We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Experience Ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Canada Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Canada Hotel to your Saves list
Canada Hotel
2.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Flat A6, Block A,15/F,Chung King Mansions,38-44 Nathan Road,Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 145 Hong Kong B&B and Inns
Sungai Petani, Malaysia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worst Experience Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was the worst ever travelling experience of my life. I went there with my colleague.
When we first arrive at the accommodation, we are quite shocked with the condition of this building. The hotel was located in a tall building which contained a whole lot of cheap accommodation at the upper levels. Bad thing is, there are only 2 lifts if I am not mistake. So in order to go up to your room, you need to line up for the lift. Sometimes it will take you around 10~15 minutes of waiting time. That's for the building where the hotel is located. (Not sure can consider a hotel or not)

As for the Canada Hotel accommodation itself, there's a very strong uneasy smell around the area when we first came in. To add on this, the reception is small and can barely accommodate our bags while we check in. And the worse thing is, we have booked two rooms for us but apparently they are offering us to share the rooms as they would like to give the other room to some other person. We rejected the offer as we clearly have booked the rooms earlier. It took a long wait for us to be able to go to our room. (maybe they are cleaning our room).

So, when we went in to our rooms, it was another disaster. The rooms are so small and how can they offer us to share rooms where the beds are barely enough for one person (just slightly bigger than Single Bed but nowehere near a double bed). Lucky for us that we rejected their offer to share one room. And you can just imagine our disappointemnt after that. A Claustrophobic experience for us. Never again. Never.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    21
    4
    12
See reviews for
9
18
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at the Canada Hotel during the week I was in HK. Straight from the airport, you pay HK$33 and the bus will drop you off at the Tsim Sha Tsui stop and it is practically at the front door. As others have mentioned, it is in the heart of the shopping district and it is very convenient to the subway station. FYI, right across the street from the hotel, in front of the Rolex shop, is where you would take Bus 21 back to the airport, be sure to have exact change.
I also walked from the hotel towards the Victoria Harbor to view the daily 8am light show; you basically enter the subway tunnel at the Sheraton Hotel and just follow the crowd.
Here is something that I don't know if others mentioned: There are many Indian workers in the high rise building and I made friends with them and had some amazing Indian food (punjabi) at the bottom of the building food stalls. Do not be timid, go try some authentic and inexpensive Punjabi food. I had more Indian food than Dimsum while in HK.
My secret to enjoyable trips is to have an open mind to new experiences. So, live a little.

In addition, from the Canada Hotel, you can walk to the ferry location and go visit Macau. It was all within walking distance.

The hotel was very clean, rooms are small but this is HK after all. I booked the single room but it was actually a single room with 6 bunk-beds. Not a problem. The WiFi was right outside my room and the A/C was strong. Again, no issues with the hotel. The staff were friendly.

enjoy your trip and make some memories.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumedang, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I was underestimate about this hotel at the first time. But once we checked in, and see our room, i am so surprised with the room which is above my expectation. Tough the room size is small, it can occupy everything we need to rest. One Filiphino lady, whom i belive she is the one who responsible for the hotel cleanliness, greet us with a friendly and helpfull attitude.
Hotel location is near to touristic venue, and because of that, i am surely will recomend this hotel to my friends and family for accomodating them in future visit to Hong Kong

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The whole room is small as well as the bathroom but were good with it since we were always outside doing out itinerary. They changed the bedsheet everyday and free tissue and soap are overflowing. The hotel is located beside Imperial Hotel, Sasa and Cafe Coral. It's also near the MRT and there's also a lot of money changer and shopping stores below the building.

One of the letdown of the hotel is they only have 1 elevator to access all floors, its also s small one and could only fit 6 people. Expect a long queue if you will be going up and down on rush hour.

I would recommend this hotel for those on a tight budget and does not mind the small room and elevator.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Price can beat expectations!
Clean and basic: bed for 1 person, hot water and wifi (quite quick)
Nice service with some introduction and a contactnumber
They put me in the Mirador Mansions, little bit further.

Room Tip: They might move you to Mirador Mansions. That's no problem. It's no good idea to go here wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

-Great value for money! -Friendly staff -Daily cleaning of rooms -Small efficient rooms, good enough for just sleeping and cleaning yourself!

The entrance is a bit hard to find at first, but if you ask around people are happy to help you around!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

In Hong Kong the rooms were quite expensive in this period. Canada hotel was one of the cheaper hotels. It's best to compare it with a hostel though. The entrance is a big hard to find at first, since you have to enter a mall (chunking mansions) and take the lift to the 15th floor. At the lift sometimes it can be a bit more crowdy, but all in all I have never waited more than a few minutes. The rooms are small but efficient. If you dont care too much about extra facilities, but just use the room for a shower and a sleep, its more than good enough. The most important is that the rooms are clean and located very well, near TST MTR in the middle of Kowloon, near several tourist attractions.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canada Hotel

Address: Flat A6, Block A,15/F,Chung King Mansions,38-44 Nathan Road,Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canada Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Canada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canada Hotel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.