We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible and never again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron Indian Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Saffron Indian Restaurant
Wing On Plaza, UG/Floor # 1 62 Mody Road, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)
852-27241007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,145 of 4,640 Restaurants in Hong Kong
Cuisines: Indian
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Tsim Sha Tsui
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Horrible and never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

I'll keep it short. I'd you want to waste your hard earned money on lousy food that is over priced in a restaurant that is dated and run down and if you want horrible service go here. To top it all there was a loud card session happening behind curtains to screw up our meal even more.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    2
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
india
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“good indian food....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

good indian veg food is served here with nice staff & good ambience.it is situated in nice location near tst east station.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Little India”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Fab location near Avenue of Stars inside Wing-on Plaza. AUthentic Punjabi food topped with lassi and papad. Good service.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Indian near the Kowloon Shangri-La”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Fancied a change of pace after a few days of chinese food so went to the Saffron. Excellent food. They have a great selection of food and wine to choose from. We had a starter and a main and it was delicious. Would recommend it.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I tried this resturant because of all the great reviews. When we arrived, the resturant was very empty with quite a dull atmosphere. The menu was good with a wide variety of dishes to choose from and we received complimentary popodums however it is very overpriced. It is more expensive then some of the better indian resturants on the Island with prime locations. My husband's Lamb Bhuna curry was around hk$153 alone.
We ordered 2 starters, 2 curry's, bread & rice. Our starters were good but nothing special and not worth the price. Our mains came shortly after and they gave us the wrong curry, they took it back into the kitchen and replaced it with the correct curry which I ordered however my rice had gone cold by then and was not replaced. As I was about to tuck into my curry there was a big thick black hair poking out of my paneer which totally put me off eating it.
I left the curry and when the waitress came over the conversation went like this.....
(me)'There is a hair in my curry' (waitress)'Are you not going to eat your curry'
(me)'No.....there is a hair in it' (waitress) 'I know'
She took the curry away with no appology.
They brought the bill shortly after and I was not charged for the hairy curry but even without this the bill was still more expensive then other indian resturants we go to in Hong Kong

I was very disappointed with this resturant as I have read all the good reviews and was looking forward to trying it. I thought the service was poor and the food was very overpriced. I will not be returning.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Indian Restaurant also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Saffron Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.