We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for short stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tai O Heritage Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tai O Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Tai O Heritage Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Shek Tsai Po Street | Tai O, Lantau Island, Hong Kong Hong Kong, China (Lantau Island)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 92 Reviews
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
“Nice for short stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a nice escape for a weekend, 15-20 mins walk to the old town center where a lot of eateries could be found. However, it is still in a far end at the Lantau Island, going to the other places such as Tsim Sha Tsui or Causeway Bay will not be as convenience as the rest.
Love the Heritage building with the spacious bathrooms.
However, it is open for public in the day time, the huge groups of never ending weekend tours might be a bit annoying if staying at the ground floor. They kept peeping in from our windows that I finally lower all the window's curtains.

Room Tip: Ground floor basic room are lack of privacy, higher floor rooms are expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    36
    12
    5
    6
See reviews for
16
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

"Not more than one star": this is what my wife reminded me of as I was starting to write this review. The staff is obviously well-meaning, the initiative to preserve the building should be applauded, and the location is absolutely stunning. But this does not detract from the fact our room was windowless, half of the fixtures were missing from the bathroom, the doors did not shut properly, there had been major water leaks in the ceiling and water had infiltrated the walls, the food in the restaurant was worse than at a school cafeteria, etc.

What should have been a relaxing night at a deluxe location ahead of a 20km hike on beautiful Lantau turned out to be as comfortable as a night in a camping, at 50 times the price.

As other reviewers have noted, this place is a wasted opportunity: keep that in mind if you read this review in 3 years when the management will have been fired, renovation work carried out, a proper chef hired, and the staff properly trained.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

our friends paid for our all inclusive stay as a gift for our wedding anniversary. It did not disappoint and we had a unique experience. highly recommended for those looking for an 'out there' getaway with a glimpse of Hong Kong's old fishing industry and also a few unique cafe and restaurants.

Room Tip: only 2 upstairs but worth asking about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Tai-O heritage hotel i october 2013. It was a little difficult to find, arriving by bus after dark, but we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived after a 15min walk from the bus station. Lovely room! And very peaceful spot. The staff were very sweet! Little details here and there give away that it´s not run by a professional 5-star chain, but that just adds to its charm - and they really are trying hard to get it all just right. we will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We wonder which is worst: the place hard to reach, the menu (toast or hot dogs!!) or the appalling and unpleasant service in a island where the common people are so eager to please, certainly not to the standard of Hong Kong. However they don't miss to charge you exorbitant prices. Fortunately we did not spend the night there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

It was a mistake! We spent one night there. The receptionist was utterly unfriendly when we checked in. The restaurant supplies only airline (economy class) type food. Even at that level, many items on the menu were not available and substituted with even more inferior food.

We felt like living in a zoo surrounded by tourists peeking around. We had to keep the curtain down and room was dark like a cave. Garbage smell was around the restaurant seating area and kitchen, cleaning mess is everywhere that you can not avoid seeing.

Whatever was included in package was a joke. So, all I can say is "be aware!". It's a hotel that looks good on the website but does not live up to the basic standard.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

The isolation of this hotel is its great selling point It is certainly quiet once the day trippers have left. But the rooms though well appointed and comfortable are dark and windowless. But as far as we could ascertain the village lacks a quality restaurant and the one at the hotel is essentially a museum cafe for the day trippers. if this place is going to get on the map it needs to really invest in the food side and to find a better way of allowing museum visitors to see the building without the paying guests feeling that they are part of the exhibition.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tai O Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tai O Heritage Hotel

Address: Shek Tsai Po Street | Tai O, Lantau Island, Hong Kong Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Lantau Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tai O Heritage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Tai O Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tai O Heritage Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tai O Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.