We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ICON

Save Saved
You added Hotel ICON to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel ICON
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
"BOOKDIRECT" upto 35% OFF
Ranked #2 of 645 hotels in Hong Kong
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just spent 6 nights at Hotel ICON. Amazing property, great service and amenities. It was of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed at. We had a suite with wrap around windows, a gorgeous bathroom, huge seating area. There was a complimentary mini-bar, lots of water bottles placed throughout the room each day, lovely amentities.
We were on the floor that included lounge access which had fantastic breakfasts and lovely cocktails each evening.
The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.
The location was very central in Kowloon. It was about a 15 minute walk to the Star Ferry or you could take the complimentary hotel shuttle which ran frequently.
The concierge was very helpful with all of our reservations and directions.
We were there on a leisure trip but this property would be perfect for business or leisure.
Enjoyed the wonderful gym and amazing outdoor pool.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2009. I think all 09 numbered room may be the larger ones. This one was amazing. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,929
    311
    54
    12
    9
See reviews for
311
1060
144
345
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a great value venue in HK...We loved our stay here, the only blot we wound up with a stomach bug from one of the restaurants...On balance though I think we would still come back again. Its not as conveniently located as the other hotels but still worth the extra effort

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels around the world and my husband at many more. Often in the pursuit of excellence 5 star hotels follow the same formula and whilst lavish blend into the same experience in a different city. Not so the Icon. From the moment we arrived it became obvious that some serious thought had gone into making this a different experience. We were met in the lobby by the gracious Lauren and escorted immediately to our room for check-in . Very welcome after a late flight . The design element of the hotel is stunning . The stand out for us were the enthusiastic and fresh staff- a marked contrast to the staff at The Langham ( our last stay in HK). The spa was first class and the gym well appointed. Whilst not situated in the heart of Kowloon shopping there is a complimentary bus operating every 20 mins.

Room Tip: Always go for the harbour view - even if you take a smaller room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is my 4th stay at this property rooms are still excellent, i have remove one star , why?
Wi-Fi did not work properly in the rooms keeps going down , the people are not friendly like before and house keeping very poor not clean enough, overall its still one of my fav hotel in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Have stayed in many many hotels around the world and this hotel is the BEST!!! The service from the moment we pulled into the drive way was polite, friendly and efficient. We splashed out and stayed in a club room which meant we were whisked off to the top floor for a personal checkin. We had green tea and fresh cold towels while filling in forms etc.
Had a great room for three days that had been very well thought out and the views were breath taking. The mini bar was included and stocked daily. Breakfast was also included and was an experience in its self. It's AMAZING! They have their own bakery in the restaurant, fruit bar with freshly squeezed juice. A cold and hot buffet filled with a great variety of both European and Asian food. Two chefs cooking eggs however you want them.
Cocktails were at 6 till 8 every night on the top floor looking out over Hong Kong island and you could have as many as you liked. Afternoon tea was from 4pm and although we didn't have any were told by others it was very good.
Had dinner one night and again the service and food were better than we'd ever had in a hotel.
Special thanks to the concierge who were fun, a little cheeky but very helpful.
Stay here if you can, it's well worth the money.

Room Tip: Stay in a club room, as it works out the same price as a normal one with breakfast and cocktails etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewBrunswick,Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We did china tour in july. Visited Hong kong in August .Booked this hotel after checking the reviews in Tripadvisor. Lived up to expectations. Recommend the harbour view, well worth the extra charge. You can enjoy the fireworks right from the hotel.

Room Tip: Recommend harbour view. Book in advance to get cheaper rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

More, Club from hell. I spend about 60 nights a year in 5 star places, always at Club level, and have never experienced worse. It was overcrowded, with mediocre food that looked and tasted like a poor quality deli, calm-destroying night club style music pumping out at a volume that precluded conversation, and a decor dreamt up by a hyperactice 8 year old. The crowning touch was a table at ancle height next to our (uncomfortable, but normal height) chairs. Perfect for putting feet on, but they shared it with drinks and food. The room was noisy, the expensive harbour view mostly of roof tops, and the room was cramped. It had one bath towel. When I pointed this out, instaed of an apology, the question was: Did we want two? Of course the promised newspaper did not turn up in the morning, but by that stage I was past caring.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelICON, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear 112358-12,

Thank you for your recent review of Hotel ICON. As an establishment who strives to exceed each and every one of our guest’s expectations we are sorry that on this occasion we have not fulfilled your requirements.

You specifically commented on our hotel Club lounge design and atmosphere. As I am sure you can appreciate, architecture and interior design will be perceived differently by each and every individual who encounters it. Our decor is contemporary and bespoke and although that may not be suited to your personal taste, the majority of our guests choose to stay at our hotel for the interior design alone. Our website is very visual in showing our guests exactly what each space looks like in order to help them to make an informed choice.
It is unfortunate that you found our staff's choice of response to your towel request inappropriate; we have taken your views into consideration and have briefed them accordingly.

We appreciate any feedback from our customers, so we are unsure as to why you did not approach any of the management team regarding your dissatisfaction.
We cannot deal with any problems if they are not brought to our attention. We would have been more than happy to deal with these issues had they been mentioned.

We value your custom and are sorry that you felt a disservice from us on this occasion.
All of your points have been taken into account and we will address each one of them.

Thank you for your feedback

With warm regards,

Richard Hatter
General Manager
Hotel ICON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ICON, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;