We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel LBP

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel LBP to your Saves list
Hotel LBP
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hollywood Centre, 77-91 Queen Road's West, Hong Kong, China (Sheung Wan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #45 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed in HK for 4 nights and we really enjoyed LPB Hotel. I dont know why but at our arrival we have been upgraded to a suite, so we've got a very confortable room (living room, bed room, bathroom). Staff is friendly and very helpful (they called for us in-town check in desk and shuttle bus to handle our departure), Very clean room, free wi-fi and not noisy. Just the breakfast a little bit poor.
Great location indeed, 5 min. walk to MTR and close to Hollywood blvd where you can find a lot of nice places for eating, shopping and art galleries.
We recomend this Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    176
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
193
41
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The receptionists are very kind and give you all important and helpful information about the city. They even sent for us the postcards! The breakfast is simple but delicious. There is free wifi all over the place. The hotel is not located in the city centre, the area is nice and full of shops and restaurants; and just a 15 min walk to the subway and the ferry station to Macau. We would 100% recommend this hotel and for sure will stay again during our next visit to HK.

Room Tip: Floor 21. Great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked this hotel for 4 nights and were pleased with our stay here. Yes, rooms are very small but that is quite common in Asia, wifi was free of charge and the signal quite strong, breakfast was adequate, nothing to rave about, just simple. We were on a second floor and had a street view but did not notice any noise. Room can get very cramped with two people occupying it and there was zero space in a bathroom to put toiletries (had to carry it in and out every time). Staff was very friendly and the location was good, too. One bed had no blanket cover when we arrived at 1:30 a.m. We did not mention anything but the issue was automatically resolved the next day. Hotel provided toiletries were nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Friendly staff, very good value, clean and comfortable rooms, great housekeeping. I like the neighborhood with fun and funky eateries nearby. I will definitely stay here next time I am in HK. It's a short walk to the Sheung Wan MTR, and easy to catch a cab if you need to at any hour.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor on the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My wife, 4-year old daughter and I stayed here for one night only. Checked in on 21 January 2012 and checked out on the next day. We took a shuttle bus from Kwun Tong and went to Kowloon. From there we picked up a taxi straight to the hotel. When I first let the driver know about the hotel, he was lost a bit (we managed to prepare a slip of the hotel name in Chinese – thanks to the Dorsett Kwun Tong staff). But he managed to find it. It is about 15-20 minute-drive from Kowloon town centre to the hotel. We arrived an hour or so before noon and checked in smoothly since we had made payment earlier. There was a surprise – a free upgrade to a small apartment suite from a double bed room. Quite a good feeling knowing you are going back to a nice room after a whole day of travelling later. Staffs were friendly enough - somebody opened the doors for us and the porter offered to carry our bags to and fro the taxi, they got a taxi for us too when we were leaving. Check in was fast and we did not have to wait long for the elevator.
Note: We needed to leave for Guangzhou the next day for a day trip – thus we needed to travel light. We asked the hotel for places where we can leave our luggage. They offered to keep it with no charge. They also sent our clothing for laundry with the same charge as normal laundry.

POSITIVE:
# spotless clean room
# nice decor
# clean shower & toilet
# nice view
# very helpful staffs
# no unnecessary extra charge

NEGATIVE;
# location a bit far from nearest MTR (but a plenty of taxi even at 5.00am).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Not quite the standard need for a hotel, I actually live in Hong Kong and my children and I needed to attend a very early morning function so I elected to spend the night in a hotel to save the commute time in the morning.

I knew of LBP and then checked it out on Trip Advisor to read more.

I am a single Mum with 3 children ( 14, 12 and 10 yrs old). I rang the hotel and explain how I just needed a room to sleep in for the night. The assistant recommended I paid for a std room and they would upgrade me to suite which would provide 1 separate bedroom and a sofa bed in the lounge where my son could sleep. The cost was HKD1200 which I questioned as I saw much lower std room rates on trip advisor, she explained that the advertised amount didn't take into account the tax etc. And I thought well if its a suite for $1200 that was still a good deal

Arrival was good, check in staff very helpful.

But unfortunately they said no breakfast as rate was so reasonable that it didn't include, that wasn't a good vibe on check in.

We were issued a business suite on the 3rd Floor

Room was very clean and you could see the hotel had only recently been opened.
The room, was small, function-able but small

I was disappointed in the following:

Shower was not draining and with 3 children trying to shower the floor was soon very wet
The sofa bed in the lounge was not a sofa bed, it was just a 1.5 sofa. So my son (tall) spent a reasonable uncomfortable night curled up on couch. And unfortunately the most disappointing aspect for myself was the traffic noise, Since it is on one of the main roads for that area, buses and taxi were frequent most of the night, so it made for restless sleeping.

So overall, lovely and clean (and I am fussy) and well appointed. But for a family, unless the hotel mgmt can come up with a better solution for larger rooms then I would be weary.

And a request for a higher floor should have your avoiding the traffic noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a floor high enough to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This a clean, stylish and modern hotel with very friendly and efficient staff.
We had booked a triple room but were pleased to find it was actually a small suite; comprising of a double bedroom with en-suite and a lounge/ kitchenette. All very nicely presented.
The kitchenette was equipped with a full size fridge freezer, microwave oven and small grill/oven type 'thingy'. The only down side was the bed settee wasn't particularly comfortable. There's a good supermarket next door so you could snack/ cook in the room.
The breakfast room was very pleasant with a good, but not, huge selection of food. Strangely, we all enjoyed the breakfast more than we had at some much more expensive hotels in Europe.
If you're a tea drinker you must take you're own teabags, those in HK are incredibly weak.
There are also a couple of laptops available to use in the breakfast area. Remember to check-in for your return flight. We forgot and ended up scattered around the plane !.
Key to enjoying Hong Kong is an Octopus card. Available from MTR stations for HK$150 (about £14). They can be used on the MTR, buses, trams and the Star ferry. The nearest MTR is Sheung Wan a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. HK$50 is refundable, it gave us 4 days unlimited travel for about £8 each !!!. We didn't have any real idea where to go but received some good suggestions. Try the 260 bus to the small coastal village of Stanley (from the central bus station at Exchange Square). A nice journey along the coastal road, a small but good market, and a variety of places to eat. Talking of eating, try the JUMBO floating restaurant in Aberdeen. Allow £60 a head to eat. Expensive, but an experience you'll never forget. Go by taxi or you'll never find it !. Also, take the Funicular railway up to the peak but don't stand there like idiots, like we did, waiting to see the waterfront laser light show at night. It's best seen from across the harbour at Kowloon - a definite must see !.
You can also get a fantastic view of the harbour from the 100th viewing area of ICC tower in Kowloon. There's an MTR station right beneath it - I wish we'd known !. If you're on a budget, try the twin IFC tower on the HK island side. There's a free viewing area on the 51st floor but apparently you'll need to take you passport. Have a great trip.

Room Tip: We stayed on the on the 3rd floor at the front and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel LBP? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel LBP

Address: Hollywood Centre, 77-91 Queen Road's West, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#79 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#81 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel LBP 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel LBP is a smoke-free hotel with 46 rooms, located in the hub of Sheung Wan near Central of Hong Kong, just about few minutes walk from Sheung Wan MTR station, Macau Ferry Terminal and the bus stations, with easy access to the Airport, Soho district and all Commercial Areas of Hong Kong Island. The Sai Ying Pun MTR station between the new extensions of MTR western line will be service in early of March 2015. Hotel LBP will be only 4 minute away from Sai Ying Pun MTR Station, we will keep you update of the schedule. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel LBP reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel LBP Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel LBP, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.