We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Madera Hong Kong to your Saves list
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1 Cheong Lok Street, Jordan, Hong Kong, China (Jordan / Yau Ma Tei)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 50% off for 2nd night
Ranked #26 of 693 Hotels in Hong Kong
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Brilliant Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed in the Madera hotel for five nights in February this year. The hotel is centrally based, ja few minutes walk from Jordan metro station, just off Nathan Road. It's very easy to find, as long as you make sure you leave the subway at the right exit. The hotel is down a minor street off Nathan Road, but the street has other cafes and bars on it so it doesn't feel unsafe. The hotel is a modern, impressive building with a small but welcoming lobby. There's not a great deal of seating in the lobby so it's not the best place to wait for transport if you have a lot of bags.

I had booked a standard room but on arrival I was offered an upgrade to one of the studio rooms on the 28th floor for a very reasonable price. I accepted the offer and didn't regret it. The room came with a complimentary mini-bar and vouchers for breakfast in the hotel coffee shop.

My room was large and spacious, with a very comfortable king-sized bed, a separate seating area and a small kitchen. The views, from the floor to ceiling windows that spanned the length of the room, and looking up Nathan Road (away from the harbour) were tremendous.

The bathroom was very nice, and the Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries were a bonus. The only niggles I had about the bathroom was that the shower was only a handset on the bath - it wasn't fixed to the wall, so you had to sit in the bath if you wanted to shower. There wasn't a great deal of storage, just two small units with plastic shelves on poles. There were two sinks, but I would have preferred a single sink and a better storage unit for toiletries.

There was plenty of good storage space in the room itself, two large televisions (one at the foot of the bed and one in the sitting area) with a reasonable selection of cable channels. (I did however find that because of the layout of the room, when trying to use the remote control for the television at the foot of the bed, the television in the sitting area would turn on - you have to get used to pointing the remote at funny angles!) The television in the sitting area also had a DVD player and had 3D functionality, if you happen to want to watch DVDs while in Hong Kong.

The mini-bar included a few soft drinks, a few beers/wine, and some snacks. Nothing amazing, but nice to have when the munchies struck in the middle of the night.

Breakfast was served each morning in the coffee shop, and included a hot drink (tea or coffee), a pastry (very nice muffins or croissants) and a bottle of fruit juice. Compared to other included breakfasts I've experienced at other hotels this was of a very high standard, and the coffee shop itself had a great ambience.

The hotel also offered a gym, which I didn't use, and a games room, which I tried to use only out of curiosity, but found to be locked. (I wasn't interested enough to go find a key from reception!)

The hotel has a panorama bar on the top floor which I can heartily recommend. The drinks were on the expensive side but the panorama view from the top of the hotel was one of the highlights of the trip for me, especially at dusk when the lights start to come on.

The hotel is right in the centre of Jordan so there is no shortage of convenience stores, coffee shops, eateries and shops. The Temple Street night market is a few streets away and offers all manner of tourist tat, as well as housing lots of good local eating spots.

I would stay at the Madera again without hesitation - it is fresh, clean and well located and compared with other hotels in Hong Kong is very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the studio room - very luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    144
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
60
145
33
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

we arrived at madera at around 6am and had to wait till 2pm for check in. we didnt have a place to wait since they only had 2 seats in the lobby. good thing the coffee shop on the 3rd floor opened at around 630 so we had coffee while waiting for the shops to open. the hotel
had nice new rooms, size was bigger when compared to other hotels in hongkong. mtr is about 2 blocks away. there are 2 7/11 shops nearby. one is a block before and the other is a block after madera. u can take a shortcut by passing thru the alley which was creepy at night.
overall, if i plan to stay in my room 60% of the time then i would choose this hotel. otherwise, i would prefer to stay at a more conveniently located hotel :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed for four nights on business in April 2014 and have no complaints whatsoever. The room provided was spacious (a premium room on the 23rd floor) and the hotel staff were a delight from start to finish.

I really liked the location, 2 minutes walk to Jordan MTR and therefore 10 minutes from everything else. Dont hesitate.

I didnt use the breakfast as I went out so cannot provide feedback on this element. The view from the small rooftop bar is outstanding (although drinks expensive).

A very good hotel in a great position providing excellent value!

Room Tip: Take a premium room on one of the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Aquila, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent one night at Madera Hotel and we wish we had booked one night more. The hotel is centrally located, near Jordan metro station, 30mins far from the airport (by taxi). Staff at the reception has been always kind: we got an upgrade to our reservation. We had a two-floor room, at 28th and 29th (and last) floor, with a wonderful view of the sourrounding skyscrapers, expecially by night because of all the lights.The room was all white and green, design furnished, with iPod dock-in station and flat tv screen. We spent some time in the GamExpert room playing PS2 games (included in the reservation). Unfortunately we had no time to use the Gym. Our reservation included breakfast in the design furnished "1997 cafè": orange juice + coffee/ the + muffin. That was the only downside of the hotel: few choice for breakfast.
From the hotel you can easily reach Temple Market, Nathan Park and the arbour and have a complete tour of the city. We wish to come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Arrived at the hotel at about 10:30 a.m. after disembarking from a 23 day cruise. Did not expect our room to be ready, which it wasn't. We were made very welcome, our luggage taken care of, and were taken to the cafe on the third floor by Rui, a most helpful staff member. About 30 minutes later Rui came to tell us that we had been upgraded to a 2-bedroomed suite and he accompanied us there. (We are 'I prefer' members, hence the upgrade.) The rooms were beautifully appointed, spotless and very spacious.
The hotel is a 1 minute walk from Nathan Road in Jordan. We were within walking distance of many and a variety of eating places, markets and shopping centres. Rui was most helpful in his recommendations.
We believe it was excellent value for money, and the rate include a continental breakfast in the cafe every morning. Their coffee is excellent!!
If ever we had the opportunity to visit HK again, the Madera is where we would stay. A late 2 p.m. check-out helped us heaps as we had an evening flight out of HK. A great BIG thank you to all the staff for their friendliness and superb service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was our first time in HK and we chanced upon this hotel. It looks relatively new so we decided to go ahead and booked it. When reading our review do note that we had not been to other hotels in HK so there is no way we can compare it to others.

As my wife was preggy, we wanted a hotel with slightly more space. According to the photo i showed my sister and according to her, the bedroom was considered big compared to other hotels in HK. The hotel did not disappoint as their were room for my pregnant wife to move about.

Pros:
Room was considered big (HK standards) as it was not too cramp for the two of us. There was even a small desk and chair for you to do your work etc.
It also came with complimentary drinks and snacks (you have to pay if you want a top up).
The bathroom was clean with a Jacuzzi bathtub.
Flatscreen tv with adequate tv channels e.g. discovery, nat geo and hbo etc.
location of the place was very accessible - walking distance to Jordan MTR. Bus 21 and 22 stops at the street near the hotel with about a 100m walk. (Jordan MTR is near Tsim Sha Tsui, Sham Shui Po, Mongkok - shopping and street market hotspots.
Lots of famous eateries nearby e.g. Tsui Wah HK cafe, Mak Man Kee noodle, Yee Soon Milk Company, all along Parkes Street which is just one traffic light away.
Near temple street night market. 7/11 nearby.
Service staffs were friendly and able to speak english. They also helped us to keep our luggage when we checked out early and we came to pick it up after doing our last shopping.
Room was cleaned everyday. By the time we come back in the evening, room was cleaned and packed. We feel energised.

Cons:
Jaccuzi produce very little and soft bubbles. Felt like i was being cooked in a cauldron rather than being massaged.
My wife claimed that she saw a baby cockroach in the morning when she woke up. I didn't see any.
Do not expect any good views as HK has many high rise buildings

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night at this hotel. We were really looking forward to it based on the many excellent reviews here.

We were rather disappointed that the room was not ready at 1 pm (check in time). So we left our bags with them and went for lunch nearby. We were back at around 2.30pm and the room was still not ready. This made me rather irritated as I really wanted to freshen up before heading out. We ultimately got the keys only at 3.30pm.

Other than the late check in, we were very pleased with the room size and decoration. It was very modern, spacious and the toilet was very clean and large. It was nicely decorated using red mosaics.

The mini bar and snack was complimentary. Not an extensive range - bottled water, soda, beer, cup noodles. I read from other reviews that it was only free for 1 round. I stayed only a night so I'm not very sure if it was true as the reception did not specify.

Overall, I thought this hotel was value for money, at a good location, had excellent deco and was comfortable. The only fault was the very late check in.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Madera Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Address: No.1 Cheong Lok Street, Jordan, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Jordan / Yau Ma Tei , Jordan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#38 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#39 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#64 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Madera Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Madera Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Madera Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Madera Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.