We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location / Small Rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay to your Saves list
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.38 Bowrington Road, Hong Kong, China (Wan Chai)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #266 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
3.0 of 5 stars 174 Reviews
Los Angeles, California, Usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Location / Small Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed there with my family in early January for 1 night. Can't comment on the service as we did not stay long enough. The rooms are very small, but that was expected, so if you are not spending any non-sleeping time there - should be ok. High floors provide pretty good view of the city especially at nigh. Location is good (MRT is about 5 min away from Times Square), although not that easy to find at the end of the back street (for some reason it was not marked on my mobile GPS map).

Room Tip: Upper floors have a good view at the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    47
    61
    28
    25
See reviews for
19
36
24
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Terrible hotel with 4 star grading and with Best Western brand.
No doubt excellect location, but smelly all around. Super small room, with tore off damaging toilet/bathroom. No place to stand, even single guest in a room.
Mis-leading information about A11 bus stop direction, not even close to MTR station.
Regret to book this one, very regret.
Terrible, especially with Best western brand, and grade as 4 star..... definitely misleading.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian, Michigan
Top Contributor
1,320 reviews 1,320 reviews
178 hotel reviews
Reviews in 330 cities Reviews in 330 cities
558 helpful votes 558 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I chose this hotel because it kept me under my company's generic nightly budget and that is not easy in HK. At the same time, it was a place I could stay and still earn frequent stay points. Best Western is one of those chains where one never knows what one will get from property to property. The variety makes things interesting but also makes for a greater possibility to find some less than stellar 3-sigma establishments. I would not say this was in the outlier realm but it was also not exactly on my top ten either. Upon arrival, I was able to check in relatively easily but the front desk staff were relatively uninformed concerning airport transportation options. They referred me to the valet which meant I had to trek back downstairs. It turned out that there was no airport transportation. The only option was a bus which had inconvenient departure times for my flight. I ended up having to take a taxi. Once I made it to my room, I found it to be the smallest hotel room in which I have ever stayed. It was clean, however, and the internet worked. The morning breakfast was very basic but at least they offered something. The check-out was adequately fast, after which I was actually able to flag down a taxi relatively easily. In retrospect, I would recommend this place if it was clear to the patron what they were getting. The major benefits were the price and the potential for BW points.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Had a positive experience staying at this hotel. Service, breakfast and rooms were good. Room was small but didn't expect much more in such a handy location. Hong Kong accommodation is overall just not cheap. Buy your breakfast for every morning at the discounted rate when you book/check in or it costs you more to pay per day. I advise havign the breakfast as Hong Kong seems to wake up late and you might struggle to find food early in the morning, especially if you are looking for western food.

Room Tip: there are non smoking and smoking rooms/levels, as most of Asia, so specify or else you may end up o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landshut, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed there with my boyfriend from 1.12.2011 to 6.12.2011. Was the only place available for that moment and was the most terrible place I've ever stayed! The price was to high for those conditions! Room was very small, no table, no shelf! And it was noisy in the morning.
The location of the hotel was good, not far from subway station and one of the sights Time square! There is a small market downstairs, there are few places to eat and few supermarkets.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Tiny bedroom size of 2.5 x 2.35 metres; no wardrobe just a recess with 2 coathangers; minibar(!) sized 19 x 25 x 32cm just held two tins; towels extremely thin, one had holes. Same priced Hotels nearby MUCH better. Do not consider it deserves the Best Western name.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 8 nights, and find this hotel's location quite convenient near the Time Square mall in Causeway Bay, which means it is close the Causeway Bay MTR station. Right next to the street there are some bus stops so it is quite easy to get to other places by bus. However, I find the service a bit disappointing. When I arrived late at night, the concierge staff didn't even try to help me out with our luggage. They simply just watched my boyfriend and I each rolled our own large briefcases all the way to the front desk. I don't know what they are doing because there were no other clients around and all they did was standing at their desk. I have requested for a double bed room and noted late arrival when I booked online, but when I checked it late at night due to flight, my boyfriend and I were give a 2-twin-beds room. I requested for a room change, but was told that I had to wait until my third night in order to get a double bed room. Not impressed at all when I am paying the full price for 8 nights and still not getting a double bed (especially it is a couple vacation---twin beds don't sound right). Also, when I checked in, the front desk didn't mention about complimentary breakfast, so I didn't know about it at all until after I checked out. Near the hotel there were not many restaurants, especially for breakfast (as they often open after noon), so I had a hard time finding places for breakfast except Maxim's and 7-11. The housekeeping staff is very inattentive because I always hung the "do not disturb" sign but a maid would knock on my door everyday at 9am. There were always some customers talking on their phone in the hallway at night and I could hear every single words they said in my room. The hallway is so narrow that the door can't block any noise from the hallway AT ALL. The room is very tiny with a very small bathroom, and the TV in our second room (the one with a double bed) was not functioning properly (it kept having overlapping images).

Room Tip: Make sure they give you the right room type, so maybe better off call them a few days before you arr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay

Address: No.38 Bowrington Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Wan Chai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay is conveniently located in Hong Kong’s most exciting shopping, dining and entertainment district, Causeway Bay. Times Square and Causeway Bay subway station is only five minutes’ walk from the hotel. There are hundreds of restaurants and bars around the area, a truly dining paradise. Hong Kong Convention Centre, Admiralty and Central business district are within 5 to 10 minutes drive. Popular attractions such as Victoria Park, Happy Valley Horse Racing Course, Golden Bauhinia, Tin Hau Temple and Central Library are within walking distance. Guestrooms have free WiFi internet access, in-room safe, refrigerator, and coffee/tea making facilities. We aim to delivering location convenience, friendly and efficient service, free WiFi, and value for money accommodation experience to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Hotel Causeway Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.