We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosedale Hotel Kowloon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rosedale Hotel Kowloon to your Saves list
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
No.86 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Hong Kong 00000, China (Tai Kok Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #119 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 307 Reviews
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The service in this hotel was incredible. Everyone was on their game. Finding it for a great rate on kayak didn't hurt either. The location was great, close to two subway stops. They have a beautiful upper deck lounge, beautiful view of the city. Stayed at the hotel next door (Cosmo) as well. Rosedale was superior on every level.

Room Tip: look for a good price on kayak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    174
    54
    12
    4
See reviews for
50
96
31
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I'm happy with my stay at the Rosedale. The hotel is new looking, well appointed, and has friendly staff. I live in Tokyo, so I'm used to walking and given the fact that two train stations were 10 - 15 minutes away felt comfortable to me. The area around the hotel had 'character', but I never felt uncomfortable.

The wifi was easy to use, but it's speed seemed to tank once everyone was up and using it. I couldn't even pull off a Skype voice call around mid-morning.

I didn't try any of the restaurants, so I can't say anything about that. As I mentioned, the staff was polite and helpful. My room was immediately outside of the elevator bank (like, really, straight across), but I was never disturbed by the noise! I was quite surprised.

Room Tip: The wait for an elevator on the higher floors is a bit lengthy, but the view is more interesting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Rosedale 2 nights on a company business trip. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. When we got to our room, I was disappointed at the size of the room. It initially reminded me of a cabin on a cruise ship except the bathroom was larger. Very tight quarters indeed.


The room has the necessary amenities, room safe, small refrig, iron, coffee service, hair dryer, all neatly tucked away in drawers and under the counter. Has a flat screen tv and free WIFI (Sometimes WIFI doesn't work well) or internet cable service. Bathroom is very nice, good thick towels and plenty of hot water even during high demand periods.

Breakfast buffet was excellent. If you are in the mood for fast food, there is a McDonalds directly across the street.

Except for the small room size, we enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: Get a room with 2 beds, they are larger. Take an electrical adapter or ask for one at front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongcheng
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The room was very small but this is HK style...no complain!
Good location even if not exactly in the middle of Kowloon. 10 mins for Mongkok and 5 mins for nearest MTR.
The WiFi in the room was not working well, but in the lobby was good. They had some troubles with the server that they didn't solve, but I stayed only 1 night.
I paid 100 euro and compared with other hotels now in HK I think it has a great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Hotel front desk staff are helpful, room is clean, tidy and nice design. Restaurant staff very rude, even though they hit customer with the tray also without apology. Hotel lift are small and need to wait half an hour time just to go up/down during the group check in/out time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Booked the room 1 month ahead of arrival. Took the soft-opening promotional rate. Considered cheap compared to Mongkok hotels. Main Lobby Staffs were very friendly and polite. Check-in Counter staff lacking in experience.

Got a deluxe room at high level. Adjustable room temperature, but noisy as the aircon will come on and off at times. Room size is small but acceptable. Decoration is very modern, employing white and brown color as main theme. Room equipment comes with LED tv with HDMI AV USB ports, iPod alarm clock, electrical iron/ironing board, digital safe-box, kettle, hair drying, bath robes, room slippers. Toilet comes with all sorts of toiletries that you might need. 24/7 Hot water available. High Tech Privacy glass between bathroom and beds. Sound proofing is average. Bed mattress might be too firm for those with back problem.

Convenient store and Fast food restaurant (Mac) is just opposite the road.
I like the roof-top bar, overlooking city skyline while enjoying the breeze and drink.

Nearest train station is Olypmic MTR, 400m away. Transfer to Airport Express via Tsing Yi station. Location is not convenient considering most attractions are near Mongkok or Red MTR Line. Hotel does provide hourly shuttle bus to Mongkok or Kowloon station. Night cab costs around 40HKD to/from Mongkok area.

Stayed as a couple during Sep 2012 for 5 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors, away from lift. Room facing main road offer limited sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

my wife and i stayed here for a weekend and i selected this hotel mainly for the price. i suspect this will increase quite a bit over time as this particular Rosedale seems to be a new hotel just establishing itself.

location is in the mongkok area. it takes about 10-15 minutes to get to the main mongkok shopping area and its fairly straightforward to get there.

it takes around 10 minutes to get to Olympic MTR station (subway).

there are a lot of restaurants close by and convenience stores like 7-11 just across the road.

the room, a double bed-room, was small. not a great deal of space to put a large suitcase. it is clean and there is free wifi.

the bed was pretty firm and the pillows very low. had a bit of neck ache the following morning to be honest.

the bathroom is amazingly tiny. i'm estimating around 3 square metres max. Incredibly, this is enough space for a sink, toilet and shower. it serves it's purpose well. however, for taller and/or bigger people, it might not be so convenient. (I am 1 metre 70 and 'normal' stature). the glass windows can be frosted at the touch of a button for those who want a little extra privacy - still can't work out how that works. nice little gadget.

the room we had was at the back of the hotel which does not face a road, hence very quiet. as the location is away from the main hustle and bustle of mongkok.

the gym is small and basic. 2 treadmills, a bike, weights and multi-purpose exercise machine. i doubt anything else could fit in there!

the staff were friendly enough. didn't have any real contact with them apart from check-in and check-out which i think is great. our door lock had a slight problem once, but this was repaired quickly and courteously.

another bonus is the free shuttle bus service which goes quite regularly and stops at various places including the airport express station

overall, we thought it was a good hotel. everything worked well, and cleanliness was good. location is a little way out from the action, but still a comfortable walking distance. price wise, it was quite competitive. it was still a decent amount of money, but that's Hong Kong for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosedale Hotel Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale Hotel Kowloon

Address: No.86 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Hong Kong 00000, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#91 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#100 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosedale Hotel Kowloon not only offers a great location and well designed rooms but also extra touches that speak to today’s globetrotters. Located in the fast-developing neighborhood of Tai Kok Tsui, the 435-unit property combines sleek design and technology with traditional hospitality.All the rooms are elegantly decorated in soothing pastel shades and each is fitted with six sockets to satisfy tech-savvy guests who need to keep multiple gadgets powered at the same time. The LCD television with Mediajack can be linked to a computer for viewing PowerPoint documents and other contents. Wifi and wired internet are complimentary, and the alarm clock with iPhone dock allows guests to play their own music and make the room feel like home.For security, the electronic peephole with a 2.5” LCD screen offering a 190-degree view allows guests to effectively monitor the outside. In each room there is an air plant that grows without soil and with little water, but effectively refreshes the air through natural photosynthesis. It also adds a touch of nature to the environment.When it comes to relaxation, the hotel also offers exceptional facilities. No matter when you arrive in town, the fully equipped fitness room on the first floor is always open to allow you a great workout.In the evening, the spectacular Skyzone Deck & Lounge on the hotel’s 30th floor is a great venue to sit back and look out on Hong Kong’s shimmering skyline while enjoying freshly made high tea, a selection of fine wines and cocktails, or even a full dinner. When the weather is nice, the outdoor terrace is an ideal place to enjoy some fresh air.Alternatively, the hotel also has the wonderfully sophisticated and stylish Sonata Restaurant, which serves up buffet as well as a la carte menus featuring an international line-up of dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Rosedale Hotel Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosedale Hotel Kowloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.