member. The staff just shows their lack of care and commitment. I was told that I was getting a newly renovated room, but when i got there the room looks like it was newly renovated about 10 years ago. All in all there are so many better choices to stay in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HI_Golden_Mile, at Holiday Inn Golden Mile, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear montrealer1110,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent stay and for your support as a Priority Club Platinum Elite Member.

We apologize for falling short in providing the recognition you deserved. This is definitely not the genuine service we promise to deliver. We value our Priority Club members and that is why we have a loyalty team to welcome and provide personal services to our members. It is regrettable that our team did not deliver that personal service and your comment is duly noted. We will address this shortfall with the loyalty team to ensure this is not repeated.

We sincerely hope you would change your mind and stay with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Golden Mile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co.Durham
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A very good location at the bottom of Nathan road, close to the star ferry (5 min) walk and right next to the mtr station tsim sha tsui.

The food was very good in the on site restaurants, the bistro buffet being a firm favourite.

Room was well appointed and a decent size.

One slight niggle was the happy hour in Harry's bar, it was advertised in all the hotels paperwork as running from 1730 hrs till 2100 hrs, but in practice finished at 2000hrs.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Two nights stay love the space of the room . Love the service of the staff especially front desk and concierge . The man are flexible then lady I guess is my luck . The only thing need to improve is the housekeeping . Some stain in the basin . Overall is highly recogmanded . I got wifi free.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Have stayed at the HI golden mile in HKG for 6 nights in January. Here are my comments:
Location- very centrally location. very convenient and easy to reach all parts of HKG.

Rooms- have stayed in a quiet room at the 16 th floor.The room was very well eqipped and had all necessary amenities. housekeeping as far as the room was concerned- excellent.

Breakfast- The hotel serves a superb American breakfast.excellent service and a very wide variety of food, to fit everybodies taste.

Welcome at the reception- outstanding service.

concierge- very efficient. were very helpful.

Reservation department- needs improvement. one should insist receiving the room he ordered.
in our case this was a problem however we received an upgraded room after all.

cashier- the hotel charges 5 HKG $ as a donation. be aware that you can disagree to that charge, and they will cancel it.

Transportation from the airport-the hotel offers transportation from the airport,which is not cheap. my advice: use MTR, and if your party consists of 2 PAX or more, prefer taking a taxi,which will come out cheaper.

All in all it was a very pleasant stay. the hotel is very good and the service is personal and outstanding. will surely stay there again when I return to HKG.

Room Tip: ask for a room on floors 16 and above. try to get one facing the yard, far from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great stay in this hotel. As the rest of HK is expensive but you get a perfect location to move around Kowloon or HK Central. Short walk to subway, ferries, Jordan district.... You have it all right in the front door. The only drawback is the poor quality perceive by the very old furniture, bathroom and small little things such us lamps, etc. Unexpected if you pay the full rate as we did. Overall very good stay though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Golden Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Golden Mile

Address: No.50 Nathan Rd, Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#62 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#83 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Golden Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 614
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of Kowloon's bustling city centre lies the Holiday Inn Golden Mile , an oasis of quiet charm blending superior location, contemporary conveniences, and all the luxuries of home. The hotel is centrally located in the commercial and entertainment district of Tsim Sha Tsui, only a two-minute walk from the MTR (Hong Kong's underground Mass Transit Railway) and a forty-five minute drive from Chek Lap Kok International Airport. In addition, the famous Star Ferry and boat tour piers are also within five minutes walking distance. With invitingly comfortable guest rooms and suites, Executive Club floors, award-winning restaurants, a landscaped rooftop pool, a state-of-the-art health club, free high-speed Internet connection throughout the hotel, easy access to public transport plus shopping, dining and entertainment mere moments away - why would you stay anywhere else? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Holiday Inn Golden Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hotel Hong Kong
Holiday Inn Hong Kong
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Hong Kong Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Golden Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.