We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a 'must-to' stop in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Koh Thai - CLOSED

Koh Thai
G/F, 57 Wyndham Street, Lan Kwai Fong, Hong Kong, China (Central)
852-28400041
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Definitely a 'must-to' stop in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

The place is really clean and inviting, nice service and great food. The fried rice with mixed seafood that I order had more seafood that the one in Thailand: mussels, scallops, squid and shrimp. Very nice stop for a very reasonable price - you won't regret having lunch or dinner here

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    28
    14
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food, great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was taken here for a quick business lunch and was pleasantly surprised. I had the HK$78 lunch special and found the food to be very well presented and of a higher standard than I expected. Sat on a curbside table and watched the world go by too - bonus.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We'd been here a year before this time and it struck us how good the food was. A year after and it's still great. There is one particular pomelo salad that just did it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good Thai food; friendly staff; busy- so book ahead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have had lunch and diner here (57 Wyndham St) a dozen times over the last year. It can be a little cramped (its HK after all!) but ask to be seated upstairs which has more room. I've always had good food, served fairly quickly. The prices are reasonable for Wyndham Street. The restaurant offers a set lunch menu which is fine. Book ahead though as it gets busy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Horrendous Boat and Horrible Services”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Koh Thai provides boats (junks) including food, drinks and waiting services for clients to hire. similar concept to the Jaspa's junks but the quality is miles apart.

We hired a Koh Thai boat for our annual party on 16 June 2012. It has been blacklisted by all 20+ of us. We will never hire the Koh Thai boat again. Tell your friends!

(1) The boat was in horrible condition. It's small, old, dirty. The layout is bad so there's not much space for people to hang out.

(2) The driver refused to go to Clear Water Bay (east coast of the New Territories in Hong Kong) which Koh Thai agreed in advance that's where we were going. The driver said it's because of the sea conditions. the truth is our other friends hired another boat from a different company and we were going to Clear Water Bay together. The other driver had no problem on the sea condition. Our driver only wanted to save gas expenses! After much unpleasant discussions, our driver eventually took us to Clear Water Bay. but he has already ruined everybody's mood!

(3) Services were way below par. No one offers you drinks. Food was reheated in the microwave and chucked on the table. Things were very messy and we were fed in a worse way than homeless dogs. The waiters never came to clean our table or take away trash.

(4) Not enough cups and glasses for us. We had to wait for them to wash the plastic glasses. Shocking!

(5) One of the staff was particularly rude. He shouted at us all the time, for various things. He was shouting in Cantonese so not all of us understood it. Otherwise, everyone would be very upset. Now, it's only the unlucky Cantonese speaking ones got offended.

We managed to entertain ourselves and got the best out of the day. None of our fun was attributable to the Koh Thai Boat though!

Don't hire the Koh Thai Boat. it's a waste of time and money. Don't make that mistake like we did!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koh Thai also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koh Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.