We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nana Banana Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

Nana Banana Thai Restaurant
117 Lockhart Road, Wanchai, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)
+852 2520 0396
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Wan Chai
Description: Located in Wanchai, Nana Banana showcases Authentic Thai Cuisine. Like the Country, we offer a variety of flavors and discoveries. With subtle combinations of market-fresh ingredients, spices and herbs, our innovative specials change seasonally such as Phad Thai, Red and green curry, or traditional tom yum prawn soup. The restaurant is a vegetarian friendly with a wide choices of options. Eating ranks high on the Thai scale of pleasures.Open during lunch time and dinner (from 11am to 2pm), Nana Banana is more than just a restaurant, it's a destination for you to convene with friends, share, dine and enjoy the experience of Thai indigenous spices, good food and great service. And this experience so well savoured has been the basis on which we have formed many lasting friendships with our customers.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“great food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I ate here once. I ordered fish and asked them to make it very spicy.
It taste very good, and also the sight of the plate was very nice.
Staff is friendly and quick and service is good.
I would defintely go back there ...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

ate here a number of times during my stay as it was great food good service and lovely cocktails , red curry was amazing

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
3,123 reviews 3,123 reviews
1,097 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
8,121 helpful votes 8,121 helpful votes
“There is better Thai food than this in Wan Chai”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We recently visited the Wan Chai area for Thai food. Instead of going to the Thai Farmer restaurant, our favorite in this area, we decided to try Nana Banana, a bit further up Lockhart Rd instead. Unfortunately, we didn't find their food to be particularly authentic or tasty compared to meals we've taken at Thai Farmer over the years.

We started our meal with (504) the classic Thai green curry with chicken (HK$75) that was a very sweet curry. It did have a bit of kick from the green curry paste and the chicken wasn't bad. Unfortunately, this dish was missing some rather important ingredients such as lemongrass, kaffir leaves and galangal which made this taste more like a simple coconut curry instead of an authentic Thai curry. Also, the basil, which was in the dish, did little to influence the flavor or taste. Overall, not a great version of this classic Thai dish (rating 2 of 5).

We also ordered the (402) Hot chili, basil leave stir fried with pork (HK$70). This dish was too light on the chili and too heavy on the soy sauce, making it taste more like a Cantonese stir-fried pork instead of the expected Thai version of this dish. The meal could have been improved if there were chilis and fish sauce made available on the tables to perk up the dish. Unfortunately, at Nana Bananas, this is not available. Overall, not a bad dish but similar to the curry, not what we were looking for (rating 2.5 of 5).

Margarita served with meal was fine and they have a decent selection of bottled beer to choose from. Nana Banana's also seems to be a whiskey bar so takers of the stiff stuff might find reason to visit this place. For better Thai food, we'd still prefer the Thai Farmer restaurant further up Lockhart Road.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wee gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We loved this place. It is in wan chai, an area full of some tacky bars, so this is a refreshing place to call in to. This place is small, busy, great value, and the food was very fresh and tasty. Go there!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, Calif
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Satisfying Thai Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

While in HK went here based on previous Trip Advisor reviews. Very popular spot with decent Thai food, good service, reasonable prices. Nana Banana is also a whiskey bar with a hugh variety of whiskeys, (I assume scotch).

Would definetely return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nana Banana Thai Restaurant also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nana Banana Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.