We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Spanish food. Good choice for lunch and happy hour drinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fofo by El Willy

Fofo by El Willy
20/F, M88, 2-8 Wellington Street, Hong Kong, China (Central)
852-29002009
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 4,792 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Contemporary Spanish food. Good choice for lunch and happy hour drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Love this restaurant for drinks and lunch. Good value for set lunch with a good variety to choose from. The decor is very cool and gives a modern atmosphere.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    26
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good food with a good view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our friend ordered a set menu for us so I can't remember exactly what we had but I do remember that the ceviche was delicious. Overall a very delightful dinner. One of the better Spanish food I've had in Asia.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Big name, but was not too impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

A chic taps restaurant in the middle of LKF. The menu is extensive, but the food was very ordinary. It is very pricey for what you actually receive. I think there are better options in HK for Spanish food, but be not as chic. Then again, I go to a restaurant for the quality of food primarily.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“One of the best tapas I've had in Asia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Absolutely delightful!

Had an awesome mojito to start, followed by a skillfully prepared meal.
1. Scallop Ceviche - I've had a lot of Scallop Ceviche before, but none really could beat this - a burst of well-blended flavours.
2. Cuttlefish pasta in squid ink - So different from anything I have ever had. The pasta is not carbo, but cuttlefish! Amazing...
3. Chorizo, Potato, Onion Tortilla - The chorizo made a simple egg dish so delicious
4. Grilled Waygu Beef - This was the perfect dish to end off the meal.

There is such a varied taste amongst the dishes and the blend from one dish to another is very refreshing and exciting. The only regret i had was not to go in a big group, as we could have tried so many more yummy dishes.

I will definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A nice change from Dim Sum !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

A really vibrant and young restaurant serving authentic Spanish tapas in a city with Asian restaurants everywhere you look. This is a great place where the staff really seem to be motivated and engaged in providing a refreshing and different dining experience. Not expensive, good selection of fresh tapas and very authentic. If you've had too many dim sum then try this place for an evening quite different to most HK dining experiences.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fofo by El Willy also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Fofo by El Willy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fofo by El Willy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.