We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel ICON to your Saves list
Hotel ICON
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% OFF+Free 3G data WiFi
Ranked #4 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for two nights during my recent (24-27 September 2012) trip to HK and was not disappointed.

The hotel is conveniently located in TST East and has excellent transport links from the airport (Airport Express to Kowloon Station and complimentary shuttle bus from the station, no. K3) to the hotel.

Check-in was efficient and fast.

I stayed in the Club Harbour/City view room and it has all the usual amenities in a good hotel plus a coffee making machine, a blue ray disc player and 3-in-1 printer. Best of all, there is no charge for using the mini-bar.

A club room also allows one to use the Above and Beyond lounge located on the top floor.

I would recommend this hotel to those who are looking to try out a new hotel in HK. As this is a teaching hotel (where most of the staff are students in the hospitality course run by the adjoining polytechnic which also owns the hotel), a little patience is needed if things don't go your way but that did not happen while I was staying there.

Kudos to a well managed hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,507
    400
    67
    16
    14
See reviews for
401
1,394
178
458
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, CH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Located in East Tsim Sha Tsui East this new and stylish hotel was designed by known local designers. This is reflected amongst others in huge vertical gardens, a lot of open space especially in the lobby, the design of the rooms and even in the uniforms of the hotel´s staff. The hotel is cool, definitely.

Unfortunatetly we booked only a simple twin room facing the highway - nowhere near as impressive as the harbour view rooms. The size was OK but some of the furniture already showed certain signs of usage (scratches on the wood, etc.). What was more disturbing was that there was a clear smell of smoke in our room upon arrival eventhough it was advertised as a non-smoking room. Our complaint didn´t help much, however, it got much better the next day.

Service level was in general very good but not excellent. The lady checking us in was very cool and quite stressed, it seemed to us that the reception was slightly understaffed.

Location is good but if you want to be even more centrally located in Tsim Sha Tsui you might want to try the YMCA instead.

Clear pluses are the amazing outside pool (breathtaking harbour view) including a very well equipped gym and the great restaurants (not cheap but worth it). Especially the brunch buffet at The Market is just second to none... Absolutely amazing!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in July. Our room, although small, was comfortable and the shower was amazing! Views over the harbour were spectacular and worth the extra money. Although it's not centrally located everything's a short walk or there's also a free shuttle to other hotels which put you close to the shops/ferry. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is well set up for travellers that have a late flight with access to the pool and shower facilities after check out.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed at the ICON for two nights and found the room to be excellent but the service had room for improvement.

The good...
- large room, well appointed and clean
- free shuttle service to Harbour City
- views

The bad
- after having two good cocktails at Green our server seemed to leave without warning and the other server never came to our table despite numerous attempts to gain her attention. We had to go to the bar to request our bill as did other tables in the same area
- above and beyond lost our reservation, forgot to give us menus and then asked us to order dessert and coffee before our appetizer even arrived because the kitchen was going to close?! Very tacky..
- the scent in the entryway is very strong and overpowering

I would reccomend the hotel for the rooms but I would suggest dining elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelICON, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear smurfarita1

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfall you experienced while interacting with our service staff at GREEN.

We would like to kindly assure that these are not the norm or accepted standard at the hotel. I have personally briefed the team and shared your feedback.

Thank you again for having stayed with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hotel ICON!

Kind regards,

Richard Hatter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed overnight for our civil wedding in HK. The hotel is amazing aside from its affordability. Were happy for the upgrade from harbor view to club suite, but the tv from bedroom doesn't work and so we were downgrade from 18th to 11th floor. Then the in room dining took a long time for them to prepare just for salmon sandwich and two beer. The Next day in their breakfast buffet, the waiter are always passing us by and we need to call their attention just to have a coffee. I do understand that the hotel and staff are busy. But first, before they offer an upgrade they should make sure everything is fine and not leaving us hanging from expectations. Surely enough, the bed and the pillows are great to compensate their service. I'm a bit disappointed knowing I book the hotel from positive feedbacks on tripadvisor.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelICON, General Manager at Hotel ICON, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear michdpt,

Thank you for your feedback. I am most grateful for your comprehensive feedback and bringing these matters to our attention.

Sincere apologies for your room allocation, it is clear some work is required on that room in order to address the malfunction of the TV and we will see how this can be rectified so not to negatively impact any future guest.

In regards to your breakfast, it is clear that your experience fell far short of the level of service that we strive to achieve and would ask that you accept my apologies. We have briefed the team accordingly.

Thank you once again for your feedback, I apologize for the shortcomings during this stay and do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel ICON.

Kind regards,

Richard Hatter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I again stayed in this hotel on my recent visit to Hong Kong. It was right after opening of the hotel when I stayed last time. I was equally impressed with the hotel as in my first visit and I was immensely satisfied with services in the hotel. The hotel staff are all youthful, energetic, and attentive across all outlets I visited. Breakfast at The Market was excellent - I particularly liked the orange juice squeezer which has been added to the restaurant. Had dinner at the hotel's Chinese restaurant where I had a fantastic dish - Sichuan style prawn dish. Wallace recommended me an excellent glass of Shiraz which was an excellent company for the beautiful night view of Victoria Harbour. In my profession I have an opportunity to stay in some of the finest hotels in the world. Hotel ICON is definitely one of my best hotel. I spoke with two student interns Carmen and Bernice and I was impressed with caliber of the hotel school students associated with the hotel. Look forward to visiting again with my family on Xmas holiday.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels but this is by far the best one ever. Stylish, great rooms, many extras and an overall great experience. The staff are excellent at every level, they simply cannot do enough for you, whatever you ask.
The view from the Harbour view rooms is to die for, as are the comfort of the beds. Great bathrooms, with a TV above the taps and a lovely power shower.

Above and Beyond has a great bar and even better food.

Pool and gym are excellent also.

Most of all I love the little things like canvas bags to go shopping, the FREE mini bar, lovely turn down service and even chilled water on demand. I cannot recommend this hotel more and it will always be my location when I stay in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Get a Club Room for a great view and loads of free extras
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ICON, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.