We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hong Kong version of outlet mall” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tung Chung

Tung Chung
North of Lantao Islands District, New Territories West, Hong Kong, China
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 394 Attractions in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 stars 36 Reviews
Type: Historic Sites, Neighborhoods, Cultural
Attraction details
Sterling, Il
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hong Kong version of outlet mall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We had a few hours to fill in the afternoon while staying by the airport. The facility was modern and nice. It was an okay shopping venue. It had a little of everything from clothes to wine to groceries. The wine shop was very high end. Some of the store had good prices others were more high end. Worth a visit, but nothing special.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    22
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Worldwide
Top Contributor
620 reviews 620 reviews
302 attraction reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
606 helpful votes 606 helpful votes
“A transit node.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

For me, the most useful aspect of Tung Chung is its public transit transfer node.

When one can travel on the MTR for $2, and find connectivity to be somewhat better on the Tung Chung line than on the Airport Express, changing here between airport local buses and the Tung Chung Line may take place once in awhile.

The mall adjacent to the bus/MTR interchange is promoted as an outlet mall, with all the disadvantages that come with that territory (if one is familiar with the "industry" built up around "outlet malls"). Nevertheless, it could be handy to stop for a bite or a cuppa.

If I worked at the airport, or for an airline based out of here, would I stay in Tung Chung? Maybe.. Though I read that residents hope to get the Tung Chung line extended for one more station. That idea makes sense to me.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
635 reviews 635 reviews
278 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
“Convenient MTR...great area for sightseeing & outlet shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014 via mobile

Tung Chung is at the base of the Ngong Ping 360 cable car to the Big Buddha, Po Lin Monastery and Grand Hall of Ten Thousand Buddhas (among more). The MTR come out right at the outlet shopping mall and and area that has many restaurants (chains...not local places).

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
465 reviews 465 reviews
175 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
344 helpful votes 344 helpful votes
“Go for the cable car and the outlet mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

At the end of the MTR ride you find what seems like a quieter version of Hong Kong, still high rises, but way more mellow. We came across Tung Chung on our way to the Big Buddha and on the return trip we had to stop by the city gate outlet mall. Beware, this mall is full of people from the airport, so be prepared to stumble over their luggage.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outlet shopping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

Massive shopping centre full of outlet stores - a shoppers paradise. Not for me! My son enjoyed looking in the Nike, Adidas and other such stores.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tung Chung also viewed

Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
Hong Kong, Hong Kong Region
 

Been to Tung Chung? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tung Chung, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.