We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond anything for the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel ICON to your Saves list
Hotel ICON
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 35% Enjoy US$217 up
Ranked #3 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Above and beyond anything for the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Hotel Icon gave us 5 star service in every way, and it was the least expensive option we looked at. We arrived early, and they gave us a temporary room to have a shower and a rest. Our 21st floor room had one of the best views in all of HK. The Market on the second floor has the best breakfast buffet I have ever seen, so by all means book a room including breakfast! This hotel is on the Kowloon side, but a taxi is just a few dollars to Hong Kong Island, and the views this side are far better. We loved it, and will come back over and over.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,228
    353
    57
    14
    13
See reviews for
355
1,224
162
407
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (881)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

It would be a pity to stay here and not enjoy all the amenities. My room was beautifully appointed, with the little things done nicely. Bathroom with rain shower was superb, especially as the humid weather meant a shower after any extensive trip outdoors. The pool was glorious, whether for a gentle swim, or to relax in the afternoon breeze. Service attentive without being obtrusive. Went to breakfast on two mornings, and enjoyed the delicious choice, and being able to relax and plan the day. dining room not quiet and calm, very restful.

Reading the reviews, yes, I'd upgrade to harbour view (at least) next time.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Like most of the other reviewers I found the Hotel ICON to live up to the expectations from Tripadvisor. As previously stated the rooms are not large but large enough and extreemly comfortable. We upgrade to a harbour view on the 17th floor and it was spectacular at night, by day you see the top of all the lower buildings. The bed was one of most comfortable I have found in any hotel and the bathroom was just about perfect. It had a "rain" shower as well as a normal hand held /fixed shower. The mirror was heated so it didn't fog up and it had a magnifying mirror as well. A trap for the unititiated, the lights go on automatically when you enter the room, however on the first day as entering I flipped what I thought was the light switch only to find out later when our room wasn't made up that it was the do-not-disturb sign. Fortunately they made the room up around 4.00pm. On the first night we went to the Above and Beyond restaurant, the food was good Chinese. We had two soups, one prawn dish and a beer and a wine, the total cost $700 HKD, around $90 AUD. even by Australian standards it is expensive. We checked out The Market and the buffet looked amazing, heaps of seafood and every possible type of meat and the desserts were spectacular. It cost around $60 AUD and if we had an appetite to do it justice I would have went.
Our package didn't include breakfast so rather than go the hotel buffet breakfast acros the road is a chinese restaurant, Tai Hing which serves a great chinese/western breakfast for around $28 HKD around $4 AUD. You get a bowl of noodles with cabbage plus scrambled eggs, ham, toast and a coffee, amazing! Also up Moby road is Delifrance and they also have a good breakfast for around $4 AUD. If you use the gym and one of the treadmills you can check out the internet or watch TV whilst overlooking the pool.
The East Tsim Sha Tsui bus depot and train station is also just up Moby road if you want to explore further.

Room Tip: The harbour view rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Had a one night stopover in HK and decided to stay at the Icon a try primarily to try out their harbour view rooms. I took the Airport Express train to Kowloon and then the complimentary bus from there to the hotel.

Check-in was expeditious and courteous. The view from my room was probably great, but as my luck would have it, it rained the whole night! The windows did not open at all, so no chance even to squeeze a camera lens through unfortunately, since the window glass was spattered with rain, making photography nigh impossible.

The room itself was very comfortably furnished and the king-sized bed was very comfortable indeed. The bathroom, somewhat funky in design, was very functional and had a nice big rainshower. Surprisingly the mini bar was complimentary, but disappointingly contained only soft drinks! A room service breakfast was delivered promptly, was of a high standard, and it was great to be able to dine sitting in front of the window enjoying the (still rainy) view.

I found the best rate through myhotelguru. When I go back again, apart from staying longer, I think I would definitely choose the Club room to be on a higher floor and have an even better harbour view. Hopefully it'll not be in the rainy season!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Honestly, I couldn't be happier with the service and our stay at the Hotel ICON.

My wife and I honeymooned in Paris with two nights in Hong Kong on the way home. We arrived in Hong Kong early in the morning and my wife wasn't well but the concierge was able to arrange an early check-in for us so she could get some rest.

From that point onwards it was clear we'd chosen the right place to stay. As it is, my wife talks more about the hotel in Hong Kong than our time in the city of love!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Our adult family group of three arrived after a long journey from London. Check in was seamless and it set the standard for a super three day stay. We booked the Club 36 City rooms and partook of the Above and Beyond Club privilages. I am coeliac and therefore needed a gluten free diet. Following request I received copy of the menus at the time of booking and so was fully informed as to food options before I travelled. I had no problem as the Club manager Nick was ever helpful in suggesting meal choices for me.
The breakfast was of a high standard and the evening canapes (together with my gluten free beef salad) were excellent also. One tip , get there on time as the coctail area fill up fast.
The shuttle bus is a great facility and where that does not cover the cheap taxis are an alternative. Plenty of circulation area in the hotel so being there for a period was relaxing. The pool was also very refreshing.
Well done Icon - it was worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Go for the 'Club' facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seatte
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The room was large and clean with an incredible view (see photo). The staff was very helpful. The living wall in the lobby, which extends into the bar, is lovely. The exercise facility is modern and also has an incredible view. The location is great. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ICON, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.