We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosedale Hotel Kowloon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rosedale Hotel Kowloon to your Saves list
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
No.86 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Hong Kong 00000, China (Tai Kok Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 305 Reviews
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel has a good location, 5 minutes to the MTR Olimpic station and it is a 15 minutes walk to the night market. The hotel also provides free of charge bus service to down town.
It is a new hotel and the rooms are nice and clean. There is a bar on the 30th floor which has nice views of Kowloon.

Keep in mind that it is a large hotel and in time for breakfast or check-in you can wait 10 minutes to get an elevator.

The breakfast is a buffet with very limited selection of fruit, also only scrambled eggs are avlioble. The kitchen has problem keeping up with and usually there are items for which you have to wait for. Also note that they are really serious with breakfast ending at 10:30 as it is almost all gone by that time.

Room Tip: We were on the 29th floor and the view is great. Also it is easier to catch the elevator as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    172
    54
    12
    4
See reviews for
49
95
31
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We only stayed here for one night on our last night in Hongkong. The hotel is new with good amnities in the room; but the room very small. You cannot even put your suitcase on the floor for packing and unpacking. Also the bed is hard and make you uncomfortable to sleep. The surrounded area of the hotel was really unsafe. We felt uncomfortable walking in the night. They claimed that the hotel very near to metro; which actually a bit far away.
The good things in this hotel that the roof top bar was great; though not much food option. They also provide free shuttle to kowloon station which take you to the airport express station.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The first impression was the un-friendly welcome at the frontdesk/reception on 1st floor.
After a late check-in we were hoping for the usual nice smile greeting for our upcoming 7 days stay on our first stay in Hong Kong.

Well, that didn't happen.

After we checked in, we went to what Rosedale refer to as "Executive Rooms". Well if that was the Executive Room, how small are the other rooms?

Another remark is what they offered before I booked.
On the booking it says: "Complimentary standard evening drinks at Skyzone Deck & Lounge at 17:00 - 20:00 (Max. for 2 persons)"

This is actually only two drinks in total during our 7 days stay, non-alcohol drinks I may add.
Not that I care for the alcohol or running to the Skybar every evening, but it's about the principle!
Don't write an offer in a way that makes the guests feel like they are being tricked. What's the purpose of that?

In the end we didn't even use our "free drinks".

These above notes where from the first night. For the rest of the week I noted the following issues:

* Very bad breakfast
Sometimes the coffee machine works, sometimes it doesn't. Sometimes it will take 15-20 minutes before/if you receive any coffee.
Sometimes they have dumplings, sometimes they don't. Same thing with omelette, melon, sausages or anything else you might find tasty.
Do you enjoy cheese, ham or any other things to put on a sandwish?
Forget about it!

* The constant calls, knocking on door, invading privacy and making the guests feels unwelcome.
I have never been so bothered at any hotel before in my life.
Cleaning ladies waking us up before 9 a clock the day after New Years Eve, standing in our room before realizing we were in no need of cleaning, at least not that early. A daily visit by a person asking if we were happy about the cleaning.
Another man warned us not to leave any valuables outside for the cleaning ladies and advised us to put it in our safe. I have a laptop, ipads, camera (system), phones, money etc. How can I possibly put all my valuables in that small safe?!
The only thing he gave us was a feeling of not being safe in our own hotel room.

If this hotel do have a manager, has he ever tried to stay at his own hotel without getting any special treatment?

I doubt it..

If you think im just a stupid tourist who always complain? Think again.
I have been all over the world in both business and in private and this is not my first hotel visit.
It is however my last ever visit to Rosedale Hotel, in Kowloon or any other place.

I would be ashamed of calling myself a manager at this hotel.


Let me finish with the few positive things.
* Location isn't that bad.
* Internet worked very good.

But in summary, unfortunately, the worsest 4 star Hotel I have ever visited.

Room Tip: Chooe a room at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Quite disappointed with the welcoming as they say "first impression lasts". The snr desk officer was rude and didn't care that we were there. No one smiles except for the cleaners and house keeping. Breakfast wasn't much variety for vegetarians and same menu for 5 days as every other hotel I have stayed offer more. Rooms small which is a given in Hong Kong. Location was the only satisfactory thing about this hotel. Stay again? No! Rather pay more and stay closer to Tsim Sha Tsui or Mong Kok.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Director of Rooms at Rosedale Hotel Kowloon, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and sincerely apologise for the unpleasant experience you encountered. Please be assured that this is not usual and that the appropriate follow up has taken place with the service team members to ensure that this does not occur again in the future.

Thank you also for your freedback regarding the breakfast variety for vegetarians which has been discussed with our Chefs for the improvement.

We thank you once again for your valuable comments and sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again when your next visit in Hong Kong.

Best Regards,

Frankie So
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I am utterly disappointed that the hotel is not flexible at all in times of emergencies. My travel partner had to rush back home as his dad passed away and thus, we only stayed two nights out of the five nights we booked. We only got wind of news and got my flight changed on 2 January night time. When we approached front desk, they immediately rejected us claiming that it's a non cancellable nor refundable rate. I find that utterly ridiculous considering it was something unforeseen and unpleasant that has befallen on us. The hotel could have offered us a return stay of the number fk nights which we did not manage to use since we always visit Hong Kong but no, your staff just brush us off with your rigid terms and conditions.

During the short stay, we also encountered issues with the hot water system in the room. We battled that for almost two hours.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Director of Rooms at Rosedale Hotel Kowloon, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Angel T,

First of all, please accept our most heartfelt condolence and sympathy for the loss of a family member of your travel partner.

We understand your feelings and regret to know that you felt that our staff were not compassionate enough in handling your request for an early departure. After receiving your email few days after your departure regarding the incident, the management immediately instructed our Accounting Officer to issue a refund request to our local bank for your room payment reimbursement. Please note that the procedure may take approximately 2 to 3 weeks time from your local bank normally.

Angel T, we sincerely apologies once again for the incident and please feel free to contact me via email frankieso@rosedalehotels.com directly if you require any further assistance.


Best Regards,

Frankie So
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I spent four days in this hotel with my entire family and the experience was not pleasant at all.
Room service was not available for some reasons, the front desk staffs were unwilling to assist in making transport/ tour arrangements and the security personnel were unfriendly, even hostile in the way they deal with guests.
There are other much better hotels in Hong Kong, and I will never book any stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Director of Rooms at Rosedale Hotel Kowloon, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Allan R,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and sincerely apologise for the unpleasant experience you encountered. Please be assured that this is not usual and that the appropriate follow up has taken place with the service team members to ensure that this does not occur again in the future.

We thank you once again for your valuable comments and sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again when your next visit in Hong Kong.

Best Regards,

Frankie So
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is walkable from both Olympic station and Mong Kok; so it's pretty convenient. There are plenty of local restaurants around the area.

Usually when staying in Hong Kong in non-smoking room, you can still smell it. However, we didnt smell the smoke at all.

The staff at shuttle bus service desk was also very helpful and nice.

Overall, it was a very pleasant and comfortable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosedale Hotel Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale Hotel Kowloon

Address: No.86 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Hong Kong 00000, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#92 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosedale Hotel Kowloon not only offers a great location and well designed rooms but also extra touches that speak to today’s globetrotters. Located in the fast-developing neighborhood of Tai Kok Tsui, the 435-unit property combines sleek design and technology with traditional hospitality.All the rooms are elegantly decorated in soothing pastel shades and each is fitted with six sockets to satisfy tech-savvy guests who need to keep multiple gadgets powered at the same time. The LCD television with Mediajack can be linked to a computer for viewing PowerPoint documents and other contents. Wifi and wired internet are complimentary, and the alarm clock with iPhone dock allows guests to play their own music and make the room feel like home.For security, the electronic peephole with a 2.5” LCD screen offering a 190-degree view allows guests to effectively monitor the outside. In each room there is an air plant that grows without soil and with little water, but effectively refreshes the air through natural photosynthesis. It also adds a touch of nature to the environment.When it comes to relaxation, the hotel also offers exceptional facilities. No matter when you arrive in town, the fully equipped fitness room on the first floor is always open to allow you a great workout.In the evening, the spectacular Skyzone Deck & Lounge on the hotel’s 30th floor is a great venue to sit back and look out on Hong Kong’s shimmering skyline while enjoying freshly made high tea, a selection of fine wines and cocktails, or even a full dinner. When the weather is nice, the outdoor terrace is an ideal place to enjoy some fresh air.Alternatively, the hotel also has the wonderfully sophisticated and stylish Sonata Restaurant, which serves up buffet as well as a la carte menus featuring an international line-up of dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Rosedale Hotel Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosedale Hotel Kowloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.