We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, clean rooms, nice staff...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mercer Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Mercer Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Mercer Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.29 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China (Sheung Wan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Location, clean rooms, nice staff...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Cute hotel in super close walking distance to the Sheung Wan station. That station is one stop from Central and thus made it convenient to hit shopping & Airport Express. Several restaurants, convenient stores, and even a Starbucks near the hotel. Wonderfully clean rooms, free mini bar in the room was a lovely touch, and interestingly just 3 rooms on our floor (maybe like that on others) - so pretty quiet. Free wifi was awesome! We didn't have any issues with getting a taxi as we just asked the front desk to get us one when we needed it. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Bathrooms are a bit odd with the all-glass enclosure (you can have privacy w/pull down shades) but it was not a big deal really. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    129
    36
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
87
26
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

At the end of queens road when turning into a small street just opposite one of the rare gay bars from hong kong you can find this hotel calling itself boutique hotel. Rooms are big but they are suite hotels with a neo kitchen and a very weird purple useless coach. Breakfast consist of dim sum with is ok and two kinds of dry bread cereals and hong kong style donuts . Sleep quality is ok but area of hotel is rely poor without anything interesting and many problems to get a taxi ride. It has been a nice experience to stay here but i think and know i can find much better deals in hong kong and enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Mercer Hotel has an excellent location. It is very close to Queens Road, where you can find and buy anything and only five minutes away from the MTR. The breakfast, although a bit colder, was nice and included in the rate, as well the internet usage. The only negative point is that, the hotel does not have a heating and the it was quite cold inside the room.

Room Tip: If you travel with small children it will be better to take one of the biggest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A small property but well located near the CBD offering good rates inclusive of breakfast. A very convenient hotel for leisure travellers; rooms are rather small but suites are well appointed and comfortable.

Room Tip: try to negotiate an upgrade to a suite for the price of a rom if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Very good hotel, well located, free internet, very prompt staff. My first visit to HK was very worried about room sizes etc....but this one was awesome. Very Happy would stay here again. Perfect for business travellers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Echoing other reviews of the Mercer's excellent location, cleanliness, design and comfort. Only slight negative: desk manager's heavy selling of a room upgrade. We did at least get to see the upgrade option before deciding. In my opinion, an upgrade to a suite is not worth the extra 440 HK/night that was asked. Suites are nice, but the standard rooms appeared to have the same layout, size and fittings except of course no sitting room area. And when we said no to the upgrade, he gave us one for free anyway!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I enjoyed my stay in Hong Kong, a superb City, and the location of the hotel meant I was able to walk to most of the places I need to fairly easily.

The staff were very courteous and helpful and could not have done more to make my stay better - however I was disappointed that walls were quite thing and whilst I was staying there must have been some refurbishment work taking place as throughout two days of my three day stay there was constant noises during the day - when I was trying to have a lie in.

Otherwise though I would recommend the hotel to anyone going to stay in HK.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mercer Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mercer Hong Kong

Address: No.29 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mercer Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercer delivers contemporary luxury and comfort with large spacious rooms in the fashionable up and coming Sheung Wan area. The new boutique hotel is only 1 minute from Sheung Wan MTR station, and within easy walking distance of Central’s prime business, shopping and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Mercer Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mercer Hotel Hong Kong
The Mercer Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mercer Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.