We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Kowloon!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Madera Hong Kong to your Saves list
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Cheong Lok Street, Jordan, Hong Kong, China (Jordan / Yau Ma Tei)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 25% OFF & Free WiFi
Ranked #26 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Kowloon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the positive reviews and wasn't disappointed. Great little boutique hotel. Doesn't have all the amenities of a chain but covers all the necessary bases and even includes a rooftop bar with spectacular views! Service was great and the room itself was small but nice. The only thing I didn't realize as someone new to HK was that it was in Kowloon. However, the location was convenient for all the sites on that side of the island and the MTR 2 blocks away made it easy to get over to central, soho, etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    156
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
61
158
36
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed in here for 2 nights en route to Australia and it was a great choice. The bus from the airport (A21) offers great views of HK on the way in, though the bus drivers seem to think that they are in a rally. Getting an Octopus card was a definite plus as it can be used for buses, ferries, the tube and entry to sites e.g the Peak. Don't go to view the Peak on the funicular tram on a Saturday morning, unless you are prepared to queue for over an hour! The wifi is free and amazing speed and bandwidth, with iphone,PC and tablet connected. ( For technophobes like me, the charging usb hub for the iPhone is on top of the alarm clock! Doh!)
The hotel is just off Nathan Road and so is very central, and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. The beds were soft and comfortable -an absolute must for any one with back trouble. For a few days stopover it was an inspired choice. The view from the bar at the top was magnificent.
Don't bother making the effort to finding the old tram - the TinTin. It was slow, hard and uncomfortable. When we reached Kennedy Town, we got straight onto a bus and came back to Central.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better views - obviously!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

One particular staff left a good deep impression - Elaine! Our first night was disappointing as the Jacuzzi was not working. It seems that they were already aware of the problem yet the first male staff checked us in. We were looking forward to a good Jacuzzi soak after a long day out but to our dismay, we were not able to enjoy. There were no other room for us to be transferred to that very night except for a Junior suite with no Jacuzzi function too, and Elaine kindly offered to upgrade us to a premium room the next day. The premium room was much bigger and we love the room. A pity we could only enjoy the one night stay as we were leaving Hong Kong the next day already. Everything was perfect except for the small hiccup. This hotel is a gem in a prime location. Walking distance to Jordan MTR, walking distance to a whole street of local delicacies! Hotel ambience was good, sky lounge a must-go, beautiful and romantic night scenery! Will wanna stay there again if there is chance, hope for more good promotion prices, otherwise a tad too expensive. Down side is, not really soundproof, could hear people on the corridor. But there are Too many good things about this hotel to rave about - the choice of pillows, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, free first round of minibar, hypoallergenic floor, women's premium floor, nice gym, spacious gamexpert room and more!

Room Tip: Premium rooms on the higher floors are much better and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Excellent value and well located, within walking distance to Jordan MTR station. Has a range of pillows you can choose from to provide a comfortable night sleep. The bathtub has a built-in Jacuzzi to give a relaxing bath! Those that a particularly sensitive to allergens can try the hypoallergenic floor!

Only thing I don't like is the size of the room which is a little cramp, but I understand is normal for a hotel room in HK

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

MAdera Hotel is a beautiful special heritage gallery hotel at a quiet Jordan Street.When I step in the hotel, Love the 60 to 70 Decoration of the Madera Hotel. Room was big and smell good. Nice and comfortable bed that make you want to sleep more. The Roof top Bar is cosy and happy hour 1 for 1 promotion get you to see the HK 8 pm laser show. Will Stay again if I am back in HK.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was an excellent choice for us representing great value for money, excellent room facilities and access to everything without the noise. We were upgraded to a suite on the 28th floor with breathtaking views over the city towards Lion Rock. We sat watching the lights come on for ages, just taking in the city. Service was excellent, reception particularly so.

The room was huge with an amazingly comfortable bed and a wall full of windows. It was close to Nathan Road which made getting into Kowloon easy. It was close enough to walk.

Room service was excellent. The room was spotless. Loads of electronic switches to operate almost everthing in the room. It took a bit of working to get all of the lights how we wanted them to view the city. But we succeded!

Security was excellent as there was only acess by lift and you needed the key to activate getting to your floor.

Being this high it was quiet and we slept well.

This is a modern hotel which is proud of its designer touches. The plan decoration was a touch of green in a consumer led city.

Breakfast was a bit of a let down. The choice was limited and there was no switching between what was on offer. A pity as this could easily have been accommodated without having to radicall change what they offered. We were arare of this from trip reviews before we booked so can't reall complain about it or knock the score down.

We would stay here again!

Room Tip: High is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

A great choice for people who are not after a global brand but a nice room at a good location. the hotel is thoughtfully well designed and i was upgraded to a suite. the only down side the onsite restaurant.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Madera Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Cheong Lok Street, Jordan, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#44 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madera Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Madera Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Madera Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.