We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Too Bad means good? I dont think so!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mercer Hong Kong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Mercer Hong Kong to your Saves list
The Mercer Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.29 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China (Sheung Wan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
UAE
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not Too Bad means good? I dont think so!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Stayed at The Mercer in November 2011, The hotel is in a quiet area but close to IFC and Central Hong Kong. The welcome/arrival was not great, no transpiration arranged (booked in advance), front office staff rude and a bit unorganized. No all of them are speaking well English. The building is new with some constructions in progress (pool area), lifts are nice and rooms as well. I booked a suite with separate kitchen and living area, including mini bar, WIFI and complimentary breakfast. I love the bathroom, well designed and organized. The bed is comfortable, facing the LCD 42’’ TV, I must say that the TV is a bit to low compared to the bed, once you are in the bed you can’t watch the TV properly. Rooms are cleaned every day by Housekeeping staff, Breakfast was poor, small indoor area with a poor selection of food. Service staff is not friendly and the overall atmosphere in the room is inappropriate and cold. Is not an Hotel for Family due to the high number of “accompanied ladies” in the area. For a couple of nights on business trip is ok and a good alternative to a “branded” hotel such Four Seasons……

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengagnes, Public Relations Manager at The Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thanks for your comments to The Mercer. Our breakfast is served in buffet style, which includes selection of bread, muffins, fruits, cold cuts, salad, cereals and juice, as well as hot items such as scrambled egg, sausages and Chinese dim sum served in a chafing dish. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    129
    36
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
87
26
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is new, the decor is modern and trendy. The room is of excellent size for HK. Very confortable and high tech.
We had breakfast included in our rate. It was ok. Basic, nothing special. 2 sorts of fruit (melon and watermelon, always), 2 juices (not freshly squeezed), some bread and cheese, cereals, yogurt and some chinese dumplings.
Besides this, I totally recomend it!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengagnes, Public Relations Manager at The Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thanks for your comments to The Mercer. Our breakfast now is served in buffet style, which includes selection of bread, muffins, fruits, cold cuts, salad, cereals and juice, as well as hot items such as scrambled egg, sausages and Chinese dim sum served in a chafing dish. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Centrally located, but tucked in a backstreet, like all 'hidden gems' should be, this beautiful slick friendly city hotel epitomises my first choice hotel formula.

Be prepared for the sights and sounds of the old city (not a fraction of the original, but authentic). Who wants a theme-park? Taxis may not find it without GPS, and you'll get lost looking for it even after a couple of days, but each turn brings a new restaurant or unexpected vista.

Clean bright modern rooms and clean bright modern proud staff with service but not servility make you feel at home and welcomed.

Room Tip: book early - it's going to get busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengagnes, Public Relations Manager at The Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thanks for your comments to The Mercer. Situated between the business district and old city in Hong Kong, The Mercer is perfect for guests who are interested in learning the heritage of Hong Kong. Moreover, the hotel is surrounded by an abundance of local restaurants and bars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel inbetween flights. The hotel opened a number of months ago and is fairly typical of the boutique genre that is currently sweeping Hong Kong. Based in the "old" (and therefore more atmospheric) part of Hong Kong but very centrally placed, the upper floors offer good views over the surrounding buildings. We were upgraded to a suite, which basically meant that tacked on to the bathroom/bedroom arrangement, there was a galley-style kitchen and a sitting area. Our general impressions were that it was clean and well laid-out.

Compared to European rooms, space is tight, which I understand is a Hong Kong trait, but we had a large very comfortable bed that more than did after flying in from the UK. What really impressed about the room was the ingenious use of space that allowed more than adequate hanging as well as an iron and board. The use of glass partitions helped maintain the feeling of space.

The hotel also offers a buffet breakfast, which again, helped set one up for the day. We had booked the hotel on one of the many booking websites and paid about £150 per room per night. Research suggested that this appeared to be average for this type of hotel. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengagnes, Guest Relations Manager at The Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for praising The Mercer. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, England
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

I stayed in the Mercer for 3 nights in a suite room. The hotel is in Central, but in a quiet street - easy for access to the underground or walking to the waterfront and the quays. Everything is just walking distance. An excellent base for Central. Rooms are very spacious, clean and well equipped. The huge bed was really comfortable. For such good rooms and central location, the hotel is very reasonably priced. Free wifi. The Mercer is a sister hotel of the Lang Kwai Fong Hotel just round the corner. I would definitely stay here again.
Dont bother with breakfast as it just comes on a tray and is pretty useless. Just go to one of the many nearby cafes.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get upgraded to a suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengagnes, Public Relations Manager at The Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thanks for your comments to The Mercer. Located in the major business district in Hong Kong, The Mercer is covered by an excellent transportation network with MTR, bus stations and Macau Ferry Terminal.

Our breakfast is served in buffet style, which includes selection of bread, muffins, fruits, cold cuts, salad, cereals and juice, as well as hot items such as scrambled egg, sausages and Chinese dim sum served in a chafing dish. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Great location in Central – only a short walk from Sheung Wan station. There is a courtesy bus, or it’s only a quick cab drive away from Hong Kong station if you arrive there from the airport (make sure you have the address for the cab driver, as it’s a bit hard to find).

This is a great hotel if you want to stay near Soho/Hollywood Road – although the location might not be for everyone as it is on a busy, small street slightly away from the main shops.

The rooms are comfortable, large for Hong Kong and a nice modern design. In the suite there is a small kitchen, with coffee machine and some free drinks in the fridge. Wireless was also free, and worked well.

There were only two rooms on our floor, and the view is great out to the high rises of Central.

They served a nice breakfast, which was included in the price. The pool was hard to find – and small – so don’t choose the hotel based on doing a lot of swimming.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengagnes, Public Relations Manager at The Mercer Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thanks for your comments to The Mercer. In addition to complimentary Wifi internet access and minibar, local calls and breakfast are also free of charge. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I booked this property based on 4 star reviews and its new construction. The hotel is located in a quiet, perhaps too quiet, area of Hong Kong. While only a 15 minute walk to many sites it's not for the unseasoned American traveler. The rooms are fine, but don't expect 4 or 5 star services. I checked out a day early after being grossed out by sewage in my toilet flush. When I left I asked the front desk about the problem and he shrugged that they maybe were doing maintenance on the system. There was no apology and I left one day short of a prepaid visit eating my third night but happy to leave.

Room Tip: The rooms were OK. Beware that they will try and pressure you to upgrade. I was given a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mercer Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mercer Hong Kong

Address: No.29 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mercer Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercer delivers contemporary luxury and comfort with large spacious rooms in the fashionable up and coming Sheung Wan area. The new boutique hotel is only 1 minute from Sheung Wan MTR station, and within easy walking distance of Central’s prime business, shopping and dining locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Mercer Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mercer Hotel Hong Kong
The Mercer Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mercer Hong Kong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.