We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new experience in Hong Kong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tower 4, 3 Tong Tak Street, Tseung Kwan, Kowloon, Hong Kong 00000, China   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #86 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A new experience in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Booked the hotel because a friend is also staying in the same hotel. Location is 30 minutes away from Mongkok by MTR, an hour away from the airport. Enjoyed my stay at the hotel , breakfast could use a good variety of choices and hopefully , a 24 hour convenience store within the hotel after the shops closes at Popcorn and Edge mall. Away from the hustle and bustle of TST , but close enough to shopping in Kwun Tong and Kowloon Bay. If you want a quiet time away from the usual crowd of HK , then this hotel is for you. I would stay here again if I want to a chill-out time in Hong Kong ! I have to make special mention that when we had a medical emergency in the middle of the night , the front desk staff we're very helpful and adept in what to do, what hospital to go to , and got us a cab for the ride to the hospital. Very commendable service !

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors always command a good view of the housing complexes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    101
    38
    5
    1
See reviews for
48
50
24
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bhopal, India
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The staff at the hotel is so obedient and warm that you would feel yourself at home. The service extended by the staff members is very warm. The whole ambience at the hotel right from reception area timm rooms is awesome.

Room Tip: Corner and Higher Floor Rooms are always welcome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Recently opened, so everything looks new. Views out of the hotel on the sea side are pretty good. Rooms are larger than the usual Hong Kong hotel rooms, even the other HI Express. Breakfast is usual HI Express type, but here there is no buffet. There are breakfast sets and you are handed a tray with a plate of what you asked for, juice and tea/coffee.

Atop MTR Station - Popcorn Mall which makes it convenient to walk through with your luggage, but you need to change trains (get out of one and walk in to another) at North Point and then at Central/Hong Kong Station for the Airport Express. Has Bus Station next door and the bus ride to airport is about 45 minutes after every 30 minutes or so. Thus, connectivity is pretty good even though the hotel is about 30 minutes subway journey to Central. Night buses at a lower frequency can get you back to the hotel if stalled in the city for some reason.

Given that there isn't a big difference in room cost with HIE Soho it might not make sense to stay here wasting time traveling in to the city at work on a normal Hong Kong day. On special event days in Hong Kong, the other HIE at Soho becomes a lot more expensive and it would make sense to stay here if the difference goes beyond HKD 300 and upwards.

Crown Plaza is next door, Popcorn mall is connected with 3 other malls and normally all the usual brands for shopping are available and so are Jusco, Park 'b' Shop, etc. Food and eats and many restaurants in these malls including bakery and convenience stores.

All and all nice for a business stay, not sure if it is going to be great for families wanting to go around Hong Kong with a scanner.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you have been to Hong Kong a trillion times and want to just enjoy the local way of life with easy access to transport, this would be a good choice.

Location: Atop Tseung Kwan O MTR, which is linked to POPCORN shopping mall which is linked to 2-3 other malls!! Yes, so you can conveniently eat, shop and chill just in this area. Staying in Holiday Inn gave us some tourist discounts at POPCORN including 50% off movie tickets on selected sessions which was pretty cool. It took about 20-30mins to get to Causeway Bay. Our taxi fare from the airport was about 330HKD.

Supermarkets like Park n Shop and Wellcome are available at the connecting malls to popcorn.

Rooms: Booked a standard twin bed room, located at level 23. Room size was decent.
You get a decent view of the surrounding estates. The toilet has a very unique door, which either hinges to close the whole toilet or swing the other way to close the shower area - so basically you got to shower carefully or you risk wetting the whole toilet.

The wifi was very good and always working!

The bed was comfy but the pillow - hard or soft felt the same too me. Very very soft. I had to stack like 2-3 of them. I think the pillows were the only problems I had. Room door was very heavy too, which leads to door slamming and more effort when opening and closing!

Service and Staff: Staff was friendly and attentive, nothing to shout about but nothing to complain about either. The housekeeping staff was very friendly and always greeted us when we say her.

Facilities: A lovely green terrrace at level 8 with some rowing machines and bicycles and lovely patio furniture for you to read and relax! For breakfast, you have to choose from a selection of ABCD. Its decent but don't expect much, just choose the fruit set and have some juice before you fill your tummy with delicious HK food outside.

Eat: Popcorn has my fave HK sushi, Itacho sushi (They have discounts at certain times of the days like 50% as with the other restaurants ), Arome bakery makes nice rolls and I am a big fan of their mango cake. Walk towards the connecting malls and you have Xu Liu Shan, Fei Xia Shanghainese noodles, Victoria Harbour and Hung Xing Seafood for your daily Dim Sum. You will not get hungry here!

Room Tip: - Ask for a high level floor, away from tour groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Typical HI Express besides the stingeness of the breakfast. You fill in a card and you are served a tray of what you ordered. Small protions and no refills. Very disappointing. Also will not allow child to sleep free in the room. Have to pay for opening up the spfa bed.Other then that nice new hotel about 40 min by metro to downtown Kowloon. Friendly staff .I would day ok for business travellers but not family holidays!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

When arriving at the Ferry Terminal from Macau, the reaction of the taxi driver when I showed the address of the hotel "Oh, that's far away". Great.. :-)

Arriving at the hotel, very friendly front office staff. I don't really expect anything else in Asia. The hotel was just recently opened and it looks very trendy in the lobby. We had a room on the 22nd floor with a partial view of the bay. The room was basic, queen bed, small desk and free WiFi. The bathroom was also basic, small sink with not that much room but the shower was surprisingly big. It did have a strange door that serves as shower door or as bathroom door.

The stay also included breakfast. Of the 5 nights we only went once to the restaurant for breakfast. Oh man is it bad. And that to think that the hotel also hosts a Michelin rated restaurant. The service is not up to par and the food is really bad. On the plus side, the hotel is connected to Popcorn Mall which has some lovely bakeries where you can pick up some nice breakfast.

There is a MTR station underneath the Popcorn Mall (also owned by MTR). The main tourist attractions are about 20 - 25minutes from the hotel by MTR. A taxi from the Ferry Terminal to the hotel costs around HK$170 (tolls and two luggages). Taxis are also available from the hotel, the frontdesk will assist you with this. Ask for a businesscard from the hotel, so you have the address in cantonese if needed.

Would I return to the hotel? Probably not due to it's location. We stayed here during NYE, this hotel offered the best deal for that period.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

From Holiday Inn GZ, i go to HK to finish another meeting. I choose Holiday Inn Express at Kowloon East, a bit far from downtown but near MTR Station, so closed with Crowne Plaza and Popcorn Mall.
My room at 25th floor and another perfect view from my room (not good at Intercontinental View at Tsing Sha Shui). i really enjoy my slept at holiday inn express, so perfect and recharge my body back, even i only slept about 5-6 hours a day.
Breakfast is not too good, due they give u a pack of menu. Some of the food are overcooked and not fresh. Better you booked a room with no breakfast and you can go around to find a perfect food around the hotel. From Holiday Inn it's connected to Pop Corn Plaza at the first floor.
Enjoy your stay at HK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST

Address: Tower 4, 3 Tong Tak Street, Tseung Kwan, Kowloon, Hong Kong 00000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#72 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find reliability and comfort at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East.The new Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East offers you sincere service and attractive facilities, all at a great value.We are conveniently located atop Tseung Kwan O MTR Station and PopCorn shopping mall. Just minutes drive from many of Hong Kong's famed shopping and leisure venues, 20 minutes from Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) and a short 45-minute drive from Hong Kong International Airport Travelling to other parts of the city is easy and swift.Be it for work, shopping or holiday, make Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East your first choice in Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.