We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suburban experience. Good restaurants nearby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Tower 5, 3 Tong Tak Street, Tseung Kwan O, Hong Kong, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #26 of 695 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Suburban experience. Good restaurants nearby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel gives you a local suburban experience of hong kong. Not well located if you are a tourist in hong kong for the first time, but if you are from hong kong, or a regular traveller and are not sight seeing it could be a good option.

Several large malls within a few MTR stops. Lots of good mid range cantonese restaurants in the local area.

Hotel rooms are fine. Buffet breakfast was disappointing and lacking in asian cuisine. There are western coffee shops and a good congee restaurant nearby that you could use instead.

Taxi from airport is a bit of a pain, about 45 minutes.

Would probably stay here again given the low price and good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    257
    33
    11
    4
See reviews for
134
211
63
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The biggest challenge with writing a review for this hotel is... How many times can you use the word "amazing" to describe this gem without making it sound like a cliche?! But the reality is, this place is simply AMAZING. I have been in Kong Kong many times, and have always stayed in either downtown HK or Kowloon area; however, the hotels in the city center tend to be very cramped, and can get quite pricey (especially during certain times of the year.) While this property is indeed 25-30 minutes from the downtown area by metro/MTR (which is super efficient here in HK, not to mention that this hotel is conveniently located right next to the Tseung Kwan O MTR station,) and you are not exactly in the "middle of the actions," but what you get in return is a brand new hotel that offers amazing values and impecable level of service. From the moment you arrive at the check-in counter, every staff member of the hotel makes it a personal mission to show how much your business is truly appreciated. They are eager to please, highly efficient is solving all problems, and never forget their smile. The rooms are giant by the usual Hong Kong standard, incredibly clean, and beautifully appointed with all the most modern furnitures. The attention to detail is incredible; every room is provided with plug adaptors for your US-based electronics, and the bed-side radio clock comes with iPhone/iPod docking station. The entire hotel, from the lobby to the hallway to the elevator to the guest rooms, gleams with beauty and modernity, and I challenge anyone to find even a spec of dust on the floor! The breakfast service is also amazing. While the price is a bit steep, the quality of food is oppulent, and nothing like the usual cheesy hotel restaurant. The coffee exceeds Starbucks quality, the large selection of both Western and Chinese food (especially the Cantonese fair) is delicious, and the waiting staff is attentive. The only issue that was a bit unexpected... During the busy morning and evening hours, the elevator can be a bit congested at times. So, when in Hong Kong, unless you absolutely must be in the downtown area, this hotel ought to be an obvious top choice. I certainly know that I will be back at this property in the future for sure.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Booked this hotel after lot of research and of course reading reviews on TripAdvisor. Most of the reviews said the location wasn't great which surprised me as I could easily get to the city in 20min by MTR! Not sure where those guests come from or what is their means of transport is, being from London I found the hotel's location rather good. It is conveniently located away from the hustle and bustle of city centre and literally takes 2minutes from the MTR.

The hotel itself feels brand new and there are enough staff to welcome you as you walk in. Receptionists are ever so polite and every member of staff you may bump into acknowledges your presence. Rooms are super clean and lighting in the rooms are so thought of, night lights in particular along with those fancy switches and international adaptor is at your disposal. In-room diary has information that will familiarise yourself with the hotel and its facilities i.e emergency info (I personally want to know how and where is my way out incase of an emergency as I am in a 37th floor of a building in a foreign country) But I doubt guests read these info as we are too busy.. so lets ring the guest services to ask where is the light switch!

Didn't manage to try the restaurant and spa but gym facilities was great it opens 24hr and the pool is gorgeous.

I personally found this hotel better than Intercontinental Singapore....professional yet friendly!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5nights with the club suite privileges.

The staff are super friendly & the furnishing are 5 star quality.

The Buffett breakfast is a great way to start the day.Food options ranged from full English, Chinese & continental. They offer all varieties of hot drinks, from tea, hot chocolate or cappuccino. We filled up on the breakfast - with the next meal then being dinner!

We stayed on the 41st floor our room was large & comfortable. Bathroom is private, offers separate shower, toilet & bath tub area's.

We enjoyed the club suite on occasion, we have the afternoon tea (yum) & the evening cocktails with antipasto offerings. Both were great & again fabulous service. And the view from the terrace is spectacular.

Only slight down side is the location. The hotel is approx 30mins from Kowloon (Nathan Rd - or Star Ferry). As mentioned by other reviewers the MTR is in the mall next to the hotel. We chose to catch taxi's & for approx 100-140 HK dollars - AUD $12-$16. Once in Kowloon we took to the pavement. If we wanted to go into central we caught the ferry.

Tip: when taking taxi's ask the hotel to provide you with a hotel business card for directions/location - in Chinese - to assist the taxi driver & much easier when getting taxi back to hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Everything was great, was on 36th floor... love the view of the hills from the room

Staff were most helpful. Had a great stay.

Just next to a mall & MTR station, nothing to worry about if you are bored or need to commute somewhere

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I went Hongkong for a holiday in March and we stayed 5 days in this hotel. It is simply AWESOME. Rooms are big, beautiful and cozy. It is connected to 3 shopping malls and it takes just 2 minutes to reach the pop corn mall. 5 mins to reach the Tseung Kwan O MTR station.

Tseung Kwan O is a bit far from the main places of hongkong where we visited, but it is still okay. We get to our destination within 30 min to 1 hour.

I enjoyed my stay there and wouldn't mind going back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located just out of the Popcorn centre. The front door staff appeared friendly. Check in staff not so...bit miserable. Offered us an upgrade for more £, refused it & then upgraded us anyway. Bit of a scam really! Only provided us with 1 key, even though there were 2 of us. We were located on the 29th floor. Lifts could be slow at times.

When we got to the room, the safe wouldn't work. It took 3 staff to replace the battery & about 30 mins in total. There was a hair on a towel (must have been the cleaners as not ours!).

No price list for the mini bar so didn't use anything in it!

No free wifi, they want about £10 a day to use it. Stayed at other 5 star hotels & for the price paid, it should be free like the others offer it! Did not use it. Used the business centre to print out boarding passes & got charged for it (again most hotels offer this free service!).

The room itself was a good size, nicely furnished & had all things needed for a short stay.

Breakfast buffet included in price was very good. Staff friendly & good range of English, American & Chinese foods available! Abit pricey to purchase if not in room rate. About £20 per person!

Decided to look at some of the hotel restaurants for tea! What a joke! Wanted about £18 for a starter on the 47th floor one. Did not go here! They also wanted £32 for lunch buffet.

It felt that they wanted to charge you for anything & everything they could. Not very good for a 5 star hotel! Not impressed. I am sure there are better deals out there!

The pool facilities looked good but no heated pool so couldn't enjoy them. As it was slightly too cold!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique B, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear lwa3

Thank you for your valuable time to share your experience at Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East. We are sorry to hear that we gave you an impression of being a pricey hotel during your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies with regards to the experience you encountered while staying with us.

We’re happy to know that you were pleased with the room upgrade from Superior Room to Deluxe Room. Regarding currency calculation, our lunch buffet on 47/F is priced at HK$168 – HK$188+10% (£15 - £17).

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have another opportunity to seeing you again in the future.

Best regards
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#30 of 695 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#58 of 695 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 2,257 reviews
Hung Hom
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Harbour Grand Kowloon
#31 of 695 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East

Address: Tower 5, 3 Tong Tak Street, Tseung Kwan O, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East 4.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the contemporary Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East. The spectacular Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East is an international hotel located atop Tseung Kwan O MTR Station and PopCorn Shopping Mall, providing an easy starting point to travel freely around the city. The hotel is just 20 minutes to Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC). If in a leisurely mood, visit Sai Kung town for a fresh seafood lunch overlooking the beautiful South China Sea. All 359 guest rooms offers excellent city views, dining choices range from the all day dining buffet restaurant to Cantonese dining and a roof-top Italian restaurant. Hi-tech connectivity makes it easy to stay in touch with business associates, friends and family. Fitness center and a soothing spa featuring seven private treatment rooms will make you feel rejuvenated and restored. Enjoy a 25-meter outdoor swimming pool (closed during winter). Enjoy seamless service in one of Hong Kong’s largest, well equipped Grand Ballroom; it can accommodate 1000 guests with an energy that inspires success and is the ideal place for weddings. Be it for work, shopping or holiday, make Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East your first choice in Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.