We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little jaunt” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Star Ferry Pier

Star Ferry Pier
Kowloon Point, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
852-23677065
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #14 of 107 activities in Hong Kong
Type: Ferries/ Boats
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Sooke, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“great little jaunt”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was just so much fun and so cheap. Great views, short trip, not at all choppy although in bad weather it might be. Perfect for running over to Kowloon, walking along the waterfront and just takingbitbeasy. We will go again because access and price cannot be better.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,410
    932
    212
    17
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Star Ferry Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Pretty quick, nice views and you don't have to wait too long for the ferry either. I think the MTR is faster so this is something everyone should try atleast once.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“A ferry cheap scenic ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We'd been urged to try the Star Ferry by everyone we know who'd been to Hong Kong. It wasn't as convenient as the MTR (especially as it seems impossible to find an online bus map of Hong Kong or Kowloon so as to get back to our hotel in N. Kowloon). So after coming down from The Peak on the tram (funicular) we got the Star Ferry to Kowloon. It was amazingly cheap and the views were a real bonus - good for photography, with no glass in the way. A must-do when in Hong Kong.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trimdon
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Exciting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Loved riding on the boat over to Kowloon, quick and inexpensive, nice breeze and good views, especialoly in the evening with the lights. Enjoyed the rush on and off the boats, like a speeded up film, reminded me of the old Hong Kong before China got their hands on it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Used the Star Ferry to ride across from the mainland to Hong Kong Island. Mty family and I took the trip early one morning. It was a great way to see the harbour and also to get a great look at both skylines.
Its very impressive as you make the trip across the harbour to HKK island as you come up to the tall skyline.

Its a very cheap way to transport across, and once you are over there you are right next to the bus terminals to get around the island, and you can use the Octopus card as well

Both our children and I enjoyed the journey. The ferry is open and allows you to see a very unobstructed view and is very quiet.
THere is something about the rocking around on the water that makes the trip great.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Ferry Pier also viewed

 

Been to Star Ferry Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Ferry Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Star Ferry Pier to your Saves list