We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel to stay in” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel ICON to your Saves list
Hotel ICON
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% OFF+Free 3G data WiFi
Ranked #4 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel to stay in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a very good business hotel, it comes with free wifi and the rooms are spacious for Hong Kong. The service is very good. We got upgraded from a normal room to delux. Although, the hotel is futher away from the major shopping mall like Habour city but they provide a free shuttle bus to Habour city and also one of the train station. Staff are very friendly and speaks good English.
Our flight was later in the evening, we were provided a key to the spa, so we can have a shower before flying out from Hong Kong to Perth.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Melikueh,

Our team is deeply passionate about providing each and every one of our guests a memorable experience and so we are always thrilled to receive such positive feedback. We were particularly pleased that you mentioned the friendliness team our team here and appreciated the upgrade.
I have already passed along your kind words and they are deeply appreciated.

Hope to welcome you back again.
Best,
Richard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,511
    400
    67
    16
    14
See reviews for
401
1,396
178
460
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have just stayed 8 nights at Hotel Icon & it would have to be the best hotel I have ever stayed in.
I stayed in a harbour view room which had a great outlook especially at night when the laser show was on.
My room was very comfortable & had everything needed for a great stay. The room was spotlessly clean. The housekeeping was excellent, was always nice to return at the end of the day to a nice clean room!
The breakfast at the market was always a great start to the day. Great choices & wonderful staff.
The shuttle bus is a a great service & seemed to always be there whenever we decided to go out.
We ate a couple of nights in the hotel for dinner both at the Green Cafe & The Market. The bill was very reasonable & the food and service of a very high standard.
I found all staff I encountered were so friendly and helpful. It was always nice returning to the hotel and being so warmly greeted and welcomed back! Leaves very happy memories.
I would not hesitate to stay here again and will certainly recommend this hotel. The staff are to be commended for their professional and heartwarming service they provide to their guests.

Room Tip: Book a Harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Ronnane10

Firstly I would like to thank you for writing a review following your recent stay with us.

I appreciate these things take time and wanted to extend our gratitude, your willingness to offer feedback is both valued and useful.

We are delighted to read that you so enjoyed our location and our team looked after you so well.
Our chefs at The Green, Market and Above and Beyond have recently dedicated a lot of time to create new menus, so we are so glad to read that you enjoyed your breakfast and other meals.

Thank you for choosing Hotel ICON it was our pleasure to have you as our guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Richard Hatter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel,nice helpful staff.its a little ways away from the business of Hong Kong ,but they run a shuttle that works well,and the transportation system is very good.most buy the octopus card and travel is very easy .

Room Tip: We had a room over looking harbor which was very nice.we got bottle of wine the first night and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Jay3334,
Thanks very much indeed for choosing us for your stay in Hong Kong and for taking time to write a complimentary review.
Much appreciated.
With all good wishes,
Richard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was magnificent! Well worth reviewing!

The rooms are awesome and the facilities are amazing!

At check in, a staff member takes you to your room and goes through all the features of the room. We were bought on a higher floor and given a bottle of red wine with a card signed by all in the customer service team when we explained we were on our honeymoon!

We had breakfast in the buffet most days, although it seemed rather expensive it usually got us through from breakfast to dinner.

We used the spa on level 9 which was amazing. We went for the duet package and it was perfect for us on honeymoon.

We had a small problem connecting to the wifi on the third day and we called for help. We explained we were off to dinner in the Market buffet (one of there amazing restaurants) in ten minutes and unbeknown to us a staff member came to the restaurant and sorted out our iPhones on the wifi! We certainly did not expect that level of assistance!

We asked what they could do about a late check out and they allowed us to stay till 1.30pm which was brilliant!

On check out, they kept our bags for us and when we were tired and couldn't wonder around anymore they ave us access to a small lounge on level 9 which has lounges, tea, coffee, refreshments and newspapers so we could rest our weary bodies until it was time to leave Hong Kong.

Loved Hong Kong!! Loved icon hotel!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear alfraser83,
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for sharing your experiences with others. It is so encouraging to our team to hear such positive comments like yours.

We are looking forward to welcoming you both back again soon for another memorable stay.
Do feel free to email me directly at gm@hotel-icon.com if I can assist with any travel arrangements.

Kind Regards,

Richard Hatter
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Probably one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. When we arrived we were met at the car and escorted to our room where check in was completed. We had a club suite with fantasic views over Victoria harbour, and which also gives you access to the lounge. Recommend you go for this option as the lounge is great for breakfast and cocktails in the evening. However the standout for Hotel Icon is the customer service....ever single member of staff was fantastic, and couldnt do enough for you. We had one problem during our stay, came back one day,the door lock on our room had failed and we couldnt get in. Duty Manager, Joey, handled the situation very professionally, once it was obvious the problem couldnt be fixed quickly we were offered another room, and given assistance to move. Also recommend "Above and Beyond" restaurant, food and service were outstanding. Very well done to Management and staff for a great experience.

Room Tip: Go for one of the Club Suites if you can, great room with amazing views and access to the club loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear ElginBarnster,

Thank you for choosing Hotel ICON for such a special occasion.
It was lovely to read that you thought so highly of our team. Your praise of the food in Above and Beyond Lounge and Restaurant means a lot to us, our chefs in particular, they work tremendously hard to ensure your food is the highest quality. Our entire team, in fact, is passionate about enhancing your experience in any way that we can. So we would all like to thank you for your kind words.

Lastly we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Richard Hatter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle,wa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We book ended our trip to Asia by staying at this hotel in Hong Kong at the beginning and end of our trip. The hotel has excellent service and the rooms were pretty good size and clean and comfortable. The hotel is modern, in good condition and is in a fairly good location. It's a bit of a walk to the main central areas (doable if you have time and energy), but they offer a free shuttle every 20 minutes as well. Get there early to get a seat on this small shuttle bus. There is also a subway stop close by but it's not on a main line. You'll need to do a transfer to get to some of the main locations. The subway is very easy to use, safe and fast. The staff stored some of our luggage for us for a week until we came back which was easy enough to do. We found the staff to be helpful and eager to assist.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear seetheworld26

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit. We greatly appreciate you sharing your expereince with the travelling community. We were thrilled to welcome you and you both had a good time. I have passed on your wonderful review to our team to enjoy. We are all dedicated to ensuring every guest, big or small, has a truly memorable so it was a pleasure to read that you thought so highly of us.

It was such a pleasure to read that our location in breezy Science Museum / Mody Rd Kowloon, a short walk from many the wonderful exhibits on Museum Row, the Avenue of Stars, excellent eateries off Mody Road and theso many other attractions - were thrilled this was so perfect for you. The convenient transport links gives you Hong Kong on your doorstep without the congestion and rush of being more touristy areas near Nathan and Canton Road.

We hope to welcome you and you and your loved ones back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Richard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Don't hesitate, book a room here. Great service, wonderfully appointed rooms, beautiful rooms. I stayed in a Club floor Harbour View 36 for 4 nights, they let me into the room at 7:30 am when my plane landed, and they could not have been more lovely and attentive. Small things -- the NESS coffee maker in the room with milk(!), turn down service that restocked the mini bar, etc. -- made my stay at the Hotel Icon one of my best hotel stays in recent memory. Usually on trips like this I don't spend as much time in the hotel as I did (I'm usually out all day), but I hurt my foot and could not walk as much as I wanted to. I was so delighted to have the Club floor to go to after breakfast for a pot of tea while I planned my day, for Afternoon Tea as I rested my foot, or for a drink & surprisingly abundant & hot appetizers in the evening.

I know they take notes, but the fact that the different concierges who were sitting at the Club Floor desk inquired about my foot, asked if I needed ice, etc, made me feel cared for instead of anonymous.

The only have two "complaints": first, the elevator is extremely slow, and takes a long time to arrive, so give yourself a couple of extra minutes to get places (this is an issue, for example, if you are racing to catch the 10:00 shuttle; still, there is another one at 10:20.) And the television over the bathtub is at such an angle that you cannot see it when you are sitting in the tub. But I could live with this. :)

Don't hesitate for a nano-second to stay here.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a Club floor room -- very good value for the money, if you are going to be around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radhatter, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Riki_PaoloAlto

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of us here at Hotel ICON. We always welcome feedback and the opportunity to improve ourselves. It was such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the team.

We were disappointed, however, to read your account regarding your experience with the speed of the elevators. I will thoroughly investigate why and see why this happened. I will also see if we can tilt the bath-TV screen angle a bit more.

I can only apologise for any inconvenience caused by this and hope that should you be returning to Hong Kong you will contact me directly on Richard.Hatter@hotel-icon.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ICON, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.