We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel with nice, professional staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel ICON to your Saves list
Hotel ICON
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% OFF+Free 3G data WiFi
Ranked #4 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“great hotel with nice, professional staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

i stayed in this hotel with a friend in february 2013. we thought it was great. sure, it's not the most centrally located hotel, but it was still pretty easy to get there. and, once you are there, there are shuttles and it's within walking distance to nathan road. the room was spacious with a fantastic bathroom. the wifi and the free minibar were definitely nice touches. we never ate in the hotel so can't comment on the food.

while i was in hong kong, i fell and broke my arm. the hotel staff were incredibly kind in helping us find a nearby hospital to go to. in fact, they didn't recommend the closest hospital, but rather recommended a hospital a bit farther away that they thought was better.

i wouldn't hesitate to stay in this hotel again. i thought it was great, good value (for hong kong) and really nice and professional staff.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear lisach,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel ICON.
We were thrilled to welcome you as our guest. It was such a pleasure to read that you were so impressed with our team during your stay here in February this year.
We continuously strive to create a truly memorable experience for you, our guest. Your kind words let us know we are succeeding, so from all of us thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the travelling community.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future, please feel free to contact me directly and I'm happy to assist with accommodation requirements.
With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,507
    400
    67
    16
    14
See reviews for
401
1,394
178
458
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Having just arrived from the Hyatt regency in Sha Tin, the staff at the Icon were fantastic to begin with. My wife checked in whilst I was at a pub watching the rugby. When I arrived to greet my wife at the lobby, all staff were so fantastically pleasant it really just made my afternoon. That's not where the surprises needed either.
The hotel is beautifully designed. Being an architect, i can appreciate the feel of a great quality hotel and this was definitely one of them. The frameless view at the end of the corridor when approaching your room was a sneak preview of what was to come. Although the room is smallish, the layout and setup is superb. The bed is positioned with full view of this spectacular harbour which glistens with neon lights in the night, and settles amongst mountainsides in the day. Wow. The tv is positioned perfectly for a layback with a number of channels from around the world (including the afl!). The bathroom is beautifully designed with a great looking sink bowl and sharp fittings. The bath has a flat glass panel tv for relaxing with a glass of wine and some sport. Lets not forget the free mini bar either!
This place is a must for anyone looking for a fresh vibe in the city. Its cool, beautiful and plush. Definitely will be back in our travels sometime.

Room Tip: You cannot go past a harbour view room. Worth the treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Fernando B,
I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Hotel ICON and how highly you valued our product and service. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team and I look forward to welcoming you here on your next visit.
Kind regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Nice modern and design atmosphere and ambience, people always smiling and friendly. The hotel is in a very good position for Kowloon visiting and shopping. Perhaps the restaurant's menu is not very rich but anyway good. Fitness room and swimming pool wanderful! I recommend it ! Andrea

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Cunelot,
Thank you so much for giving us a lovely feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay, our staff really appreciate your kind comments.
We hope we see you again at the hotel soon and do let me know if I can help with future stays.
With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I spent 2 nights in june and i absolutely loved it. i had a room with a harbour view. you just cant get enough! very clean with modern furniture. the bed was awesome, the bathroom very modern with great products. room service was excellent, fast check in and check out, people always smilling and willing to help you. i have chosen it because of the ranking in Trip advisor and i was very happy with my choice. highly reccomend it!

Room Tip: choose a room with a harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Ifigenia D,
Thanks for your fantastic feedback regarding your experience at ICON.
When you book your next stay with us please drop us an email and we will take care of your booking.
With warm regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Icon in February this year when our family from the USA came to visit and we had a very enjoyable stay in our two rooms - we definitely planned to return when our family from England came to visit this summer. This is where disappointment really kicks in...

We contacted the hotel last week to book two rooms - each for 2 adults and 1 child (1 child age 3 in our room and 1 child age 14 in the other room). We wanted the same rooms as last time as they were spacious and the views over the harbour were beautiful at night. Unfortunately, we were told that because of the (ridiculous) child policy at the hotel, whilst one of us could book the room we wanted, my other family with the older child could only book a very expensive suite! Crazy! I have stayed at the MO, Shangri-la and Langham in HK with visiting family and have never been forced to book a suite with extortionate extra person charges before. The reservations person who contacted me last week was very enthusiastic in letting me know that the suite came with club lounge benefits - wonderful; half of our family group could eat and drink WITHOUT the other half for our family reunion. I emailed the reservations department back and informed Daisy that I was disappointed the hotel could not accommodate my booking and the one line reply was - sorry you are disappointed, have a nice day. Wow. So I guess we will return to the Shang or maybe try out the Conrad this time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My fourth hotel and fourth city in less than a week, so there was a risk of Hotel- lag when I arrived; but I was impressed by the friendly check-in, even in this era of professional hospitality management. The room was very comfortable; an automatic upgrade without asking, free I-Fi, free mini- bar, spectacular Harbour views if we averted our eyes from the industrial area just before the water edge. We dined n the Chinese restaurant on the 28th floor. Certainly a quality place, with great service. Expensive. Not exactly my bet Chinese meal ( I've been living in China for 3 years s have been spoilt), but a restful experience. Booked a day -trip at very short notice which showed good flexibility. In short, a good place for a comfortable stay. Worth the expense.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Kevin O,
Thank you for choosing Hotel ICON for your visit. Your kind words regarding our team, and everything during your stay lets us know that this ethos has led us to meet your high expectations.
Let me know personally if I can assist with your travel arrangements next time.
We very much look forward to your next visit.
With all good wishes,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I was part of a group of ten attending the annual partners meeting for our network. It was partly business and largely social. Needed a place to relax, let some refreshing stay help us discover new ideas and bring about change. Icon, provided the perfect background, with a comfortable stay, excellent hospitality and more importantly, their concern and equal treatment to each member of our large business leader group was truly a learning and cherishing experience. Each member of the staff was great and the Angsana just adds to the surprise it created for us.

Earlier stays of mine in hotels of Hong Kong for business proved extremely cold, but this one is good for business, eating in TSS and also business on the Wan Chai. Truly stand testimony to its name, an ICON in HK.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than day, enjoy both the views, City and the Bay. Also, the wifi and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Hatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear srarun,
We are humbled by your compliments and are truly delighted that you enjoyed ICON in your own special way. We will never sit still and will constantly strive to improve what we do.
Please let me know personally if you are coming back and I’m happy to assist with your booking.
With best personal regards,
Richard Hatter
general.manager@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ICON, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.