We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay! Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel LBP

Save Saved
You added Hotel LBP to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel LBP
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hollywood Centre, 77-91 Queen Road's West, Hong Kong, China (Sheung Wan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP to15% OFF/FREE Ticket
Ranked #37 of 611 hotels in Hong Kong
Victoria, British Columbia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay! Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I was very impressed with Hotel LBP on a recent visit to Hong Kong. We stayed 3 nights. We booked a luxury room & were upgraded to a business suite. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Hotel was in a great location. Breakfast provided was more than sufficient. There was quite a variety. Fast free wifi. I really loved the area of Sheung Wan, being able to walk out the door of the hotel & be able to explore the lively area. Transportation to central area was very quick, easy & cheap. We usually walked out the door & caught a cab since the cost was so low. MTR & trolley are also a short walk away if you prefer. I would DEFINITELY stay @ Hotel LBP if I were to return to Hong Kong & highly recommend. Great price for Hong Kong.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    124
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
132
27
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed for four nights at this hotel in January and were really please with our choice. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite. This had a lounge/dining area and a double bedroom and small bathroom. There was a lot more space than we expected to get in Hong Kong. The suite was modern and comfortable, with all the facilities we needed, plenty of wardrobe space, a safe, large comfy bed, great shower. There was also a hair dryer provided. The room was very clean.

The breakfast exceeded our expectations. The staff are friendly and really helpful.

We got to the hotel by getting the airport express and then the free shuttle bus to the Hotel Ibis, which is just around the corner. Once we got dropped off there is a Starbuck's on the corner of the Ibis, take a left here, and then the next left on to Queen street, walk up the road a short distance, and then take a right and look up and you should see the sign for the hotel, it is a tall blue building. The location was great, not too far to walk to the MTR and a short distance to the trams. We also walked down to the star ferry terminal and to the mid levels, Soho and to the peak tram from the hotel. Usually we stay in TST but we will definately stay at this hotel next time we are in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, UK
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My work colleagues tried to put me off staying here, advising it wasn't a "real hotel" because its only on the 4th floor. It is true that the lobby is on the 4th floor and there is outside building work going on, but it's certainly a proper hotel. I was upgraded to a suite, which adds a living room onto the bedroom. As I was staying 3 nights over a weekend, but for work, this really made a difference. Room is a good size, really modern, great free wifi. Shower is good, with great products, but bathroom is really small and considering this was an upgraded king room there is no way you could get 2 people in the bathroom.
Breakfast is slightly strange in that its all self -service including helping yourself to (plastic) cups etc and you have to ignore the fact that they wash-up the plates in view, but the choice is good. The one complaint is that the coffee is instant, which was a big disappointment and very easy to fix. Would definitely stay here again - just fix the coffee!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Very pleasant stay at the LBP hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a problem regarding the credit card used to book the room but the staff allowed us to pay when we checked in and still kept our reservation. The breakfast was a plus. Very diverse and tasty. The hotel is a little bit far from the metro station considering Hong Kong distances, that is, you have to walk around 8 minutes to get to a station, what wasn't a problem at all to us. Bus stations are very close. Walking distance to soho. The room is tide, but I guess that's hong kong's standard.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Whatever misgivings we had when we realized where the hotel was located, evaporated immediately once we checked in. As stated in other reviews, the neighborhood and the building where the hotel is located tell you nothing about how pleasant the hotel is.

A little background: We had been to Hong Kong many years ago and stayed at the YMCA in Kowloon, which we loved. We wanted to return, but found that over the years, the world must have discovered what a great place the YMCA was and how reasonable it had been. When we got into the website, we were shocked to see how expensive it had become. Since we were going to choose a different hotel anyway, we decided to stay on Hong Kong City this time and not in Kowloon. We chose a hotel by its description and by the price, without really understanding where it was located. As our taxi drove from the port to the hotel, we became a little suspicious of where the hotel was. It turned out to be at the western end of the island in an authentic Hong Kong neighborhood where the food, clothing and sundry wholesalers were located. Even the hotel is located in a building that houses other businesses and the hotel itself begins on the 4th floor. We realized that the location was somewhat out-of-the-way for the kind of touring we wanted to do. HOWEVER, when we checked in, we were more than delighted with the Hotel LBP. (We lived in Japan and this hotel reminded us of all the small, immaculate and wonderful hotels one finds in Japan.)

The staff of Hotel LBP is just delightful and extremely helpful. Again, I was reminded of how helpful people can be to strangers in Japan. Nothing we asked was too much for them to do. We wanted a vegetarian restaurant so the desk clerk spent at least half an hour searching the internet for vegetarian restaurants within walking distance of the hotel and even told us how to get to each of them.

The room was very spacious compared to most of the other hotels we have stayed in and was equipped with television in both the sitting room and the bedroom. Wi-fi was free in every room and worked beautifully. Breakfasts were more than adequate and good. The breakfast room is small, but there did not seem to be a problem because there were not too many people eating at any one time.

Once we ventured out to tour the city, we realized that within a half hour to 40 minutes, we could walk anywhere, including to the Western Market and the Ferry to take us to Kowloon. In fact, walking through the neighborhood we were not familiar with was actually great fun and we loved being in an area where the people of Hong Kong lived and shopped.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if you are given a small one. The staff may be able to upgrade if the hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We’ve stayed at the LBP hotel for 4 nights.
The Hotel is well located 10 min walk from a Subway station and around 15 min from Central.
The price was very good including breakfast bearing in mind that hotels in HK can be quite expensive.
Many people talk about the area that is not a top area, is indeed a very local area, but after all one goes to HK to feel HK. The area is very safe and has ATM, restaurants and Pharmacies near by.
It was my 4 th visit to HK and I must say I prefer to stay on the island than in Koowloow, even if I have to stay in a less noble neiberhood.
The hotel is nice, rooms are small but comfortable, just the bed is really hard. The only problem is the AC that is always very cold and impossible to change. Both me and my wife were sick because the room was too cold.
The breakfast is decent, not big variety but good quality, but the room is tiny with just 4 tables, is ridiculous for this hotel. There is another room were you can sit but is not so close to the food. They really need to fix this problem.
The Wi-fi is decent and they give you water and good amenities in the room.
Overall a very good deal in HK, but they need to sort our the AC and the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Choose a rooms on a High Floor cause the road a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

this is really a very good hotel, i stayed in a room at 21st floor with a very good view to the hill. the room is new and very comfortable and large by any standart any cosmopolitan city.the entrance of the hotel does not tell you the real inside of the hotel .the reception staff are most helpful ,the breakfast are plentiful . the only problem i got is to navigated my way back to the hotel from the mtr station . i have never lost my way so many times in my life time. first time i need to get a taxi to the hotel on my arrival day then even on my 4th day i still lost the way back. 15 mins walk to the station is easier to monitor then return .my conclusion is i dont think i will stay again at this hotel i will choose one easier and nearer to the subway station even the room and the hotel is fantastic

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel LBP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LBP

Address: Hollywood Centre, 77-91 Queen Road's West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#73 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel LBP 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel LBP is a smoke-free hotel with 46 rooms, located in the hub of Sheung Wan near Central of Hong Kong, just about few minutes walk from Sheung Wan MTR station, Macau Ferry Terminal and the bus stations, with easy access to the Airport, Soho district and all Commercial Areas of Hong Kong Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel LBP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel LBP Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel LBP, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.