We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Dumplings, Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Din Tai Fung (Yee Wo Branch)

Din Tai Fung (Yee Wo Branch)
No.68 Yee Wo Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China (Causeway Bay)
852-31608998
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4,657 Restaurants in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 512 Reviews
Cuisines: Chinese, Taiwanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Causeway Bay
NY-NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Good Dumplings, Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Pretty much what I expected from this highly rated chain - very good dumplings and excellent service. I went twice in the span of about ten days and had very good meals both times. Truth to tell, the only dumplings I've had that surpass these are the ones made by my wife and my mother-in-law. Neither read this forum, so I am not playing to the home crowd by any means, just giving the facts as I see them. I actually expected these to be better than homemade, based on the glowing reports from NYT and the like, but that was not my experience. I meant to try the Kowloon branch as well but didn't have time during this trip. Maybe next time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    160
    30
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Some of the best Shanghai style dumplings I have ever had, this place is well worth a visit if you are on the island. The noodle soup and spicy wontons are also outstanding.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went to the Causeway branch next to the Regal Hotel - doors open at 11:30 arrive at 11:15 to be part of the first service. Had Xiaolongbao with crab (delicious) and Spicy Wonton (very good) among other nice dishes. Was alone on a Week End.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“From a Din Tai Fung fan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

After my first experience (and second, third, fourth...) with Din Tai Fung in Seattle, I am determined to try Din Tai Fung wherever they exist.

Its been two years since I had good dumplings and I simply had to get some. So... I went to this place as soon as I landed in Hong Kong. The dumplings were excellent as usual. I don't know how they make it so well so consistently. This place is awesome. Unlike the last couple of times, I had some noodles and steamed greens as well. Both were nice.

I highly recommend this place

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Just what you'd expect: great food, flavors and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Ate on a Fri night; it appears you slide right in until about 7:15pm then there are dozens waiting in line. We ordered at least 10 items and here were the highlights: pork buns, spicy shrimp wontons, vveggie fried rice. Dan Dan noodle peanut sauce was a little off. Overall consistent and delicious w very attentive staff. Go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Din Tai Fung (Yee Wo Branch) also viewed

 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Din Tai Fung (Yee Wo Branch)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Din Tai Fung (Yee Wo Branch), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.