We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, reasonable price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tokyo Hostel

Tokyo Hostel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tokyo Hostel to your Saves list
Tokyo Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Block D, 8/Floor, Flat D1, Chungking Mansion, 36-44 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon., Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Excellent location, reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My boyfriend & I stayed in Tokyo Hostel for our 7D6N trip to Hong Kong. Chungking Mansion was just across the road from Exit E of Tsim Sha Shui MTR Station and iSquare Shopping Centre.

Our room was sparkling clean, & the only sign of usage was the off-white sheets. (Not to worry, by off-white I mean the slight discoloration of white fabric after wash.) Shampoo, shower gel, toothbrushes & toothpaste were provided for toiletries. In the main room we had a safe, 2 cups, 2 pairs of slippers, & an ashtray. The air-conditioning was an individual unit that enabled you to choose temperature settings. Due to the shortage of space, the beds are on raised platforms so you can put your luggage underneath.

The room would be cleaned daily after 12nn so you do not need to worry about disturbance of sleep. Towels are also collected & washed so you get clean towels every day. Water (both hot & mineral) was available at the common corridor, as well as a 1000w hair-dryer that is to be shared between the 8 rooms.

The only downsides are:
1. The walls are rather thin, so you can hear the other occupants shuffling in & out
2. Although there is a towel rack in the bathroom, the space constraint means that your towel will be wet during your shower
3. There is only 1 lift & it is very tiny

Room Tip: Forget about getting a good view from your window as there are buildings surrounding this, & rem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
7
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights after backpacking around mainland China for 2 weeks. After staying in some very good value hostels for less than £20 a night (private single, en suite), once you hit HK the quality drops considerably for that price range. I wouldn't recommend any of the Chungking or Mirador hostels to families or those who are used to a bit more comfort. This is all for the budget backpacker who basically just needs somewhere to lay their head and kind of enjoys the grittier side of the world from time to time. And for 150 HK $ a night it serves that function perfectly.

Room Tip: If you aren't used to Hong Kong then expect small box rooms. It is also normal for the shower an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I booked a twin room (one room, two separate beds) in advance for myself and a companion, but when I got there, I was given a double room (one room, one bed for two people) which was a downgrade as the double room was cheaper than a twin room.

There was also a disturbing incident that happened during my stay. One of the staff members knocked on my locked door and immediately, without waiting for me to invite him in, unlocked my door with his spare key and went inside with towels. I was shocked as I was already getting ready for bed at 8 pm and I was in my lingerie. The incident scared me so much that I spent my entire three night stay at the hostel half-awake for fear that any of the staff members would use his spare key and unlock my door while I was sleeping.

I found several strands of hair (not mine) on the bed sheet and there were several creases on my comforter that gave me the impression that it was used, not washed yet given to me to be used anew.

The rooms are not sound proof. It was bad enough that I had to stay half-awake to guard my safety, but I was also placed in a room next to annoying neighbors who would make metal-clashing sounds in the middle of the night. I could hear the next door neighbors use the shower and flush their toilet too at such an unholy hour of the evening.

I do not recommend this hotel to families traveling with children, females who are traveling on their own (for safety reasons) and couples who are on their honeymoon (for privacy reasons). This hostel is for budget travelers who can afford to compromise their safety and privacy.

Room Tip: The rooms are not sound proof. If you're booking a room in this hostel, better be prepared to no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My family - with 3 young children and a visiting teenage nephew and niece - booked well in advance to stay at New Tokyo Hostel for a few nights. As we were in Hong Kong ahead of our stay, we decided to drop by the hostel ... and found one of the worst hostel environments that we've EVER encountered ... this is saying a lot as we are currently travelling the world for 1 year and have never left a bad review. This hostel's entry floor was very noisy, smelly and poorly lit with cheap stalls selling all sorts of tat, down to pornographic magazines at the streetside entrances to the lobby. I did not feel safe and kept counting my children. There was a single elevator to take us up to the hostel florr - it was rickety and seemed way out of condition. The entry hall to the hostel was moldy, dusty and looked out on the most unpleasant view of rusting machinery. The children were horrified - my niece said it looked like a homeless shelter. Even though we had more than 2 weeks until our stay, and had just booked the previous day, the owners of the hostel would not let us out of our reservation. My children simply would not stay there, and I wouldn't force them to stay anywhere they don't feel safe. We ended up staying at another hostel in Hong Kong - Comfort Hostel in Causeway Bay. The area was lively and clean, the hostel was practical and safe with friendly staff ... and the price was much cheaper. I was shocked at the difference between these 2 Hong Kong hostels. New Tokyo isn't fit for children to enter ... I would never let any of my family stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tokyo Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tokyo Hostel

Address: Block D, 8/Floor, Flat D1, Chungking Mansion, 36-44 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon., Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tokyo Hostel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Tokyo Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tokyo Hostel Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokyo Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.