We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views but ...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inakaya Japanese Restaurant

Inakaya Japanese Restaurant
Building 101, International Commerce Center Square, No.1 Austin Road West, Hong Kong, China
852-29722666
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,062 of 4,807 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
shanghai, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Views but ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Loved the views at Inakaya. The fog had come in so despite limited visibility the fog gave the effect of being in the clouds, in some ways like dining a la Avatar!

I had the Unagi set lunch which was quite unimpressive. The unagi was moist but somewhat tasteless. Now I have read that airline food is quite tasteless because the altitude numbs the taste buds. This might explain the bland food and my fellow reviewers disappointment in the food.

The service here is consistent with what I would expect from a fine-dining restaurant: professional, well-groomed and attentive wait staff. They spoke fluent English and were flexible enough to customize the order and add non-menu items.

If my airline food theory is true, I would recommend you order something with stronger flavours. The views are spectacular.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    8
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is my second time to have lunch here. Last time was a wonderful experience and the food was good. This time i ordered a unagi don. This set worth HK$380 + 10% and i definitely regretted to order this. I would say those unagi sold at supermarket are of better taste. The Teppanyaki lunch sets were so so. The portions were smaller then last time. I will not go to this restaurant again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Your time is worth more than this - eat elsewhere!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Menu is confusing, Staff don't understand English. Service was terrible. Food was overpriced.

Save money and time - eat elsewhere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It is a very expensive restaurant, cheapest set for lunch is 280 +10%. However from the moment you stepped in, you can feel the great quality of service. The food was so yummy, except the sushi set that my friend ordered. One set lunch contained so much that everyone was so satisfied and full. The only thing I felt pity about is that my table are not next to the window and I could not see the view. Overall, I love the place and if I have the chance, I will go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Nice place to go with nice food, but seems a bit dark. The food is fresh but the portion is a bit small. Will sometimes go there for lunch with friends.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inakaya Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Inakaya Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inakaya Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.