We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing good to write about” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Palki Indian Cuisine

Palki Indian Cuisine
1/F, 19-21 Hankow Road, Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong, China
852-23677489
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,364 of 4,812 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nothing good to write about”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We went to Palki for Lunch and were extremely disappointed both with the taste of food and quality of service. Both the snacks and the main course were not upto the mark. When we pointed this out to the restaurant manager, he simply looked unconcerned. There are definitely better options in the vicinity like Tandoori Nights and Branto. Avoid this restaurant if you can.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    10
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was there twice, the first time I brought a friend, and the second time I was alone, and I passed a very bad experience in that restaurant. When I entered to the restaurants it was almost empty. They offer to me a menu, after 15 minutes they bring the food, the attention was good, I asked for Internet, I was in business. Everything was good, and suddenly a group a big of group of tourist from India enter to the restaurant. That moment the owner who was very gentle at the beginning was transformed maybe by the group of new customers bringing more money, he asked me in front of all those people if I have finished because he needs the table. It was a very embarrassing moment. I left the restaurant, because I didn't want to return again, thinking that some people are driven just for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“True Indian Fashio and Food -"Carried on the Wedding Coach"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Outside of London or India, Palki is the next best restaurant for those who love Indian food cooked with just the right amount of ingredients under the watchful eye of the owner directing his staff to make the visit pleasant for the diner. Highlighting the evenings that we were there is a
two -man duet playing traditional Indian music to add the authentic feel of the India that I once visited.

You will not be disappointed if you visit Palki Indian Cuisine, a refreshing change from the norm that usually is associated with Indian food. On Hankow Road in Kowloon near Nathan Road.

Ask the owner to suggest something off the menu-he will accommodate your palate and wallet. So reasonably priced too!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The best Naan ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We saw a sign in Hankow Road but we couldn't find the restaurant. Then the owner approached us and invited us up. Down a narrow passage, up a very small elevator,through the kitchen and there we were. The service was lovely, food was yummy, the best Naan ever and the bill was reasonable. This restaurant is worth looking for.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Manageable Indian Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Service was good. Place was usual old style Indian on the 1st floor. The Palak Paneer was very good and so were the breads. The Nan was superb. The Dal was disappointing, which is not forgivable. How can one not make a good dal tadka!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palki Indian Cuisine also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Palki Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palki Indian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.