We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jersey Shore in Hong Kong” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sai Kung

Sai Kung
Sai Kung District, New Territories East, Hong Kong, China
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #16 of 409 attractions in Hong Kong
Type: Neighborhoods
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sai Kung is a small fishing village with picturesque boats, beaches and mountain scenery. The fresh seafood is plentiful and there are many dining options and wine bars along the seaside promenade. A day at the beach here makes for a nice change of pace from Hong Kong.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Jersey Shore in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Most people think of Hong Kong as one large city, but as seen from the plane flying into Hong Kong Airport the island is large and along with the surrounding "old-territories" some truly vast amounts of undeveloped open space. What catches your eye is the myriad of small sea harbours that face the sea. Sai Kung is one such area. Connections from Hong Kong are a bit tricky, but all doable and fun. The MTR gets you on your way with a few quick changes and then you jump on one of the many small buses that will take you out to Sai Kung. Sai Kung itself is a small fishing village with lots of small shops and restaurants, but what makes it so lovely is the atmosphere, views and smells of the sea. The Hong Kong Scout Association has a large Leadership Outdoor Training Centre located across the bay. From there trails cut up and around the peninsula making it possible to do a pretty neat trek from Sai Kung itself.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    140
    22
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Eh”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I expected Sai Kung to be much nicer, more relaxed. It wasn't. Busy and kind of dirty and the main square left a LOT to be desired. Get some green space!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful little spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I went on a Sunday with my HK host/friend , and was quite pleased. It is right on the water- so much so, you can buy live fish off of the boats on the dock. The scenery was beautiful and it was another time when I felt that humans are the same everywhere you go. It was a very pleasant experience and the fresh seafood at the restaurant was fantastic.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Best seafood in Hong Kong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have a friend visitng Hong Kong from Japan for three nights few months ago and this is the place I brought them for dinner. Swimming fishes and all sorts of live seafood everywhere should impress every tourist. No seafood place in all countries I have visited come remotely close to being comparable to this area.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“See another side to Hong Kong!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We actually stay with family here when we come to Hong Kong. It's easy to get to using the mtr and buses. And well worth some time away from the city! Little markets, fantastic fish restaurants, a beach, water excursions, this really does have it all. And it's so different to the hustle and bustle of the city!

It's changed so much since I first came here 9 years ago. There's a lot more ex pats here now, and a lot more dogs! But it's a nice area, with lots of streets to explore, and plenty of people that speak VERY good English to help if you need it. Please do come spend a day here to see another side to this amazing region!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sai Kung also viewed

 

Been to Sai Kung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sai Kung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sai Kung to your Saves list