We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tower 5, 3 Tong Tak Street, Tseung Kwan O, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #30 of 651 hotels in Hong Kong
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have stayed in hundreds of 5* hotels and this brand new Crown Plaza stands out from every experience in the past. The perfect desig combined with every detail in the room and friendly staff makes this Hotel stand out, you will be surprised with all the detail in the rooms and all the little extras in the room that you can possibly imagine.The breakfast in the restaurant offers an unlimited variety of food, great rooftop cafe with seating overlooking Kowloon.

Room Tip: I had a corner room with an amazing view, very spacious and luxurious. Sorry I didn't make a ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    147
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
64
90
29
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel gives you a local suburban experience of hong kong. Not well located if you are a tourist in hong kong for the first time, but if you are from hong kong, or a regular traveller and are not sight seeing it could be a good option.

Several large malls within a few MTR stops. Lots of good mid range cantonese restaurants in the local area.

Hotel rooms are fine. Buffet breakfast was disappointing and lacking in asian cuisine. There are western coffee shops and a good congee restaurant nearby that you could use instead.

Taxi from airport is a bit of a pain, about 45 minutes.

Would probably stay here again given the low price and good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The biggest challenge with writing a review for this hotel is... How many times can you use the word "amazing" to describe this gem without making it sound like a cliche?! But the reality is, this place is simply AMAZING. I have been in Kong Kong many times, and have always stayed in either downtown HK or Kowloon area; however, the hotels in the city center tend to be very cramped, and can get quite pricey (especially during certain times of the year.) While this property is indeed 25-30 minutes from the downtown area by metro/MTR (which is super efficient here in HK, not to mention that this hotel is conveniently located right next to the Tseung Kwan O MTR station,) and you are not exactly in the "middle of the actions," but what you get in return is a brand new hotel that offers amazing values and impecable level of service. From the moment you arrive at the check-in counter, every staff member of the hotel makes it a personal mission to show how much your business is truly appreciated. They are eager to please, highly efficient is solving all problems, and never forget their smile. The rooms are giant by the usual Hong Kong standard, incredibly clean, and beautifully appointed with all the most modern furnitures. The attention to detail is incredible; every room is provided with plug adaptors for your US-based electronics, and the bed-side radio clock comes with iPhone/iPod docking station. The entire hotel, from the lobby to the hallway to the elevator to the guest rooms, gleams with beauty and modernity, and I challenge anyone to find even a spec of dust on the floor! The breakfast service is also amazing. While the price is a bit steep, the quality of food is oppulent, and nothing like the usual cheesy hotel restaurant. The coffee exceeds Starbucks quality, the large selection of both Western and Chinese food (especially the Cantonese fair) is delicious, and the waiting staff is attentive. The only issue that was a bit unexpected... During the busy morning and evening hours, the elevator can be a bit congested at times. So, when in Hong Kong, unless you absolutely must be in the downtown area, this hotel ought to be an obvious top choice. I certainly know that I will be back at this property in the future for sure.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel after lot of research and of course reading reviews on TripAdvisor. Most of the reviews said the location wasn't great which surprised me as I could easily get to the city in 20min by MTR! Not sure where those guests come from or what is their means of transport is, being from London I found the hotel's location rather good. It is conveniently located away from the hustle and bustle of city centre and literally takes 2minutes from the MTR.

The hotel itself feels brand new and there are enough staff to welcome you as you walk in. Receptionists are ever so polite and every member of staff you may bump into acknowledges your presence. Rooms are super clean and lighting in the rooms are so thought of, night lights in particular along with those fancy switches and international adaptor is at your disposal. In-room diary has information that will familiarise yourself with the hotel and its facilities i.e emergency info (I personally want to know how and where is my way out incase of an emergency as I am in a 37th floor of a building in a foreign country) But I doubt guests read these info as we are too busy.. so lets ring the guest services to ask where is the light switch!

Didn't manage to try the restaurant and spa but gym facilities was great it opens 24hr and the pool is gorgeous.

I personally found this hotel better than Intercontinental Singapore....professional yet friendly!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5nights with the club suite privileges.

The staff are super friendly & the furnishing are 5 star quality.

The Buffett breakfast is a great way to start the day.Food options ranged from full English, Chinese & continental. They offer all varieties of hot drinks, from tea, hot chocolate or cappuccino. We filled up on the breakfast - with the next meal then being dinner!

We stayed on the 41st floor our room was large & comfortable. Bathroom is private, offers separate shower, toilet & bath tub area's.

We enjoyed the club suite on occasion, we have the afternoon tea (yum) & the evening cocktails with antipasto offerings. Both were great & again fabulous service. And the view from the terrace is spectacular.

Only slight down side is the location. The hotel is approx 30mins from Kowloon (Nathan Rd - or Star Ferry). As mentioned by other reviewers the MTR is in the mall next to the hotel. We chose to catch taxi's & for approx 100-140 HK dollars - AUD $12-$16. Once in Kowloon we took to the pavement. If we wanted to go into central we caught the ferry.

Tip: when taking taxi's ask the hotel to provide you with a hotel business card for directions/location - in Chinese - to assist the taxi driver & much easier when getting taxi back to hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Everything was great, was on 36th floor... love the view of the hills from the room

Staff were most helpful. Had a great stay.

Just next to a mall & MTR station, nothing to worry about if you are bored or need to commute somewhere

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I went Hongkong for a holiday in March and we stayed 5 days in this hotel. It is simply AWESOME. Rooms are big, beautiful and cozy. It is connected to 3 shopping malls and it takes just 2 minutes to reach the pop corn mall. 5 mins to reach the Tseung Kwan O MTR station.

Tseung Kwan O is a bit far from the main places of hongkong where we visited, but it is still okay. We get to our destination within 30 min to 1 hour.

I enjoyed my stay there and wouldn't mind going back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East

Address: Tower 5, 3 Tong Tak Street, Tseung Kwan O, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#20 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the contemporary Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East. The spectacular Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East is an international hotel located atop Tseung Kwan O MTR Station and PopCorn Shopping Mall, providing an easy starting point to travel freely around the city. The hotel is just 20 minutes to Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC). If in a leisurely mood, visit Sai Kung town for a fresh seafood lunch overlooking the beautiful South China Sea. All 359 guest rooms offers excellent city views, dining choices range from the all day dining buffet restaurant to Cantonese dining and a roof-top Italian restaurant. Hi-tech connectivity makes it easy to stay in touch with business associates, friends and family. Fitness center and a soothing spa featuring seven private treatment rooms will make you feel rejuvenated and restored. Enjoy a 25-meter outdoor swimming pool (closed during winter). Enjoy seamless service in one of Hong Kong’s largest, well equipped Grand Ballroom; it can accommodate 1000 guests with an energy that inspires success and is the ideal place for weddings. Be it for work, shopping or holiday, make Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East your first choice in Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, TripOnline SA, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.