We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All of the favorable reviews were accurate.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Madera Hong Kong to your Saves list
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Cheong Lok Street, Jordan, Hong Kong, China (Jordan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book DIRECT up to 30% off
Ranked #27 of 690 Hotels in Hong Kong
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“All of the favorable reviews were accurate.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Copying my review from Orbitz:

We enjoyed our 6 night stay at the Madera Hotel in early May. Our double room was very comfortable with nice lighting, furnishing, and temperature control. Space was definitely satisfactory. The bed was a pleasant firm, the pillows were soft, and the sheets and blanket were cozy. Complimentary snacks and drinks in the room were very welcome.

The curtains do a very good job of keeping out the daylight when we wanted to sleep in. The front desk will call in the afternoon if you still have your Do Not Disturb sign on, and you can tell them when you want housekeeping to clean your room, if at all.

Crabtree & Evelyn shampoo/conditioner/body wash/lotion are replaced in the sink drawer every day. We didn't use the jacuzzi tub, but the other complaints about the shower handset were valid. The handset is not affixed well to the wall, but it is only a minor issue.

We were on the 8th floor facing Cheong Lok street and there was no noise at all from outside. Only some noise as other guests passed our room in the hallway. An umbrella, electronic scale, bathrobes, and slippers are all provided. The free Wifi is serviceable.

Staff are polite and not intrusive. They don't have anyone to bring your bags to your room, but I prefer that anyway. We didn't eat at the cafe and we never went to the rooftop bar. I used the gym once and it was nice, but small. Dumbbells up to about 50 lbs. were a bit unwieldy, but were fine. Adjustable bench was good. Small number of cardio machines and only 1 elliptical. Towels and a water cooler are available. All machines are new.

Overall, we really liked our stay at the Madera Hotel. It has only been open for a year and the building is completely new/renovated (used to be residential building). Great value for the money. It is on a convenient location just off of Nathan Rd. and is a couple small blocks from the Jordan MTR station. A21 airport bus stop is similarly close by. There is a Wellcome store across the street (Nathan), but getting to it is a bit more work since you need to walk a block or two to cross.

I would stay again next time I visit Hong Kong.
(Going to HK in July, but will not be staying at Madera because I could not get as good a deal.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    131
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
52
127
32
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaneohe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Really a gem in a great location. Spent 3 nights here recently on a recent stopover. First time to Hong Kong and this was a excellent home base. In the heart of a great shopping area with restaurants and shops for every taste. Very friendly and helpful staff from the front desk lobby to the rooftop bar.
Very convenient to MTR or a quick taxi ride to Kowloon Station. Every convenience a traveler may need either onsite or very nearby.
Loved the modern style and technology of the room.
Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had a 2 night stopover in Hong Kong, so needed a clean, affordable, efficient hotel located near all the key sights,but with easy airport access. This fitted the bill perfectly. The staff were helpful, while the 28th floor room had a superb view the city. The A21 bus to the airport stops within 2 minutes walk of the hotel, while you are close to all the markets and within easy reach of Tsim Sha Tsiu or Jordan MTR. Free wi-fi worked well and my partner enthused about how comfortable the bed was. Following previous recommendations, we had breakfast at one the many local places, so cannot comment on the hotel offering. The rooftop bar has a nice view, but is nothing special and certainly overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were welcome by heavy rainfall when we reached the hotel in the afternoon. We were wet n feel cold, when we check-in. However the staff save the hustle, upgrade our room and let us check-in the room fast.We had a enjoyable washout with the jacuzzi and short rest with the comfortable bed.After the good rest, we start our night with shopping.During the 2 nights stayed, we going thru why we said Madera makes our stay great. Good services, helpful staff ensure we get to the right place where we want to go.The room well designed, air con great so is the bath room.Followed by the hotel location, which is well located. We just take a few mins walk to the Jordan mtr and conveniently we can either travel down to Hong Kong island or move up to mongko. We really spent great time here and next trip we will still choose Madera as our prior choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Our family of four stayed in two rooms. One with twins for our 19 & 21 year old children and another with a double bed. The rooms are neat and clean, but a little cramped (it is Hong Kong). The hotel is conveniently located near MTR station, the wi-fi is free, there is a small exercise room, and a few drinks and snacks are provided for free in the minibar. The only negative to this hotel is the wall between the bathroom and main room. It is made of frosted glass, but the bottom 12 inches or so is clear glass, very strange. Even after being married over 30 years, I wasn't keen on using the facilities with my spouse sitting on the bed on the opposite side of the wall. I can't imagine how awkward it would be for friends traveling together!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Upon arrival at the hotel, you'll be surprised with the small lobby, small reception area. But the hotel managed my arrival well and handled every request without any complaints. Room was just right. Booked 3 rooms of which one was a Deluxe Twin room which came with 2 separate showers. Bath tub even came with jacuzzi.

The hotel made me feel safe there as going up the lift, you can only go to your assigned floor and no other floors. They even have a floor dedicated to females i.e. no males allowed

Location was good. Very near to Jordan MTR. Lots of good food around especially at Peakes Street where you'll be able to find the delicious Mak Man Kee Wantan noodle, Australia Dairy House and in front of hotel Xin Dao Ji with its very delicious roasted suckling pig.

The Airport Express Bus to Kowloon stops in front of Eaton Hotel which is only a short 5 min walk away.

I'll definitely be coming back again for my next visit to HK.

Room Tip: Choose high floor and if possible get a room with separate shower. Mini bar comes free during the 1s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

New hotel, comfortable clean & quiet. Close to mtr station and a good range of restaurants. Nicely designed rooms, decent sized tv. Staff really pleasant & helpful. Great air conditioning, a must for HK in June!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Madera Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Cheong Lok Street, Jordan, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Jordan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#37 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madera Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Madera Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Madera Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.