We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like China Harbour than HK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sai Kung

Sai Kung
Sai Kung District, New Territories East, Hong Kong, China
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$1,615*
and up
6-Day Best of Southern China Private Tour: Hong...
Ranked #15 of 394 Attractions in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 502 Reviews
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sai Kung is a small fishing village with picturesque boats, beaches and mountain scenery. The fresh seafood is plentiful and there are many dining options and wine bars along the seaside promenade. A day at the beach here makes for a nice change of pace from Hong Kong.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“More like China Harbour than HK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were lucky enough to be staying with friends who live in Sai Kung otherwise it's unlikely that we would have ventured our of HK Island. What an interesting place. Getting an octopus card for the metro and buses is a must and very cheap. If you get a metro to Hang Hau and then the 101M bus straight into Sai Kung, it will take just over an hour. The place has oodles of fish restaurants all where you chose what you want and they cook it for you. The place f
Eels much more like local CHina and is a breath away from the big city. A great contrasting experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    181
    32
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A world away from HK bustle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent a day kayaking around Sai Kung islands, it was great. We stopped at various islands along the way and had a swim, drink and sunbathe. Afterwards we ate at a lovely seafront fish restaurant and watched the sunset .Sai Kung is a wonderful place, one that alot of tourists never get to see, an escape from all the crowds and a true gem of HK.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great half day or day trip from HK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We got a taxi from Kowlooon to Sai Kung and the cab only took about 30 minutes and was very reasonably priced. Sai Kung is a relaxed fishing village right on the water overlooking islands and various peninsulas so the water is very calm. We lunched at a great restaurant about 10 minutes walk from the taxi rank (turn left when you get to the water) ...I can't recall the name but its just past BBQ King. Great seafood meal including crab and prawns and a few beers for 4 adults and cost $Aus100.

We organised for a boat to take us around the small islands for about half an hour but you could swim, go for a longer boat ride, rent kayaks, go fishing. Would be great for families as well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A different side of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Over the years I've been to Hong Kong at least 15 times, always travelling with family. As I grew older and trust in my independence increased, I was allowed to stray from the family more and more (I'm 20 now)
One of my old friends lived in Hong Kong for 10 years and I happened to be there when he was so we went to Sai Kung where he used to live.
WOW! It's a totally different aspect of Hong Kong, a quaint and beautiful fishing village. The local sea produce was stunning, stacked up in fish tanks. The views were lovely and it was nice to see Hong Kong, a city I've grown up in, from a new perspective.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Retains charm and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Sai Kung town, which now has a population of about 13,000 was a small undeveloped fishing village until the fishing industry declined in the 1970’s and many fishermen moved into other businesses such as fish farming, eco tourism and seafood restaurants. A major reclamation project between 1978 and 1993 led to subsequent development of new buildings, shops, promenade, piers, public swimming pool and other facilities. Improvements to roads and public transport have seen the town grow to become a commuter town popular with ex-pats but the town still retains much of its old charm and fishing village atmosphere. The colourful harbour is always a hive of activity and sampans line the promenade selling catches of seafood direct to the public and local seafood restaurants.
The plan was to have lunch at one of the many fish restaurants along the promenade, where you can choose your own fish from the tanks, or even direct from the fishermen, then discuss with the waiters how you would like your choices cooked. (Text taken from my Travel Tales blog where you will find more photos)

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sai Kung also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Sai Kung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sai Kung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.