We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless, modern & well priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   83 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong 00000, China (Sheung Wan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #79 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Spotless, modern & well priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel during a stopover in Hong Kong, and I was very impressed with it. I chose it because of its location and because it was relatively cheap, as far as HK accommodation goes.

The staff were all courteous, friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. The hotel itself is still pretty new; the rooms are modern and well equipped and everything is spotlessly clean. The best thing about this hotel though is the location: it's fairly close to Central; a 5 minute walk to the nearest MTR station; and an easy 10 minute walk to the ferry terminals.

Probably the only room for improvement was the breakfast, which, although it wasn't bad, it really wasn't anything special. It was also very crowded, but that might just because it was a weekend?

This is a great inexpensive hotel and I will staying there again the next time I have a stopover in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors, or your view of the bay may be blocked by neighbouring t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    368
    72
    10
    2
See reviews for
105
173
73
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

As I extended my business trip in HKG, I am looking for a "cheap" accomodation in HKG, which is quite challenging as hotel in HKG is expensive.

Being IHG Platinum, I tried to look for the IHG hotel and I yet to decide between HIX SOHO or GIX Causeway Bay (CWB). Locationwise, I think CWB is better due to closeness to shopping area. However, I read better review on SOHO, so I decided to stay here.

Locationwise, it is not so bad, as it is 5 min walk to Sheung Wan MTR exit A2. Staffs are also quite helpful. Room size is quite decent for HKG. The bath room (especially shower area), but I think it is HIX standard. Wifi is available with good speed.

They gave me the room with a view althought it is kind of block by a building.

What surprise me, as a Platinum, they gave me the "benefit", 3 cans of drink and an Orea, which I totally not expected as this is HIX.

The only "complain" is the food for breakfast is the same for the 2 days I stayed. Perhaps, HIX can asked the restaurant to give some varities, like different type of soup and they can change chicken poridge to fish poridge, at least some small varities. Staffs in restaurant are also quite helpful, although the restaurant tends to be busy during breakfast.

Otherwise, it is value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is my second stay at HI Soho and it has not lost its green charm. Location is one of its key selling point and you are literally minutes away from the mid -levels', Wellington Street, Lan Kwai Fong, the Macau ferry terminal etc. Over the past year, many new unique cafes and eateries have sprouted along the interlocking streets around the hotel. Staff at the reception are friendly and courteous. The size of the hotel room is what one would expect for a HI Express Chain in HK. More importantly room is spotless, with all the common amenities required for both a leisure and business traveller and not forgetting complementary Internet access. Gathered from the room brochure that this was the first hotel in the world to embrace the total green building concept with innovative and efficient use of energy- taps in the bathroom are pressure controlled while rooms are equipped with motorised curtains which closes automatically at night. Perhaps one little grudge is the rather monotonous complementary breakfast spread which is the same every day. The restaurant is after all externally managed and quality may not be within its control. I have returned for the fact that the experience was most positive and I do hope that the hotel will continue to offer travellers best value and choice. Keep it up !

Room Tip: Opt for a high floor for best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I've stayed in many of the hotels in Sheung Wan area with Holiday Inn Express being the latest. Honestly they are all much of a muchness in this area. The only thing that seems to vary is the size of the rooms and Holiday Inn Express rooms are of a decent size for HK and this type of hotel. Free & fast Wifi, slightly hard beds and OK shower. The breakfast room gets crowded and it seems like a fairly basic mix of eastern and western buffet fare. One advantage this hotel has over some of the others is it is slightly closer to Central. During weekends it's difficult to avoid noisy mainlanders who seem to think it's quite OK to go in and out of their rooms frequently, yelling rather than talking to each other. Besides this the hotel is OK for a one or two night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YukiShiu, Manager at Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Goingnutsinchina,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor and giving a great input of our product offer to other reviewers.

We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel location while giving a special attention to our breakfast quality. Whereas, we are sorry to hear that some of our facilities could not address our expectation, please assure that we have taken note and thank you for your valuable comments. Your comment is vital to us and serves as a catalyst for improvement.

We hope you would return in the future to provide us another opportunity to serve you right and better.

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Soho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Close to the famous Lan Kwai Fong nightlife and restaurants and easy access to the mid levels escalators the hotel towers into the sky
Recommend the upper floors 30+ and you will get more light
Rooms small but functional and spotless - hey by HK standards the rooms are palatial in size! But let's face it you are not in HK to stay in your room - great value - I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I've stayed in a few hotels in Sheung Wan. However, I would say that this is the most value for money so far. The Sheung Wan station is just a few steps away and there are plenty of good food near by. Although there is complimentary buffet breakfast provided I would highly recommend trying the food around the area. There is also a free shuttle bus service to the Hong Kong Airport Express station which comes every 20 minutes.

The room space is very well made use of despite being small (as all hotels in HK are). There is a workspace area with table and chair, a sofa and proper wardrobe which many hotels in hk would lack one or the other. Basic toiletries and amenities were also provided like toothbrush/paste, pump style soap, hair dryer, locker, charging dock for iphone even an international plug. Free Wi-Fi internet is also provided. The only down side was that the toilet had a door that would close off either the shower area or the whole toilet. So if you closed off the whole toilet the water would splatter and wet the toilet area when you shower but that's just a minor issue.

There is also a self service laundry room and a business centre on the 3rd floor. The vending machine and ice maker was a nice touch. With the hot humid weather, nothing beats having an ice cold drink after a long day. There is also a 7-11 just opposite the hotel to get your snacks from.

Will definitely book with them again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This property is located just 3 minutes walking distance to Sheung Wan MRT station (exit A2) and very close to Des Voeux Road with tram and many bus stops, so location is convenient. There is a 7 Eleven opposite the Hotel and many supermarkets around the property as well. Food options are plenty although nothing stands out much. A 24 hours McDonalds is two blocks away from the Hotel in Queens Road.

The room as expected is small, but this is the norm in Hong Kong, although the bathroom could be bigger with better design. It is very small, but if you travel alone then it will be fine. For couples it may be a problem.

Breakfast was fine and selection as already explained by other travelers. It will be just fine to keep you going until lunch time. If you go before 7.30am there will be always a place to seat as I guess it may be very crowded afterwards.

Overall a good choice for Hong Kong if you want to stay in Sheung Wan area and as long as there is no exhibition in town where it seems that all the Hotels will take advantage to almost double their room rates in their properties.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Address: 83 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong 00000, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#77 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo be your home away from home for your next visit to Hong Kong.Conveniently located at Sheung Wan, we are close to a number of prosperous areas such as SoHo, Lan Kwai Fong, the Central (the financial hub of Hong Kong), IFC Mall, the Hong Kong & Macau Ferry Terminal as well as the famous Hollywood Road & Cat Street. Travel easily to other parts of the city with the nearby Sheung Wan MTR station or readily available taxis in the district.All guestrooms of Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo are equipped with flat TVs, comprehensive TV channels, work desk, complimentary Smart Breakfast & free high-speed Internet access with Wi-Fi. Our Superior Room is located on a high floor & features a Victoria Harbour View. Our hotel has harbour view meeting rooms on the 38 floor and all necessary facilities which serve the needs of commercial clients. Last but not the least, kids under 18 can stay free when sharing room with their parents.Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo is the first hotel in the world to achieve double platinum of Green certificates: (1)LEED (Leadership in Energy & Environment Design) new construction by USGBC (US Green Building Council) & (2)BEAM Plus by Hong Kong Green Building Council. To achieve this, the design & construction of the building need to be "Green" concerned & oriented on sustainability, water efficiency & energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.