We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Above and beyond

Above and beyond
17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon,, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)
852-34001318
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 4,812 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Description: Take in the stunning views of the Hong Kong skyline from our 28th floor Chinese fine-dining restaurant, which gained three “fork-and-spoons” in the Michelin Guide Hong Kong Macau 2012. Enjoy exquisitely prepared dim-sum and seasonal Cantonese cuisine together with vintage wines from our private collection. There are three private dining rooms and even a kitchen, should you wish to bring your own chef.We have also recently been selected by Condé Nast Traveller UK to be on their “Best New Restaurant 2012: Hotel Tables” list.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Some Hong Kong friends took me to this restaurant and ordered most of the food. The Pigeon was great and the quality of the food and service was excellent. Stunning view. They paid so I can't judge on that score.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    78
    24
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This Restaurant is GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

we ate at the Above and Beyond while we were staying in Hong Kong at the Hotel Icon. We actually chose to eat here because a typhoon was blowing up outside and we were advised not to leave the hotel.

What a pleasant surprise that one of the best meals we ate was right here at the hotel. The seafood was great. the scallops may be the best I've ever had anywhere. Everything was wonderful. And the view - wow -- looking out over Victoria Harbor.

This is a treat for anyone who is ready to splurge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Surprising accommodation for a late breakfast to be had..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

When jet lagged, I decided to have some pourragee to settle my stomach perhaps from reading where to dine from where to eat book.
The view was gorgeous on the 22 nd floor overlooking the harbor
& was given ouch menu or, dim sum?
Not in the mood and felt drained...luckily, the host was so,accommodations and thought maybe breakfast as I remained jet lagged and it is already after lunch or, closer to 2 pm
Hence, I was actually accommodated with this beef pourage, wow!
Nice!
However, I quite agree with the other trip advisor, pricey!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“Nice dim sum but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The restaurant is located on the top floor of Hotel Icon. I went to have lunch at Above and Beyond because there was no table for the buffet lunch. The dim sum were great and tasted delicious. It also has a nice view of the Harbor. However, it was a bit pricey.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Excellent food and great hospitality is what greeted us at Above and Beyond apart from the warm, welcoming, super quick staff. The view was as satisfying as the food, the harbor a treat for the eyes. The wine was of good quality and the barbecued pork was to die for. This was a really great place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Above and beyond also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Above and beyond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Above and beyond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.