We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value, best experience, best service, best Dim Sum in Hong Kong!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Dim Sum Chinese Restaurant

One Dim Sum Chinese Restaurant
Shop 1 & 2, G/F, No.15 Playing Field Road, Prince Edward, Hong Kong, China (Prince Edward)
852-27892280
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 4,640 Restaurants in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 505 Reviews
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Prince Edward
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best value, best experience, best service, best Dim Sum in Hong Kong!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just had dinner there due to excellent TA reviews and various blogs and it didn't disappoint. We were extremely fortunate to get there at 6.30pm and straight in to a table but the queues started almost as soon as we sat down. A little hard to find as slightly around the corner of where you think it should be and you need to peer at the poster on the glass to see the name but I would guess that generally just look for a group of people on the footpath waiting to get a seat and a queue number in their hand! The actual venue very smalll with close tables and no airs and graces. Menus with English names are the placemats on the table which is convenient and tea comes in generous mugs that are constantly topped up. We over ordered and the fabulous English speaking (Manager?) advised us of this and we down scaled. He was spot on. The food was so fresh and fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed every bite. The cost was minimal and we just walked out shaking our heads wondering how it took us so long to find this gem. Well done One Dim Sum we will be back every time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    150
    41
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had dinner in this restaurant last night, which turned to be a great food experience. First of all, the food was just great. Then, the manager was very nice and helpfull, he helped us to make a diversified selection: dumplings, buns, etc. And to finish, it was very cheap. Our best dinner in Kong Kong so far.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Cheap Cheap Cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We decided to try this place because of the Tripadvisor reviews and the excellent ratings. We are sure not disappointed with our selection of food. We ordered a total of 6 items and it only costs us HKD98??!?!?!?!?! I mean come on that is DIRT cheap, not even half the taxi fare I pay to travel from Mongkok to Central!!!

1. BBQ Pork Buns - soft bread texture but the BBQ pork taste need some refinement
2. Chicken Feet - excellent
3. Rice Rolls - least favourite but not horrible tasting
4. Siew Mai - good
5. Har Gao - good
6. Custard Buns - this is the highlight of the day. Soft fluffy buns but the custard filling can be richer IMHO

We queued for 45mins since we reach there 10mins after 10. One tip - go there at 930am, you should get the 1st seating. Fortunately there were some chairs which are meant for waiting diners. The service staff is also never rude despite impatient waiting diners raising their voices whenever the clock ticks. I like their service and appreciate the value even though the space is tight and some dishes require just a tad of refinement but then again how can anyone complain with such low prices?

I left a happy and satisfied person.

ps: you can walk to the nearest local market (Fa Yuen Street market for some interesting local activities and goods). Don't just go HK for high end shopping as it is no different from other cities.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Dim sum yum yum...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Just went there yesterday afternoon for lunch... service is good.. food is excellent. Love the char Siew bun... different from other dim sum restaurant. Highly recommend! !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

In the past 4months I've been many times to this restaurant and I'm a huge fan of it. In my opinion it is one of the culinary highlights in Hong Kong. I can really recommend the deep-fried sesame balls, meat balls, bbq pork buns and prawn dumplings. In addition to the quality of the food it is really cheap, so value for money is just perfect.
The staff is also very friendly and competent, the manager speaks very well english and because he attended hotel school in switzerland he also speaks swiss-german/german.
This restaurant is a highlight in HK!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Dim Sum Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to One Dim Sum Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Dim Sum Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.