We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway Bay Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hong Kong
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Causeway Bay Inn
Save
You added Causeway Bay Inn to your Saves list
Flat A on 1/F, Percival House, 77-83 Percival Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong 852, China (Causeway Bay)   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

CWB Inn exceeded my expectations. It was in the most convenient location right smack in the middle of Causeway Bay. Times Square (crawling distance), Sogo, Hysan Place, Ikea, Lee Garden, etc. were just within a few minutes walk. MTR Station was just conveniently nearby. It was also surrounded by convenience stores for your quick needs. Restaurants and cafes were everywhere.

Aside from the most convenient booking I've ever had, perfect location (I love the Island side!), the no hassle self check-in, the best part for me was that it was impeccably clean. You can judge by the room's smell that it was definitely clean. At the end of a long day with your numbing feet, it was such a relief to ease into to a really clean bathroom (w/ hot/cold water), the freshest bed linens and the most comfortable bed. I had the soundest sleep and hardly heard noise from the street below or the other guest rooms. And the rooms were completely furnished with just what we need. Definitely staying there next time. I highly recommend CWB Inn!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    24
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
20
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

the location was really great! near to MTR, right in front of trem station. the price was cheap also, i think it was the cheapest budget hotel in hong kong. the room was quite small but very clean and safe. will definitely stay in here again if i come by to hong kong again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We are definitely staying here again for all our future trips to Hong Kong! The place is located on the second floor of a building right in front of Times Square, so you can't beat the location. It's near the MTR station exits, within walking distance of the shopping malls and shops, and also right in front of a tram station if you want to take one going to Wan Chai or Central.

We were pleasantly surprised at the wonderful interiors of the room. It was well-lighted, simply and elegantly decorated, and maximized the cramped space with shelves and built-in closets. Cleanliness was also a high priority since we saw someone clean everyday. I cannot express how much we loved this place!

It was really convenient to be at the heart of Causeway and within MTR stations away from all the major tourist and shopping spots. For breakfast, there's a McDonalds nearby but we recommend the Red Ant Restaurant which is a couple of steps away at Sharp Street, for HKD26 per meal you can get a nicely brewed cup of coffee with a huge toast, bacon, sausage, and eggs. There are also a lot of eateries nearby so you won't run out of options.

What we didn't like was the hallway on the second floor before you reach the guest house. Since it's beside an Indian restaurant, the hallway always seemed oily and smelled of food. But if you don't mind passing by it everyday, once you key in the passcodes to get inside the guest house you'll instantly forget the unpleasantness outside. Once inside the guest house, you have to key in another set of codes to enter your room, this apart from the codes to get inside the building on the ground floor, so no worries about security.

All in all, we highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

First of all I would like to answer the question from Marcythia26 that there is a pull out bed in room 1. You can see there is a gap under the mattress and the drawers of the bed on the picture. The drawer part is the child's bed. Amazing, they make use of all the space.
The owner of the inn is very accommodating and nice with my changing of stay (remind you I made the change 3 weeks before) and payment is very easy and secure. At first I was worried about the access codes since there is no reception. There were no problems at all, very easy to access to each entrance. We arrived the night when Hong Kong hit by typhoon, No. 8 signal was raised right after we done our dinner. Lucky that the inn is close to everywhere and we have enough time to buy water and sweet soup downstairs. Room is spotless, clean, neat and quite exactly what you see from the pictures. It was very hot and humid in Hong Kong but the air conditioning is excellent and you can adjust to your needs. Bed are very comfortable, we have no problem to fall asleep. Internet and Wi-Fi are very fast. The cleaning lady is very nice and a hard worker, she did a very good job of cleaning the room and we oversaw her kneeing down to vacuum under the bed from other room. Honestly, I really don’t think is a big deal, it is just the hot water is not hot or warm enough for the second person after the first person went for a bath. I absolutely will go back there next time and will pass the words to all my friends and relatives.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Given that Hong Kong hotels are really pricey for good locations, this hostel gives the best value for what it's worth.

I booked room 2 a few months in advance and at HKD380 a night, this place is a STEAL. Don't listen to what people say about the roads being very noisy at night because it's not! You do hear the occasional sirens but that's pretty common to say the very least in most areas.

The hostel is located right behind Times Square, near exit A of the Causeway Bay MTR and I will recommend taking the airport bus A11 down to the stop after Wan Chai fire station. Do not attempt to take the train via airport express and then connecting to the subway at hong kong main station because you will encounter difficulty pushing your luggage around the crowded subway corridor and stairs.

Booking of the hostel can be done on their website and payment made via paypal. A week before your arrival, you will receive 3 pin codes from the hostel - one for the front gate, one for the main door and one for your room.

The rooms are kept very clean, though small and there is a mini refrigerator, small kettle, TV, shampoo and soap toiletries and yes, Free WIFI.

This place is indeed very worth the value but of course if given the choice, i would not have wanted to stay at causeway bay since it is on hong kong island. if you are into shopping, staying somewhere along the red line (kowloon) will be more time conserving. However, if you do not mind all the extra walking, this hostel is indeed a gem for all the budget conscious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Causeway Bay Inn is spotless, in a good location, and relatively quiet (you can hear the tram etc but it's causeway bay and it's on the second floor). Really good value for money.

I agree with the other reviewers that this is a hassle-free hotel. Even without the reception, the process through booking until checkout was seamless.

I will be back in November!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Booked a twin room with ensuite, like all hostels in HK, the room was small but adequate for 2 people.
Pros...
Very clean
Good location (in time square)
Builidng/room felt secure
Free wifi, kettle & fridge
Good central location on HK island
Good value for money

Cons...
On a main road by timesquare so was a bit noisy (didn't bother me though)
No staff at the hostel, you are given 3 pin codes to nativgate yourself to your room, which is a good idea in theory but a pain if you've lost your code/or it doesn't work!

Overall great place, would definately recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Causeway Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Bay Inn

Address: Flat A on 1/F, Percival House, 77-83 Percival Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong 852, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 141 Specialty Lodging in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is located in Causeway Bay. Causeway Bay is one of the hottest shopping centres in Hong Kong. You only take 3 minutes from our Hostel to Subway Station (Causeway Bay MTR station), within 5 minutes to looking for shopping malls, department stores, cinemas and restaurants etc. Travel by subway train to Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition centre which is 1 station away from our hostel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Causeway Bay Inn Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Causeway Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.