We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Cantonese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yat Tung Heen Restaurant (Eaton, Hong Kong)

Yat Tung Heen Restaurant (Eaton, Hong Kong)
B2, Eaton, Hong Kong, 380 Nathan Road, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Yau Ma Tei)
852-27101093
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #328 of 4,640 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: Chinese, Dim Sum, Soups, Cantonese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Yau Ma Tei
Description: The renowned Cantonese restaurant presents an extensive menu of traditional Cantonese cuisine in elegant and contemporary surroundings. Try dim sum, double boiled soup, fresh seafood and much more. The popularity of this venue confirms its enduring quality. With private rooms, it's ideal for banquets, celebrations and functions.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Contemporary Cantonese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Good well presented Cantonese food with a modern twist - but pricey without the hotel-offered 15% discount

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Cantonese food, great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

The service was great. The waitress serving us was super friendly and very accommodating to our requests. On top of that, she showed a lot of initiative in making the guests feel comfortable.

The portions were huge!

It was normal Cantonese food at its best.
This is a great place to bring your family.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Worth a detour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We ate in this restaurant whilst staying in the Eaton hotel, of which it is a part. It would have been worth visiting even if not on our doorstep. The flavours of the dishes which we had were exquisite (prawn and asparagus, beef tenderloin with ginger and roast pork belly) and service was very friendly and effective.
The room is a touch formal (common in Hong Kong) but many of the guests were dressed casually, as were we. This didn't seem to matter.
One of the best Chinese meals we have had.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Superb Chinese Cuisine - Very affordable and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at the Eaton hotel and were recommended to try this restaurant.
We were met and greeted by "Eric" a very enthusiastic manager who offered us some assistance with the menu and provided us with some complimentary wine and a starter dish as we were guests at the hotel.
Off to a great start!
He was then extremely helpful with explaining the menu and the options available to us.
We ended up having Peking Duck - which is called Beijing Duck.
Presented and cooked beautifully in two courses.
Eric attended our every need and provided some ideas on how to make the duck a more special experience for us.
The meal and drinks were very reasonably priced.
The room and restaurant ambience very good and the service was exceptional.
I would recommend that you book a table - the restaurant is very popular for weddings and other events.
We were fortunate to obtain a reservation and experience a great night of Chinese cuisine and service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Quality food at reasoble prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I was here with my aunt, her friend and my boyfriend. We ordered their set lunch at HKD$130/person, which came with an appetizer, soup of the day, 4 dim sums, a vege, noodle/rice and dessert (all to be chosen from the lunch menu). For the dimsum, we chose the prawn dumpling, waygu beef pan fried dumpling (very juicy), white turnip pastry ("lo bak si so peng"), and black truffle siew mai. Service and food quality was really good.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yat Tung Heen Restaurant (Eaton, Hong Kong) also viewed

 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Yat Tung Heen Restaurant (Eaton, Hong Kong)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yat Tung Heen Restaurant (Eaton, Hong Kong), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.