We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel ICON to your Saves list
Hotel ICON
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% OFF+Free 3G data WiFi
Ranked #4 of 691 Hotels in Hong Kong
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This is an impressive hotel in its technological advances, design, and level of service. They offered a transit lounge for those with late flights after check-out for guests to enjoy free refreshments, lounge in comfortable chairs, and amazing showers. The concierge was always well-staffed and were very helpful. The free shuttle was a great way to get to the train station and to the more exciting part of downtown TST. There was free wifi everywhere, even in the shuttle! We enjoyed the free minibar. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever experienced in a hotel. The breakfast buffet is worth a look, with a nice spread of fresh food. There are several inexpensive restaurants and food stalls within a short walk of the hotel. We wished we took advantage of the pool--it overlooked the harbor with an impressive view.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,506
    400
    67
    16
    14
See reviews for
401
1,393
178
458
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (985)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geoje, South Korea
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

When staying at hotels, often times it is the very same small things that bug me. I don't like being overcharged 30$ for a small bag of pretzels that cost 1$ when staying at a 300$ per night 5* hotel, it annoys me that I have to book an entire night just for a couple of hours when I have a late flight out (i.e. anything past standard international check out time of noon). Well it seems to me that when conceptualizing the ICON Honk Kong, they thought of everything: in your room you will find the usual toiletries and other amenities but also complimentary snacks and beverages. Flying out late? no need to book a room, just chill at the "timeless lounge" that comes with nice long chairs to lay down, complementary snacks and beverages (yes, again), a big screen TV with the latest blockbusters and an awesome view of the harbor. The pool is also a must with it's breathtaking view of the harbor and the Central district, the "Market" restaurant offered the best buffet dinner I have had in a very long time with all-you-can-eat lobsters, steaks, sashimi, french pastries, and other delicacies; and the "above and beyond" bar is the best spot to sip a drink and see Hong Kong from above (way above...)

If I have to write something that I did not like, I would say that despite the room being fancy and beautifully designed, the door (more of a sliding wooden panel) between the bedroom and the bathroom does no give enough privacy... Other than that, everything was absolutely impeccable. All in all this hotel is worth the buck.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view. And do book a room with a view of the harbor, it is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We love how spacious the room is which is spacious by any international standard let alone in the land scarce HK. And the bathroom was great if you ignore the poor design of the shower head which leaves the floor wet.

The staff try very hard and you really can't complain. Overall the minimalist design appeal to my husband and I. By the way, if you cross the road, there is this place that serves nice local breakfast items for the true local experience. There are a few similar stalls but look for the one with newspaper cuttings of movie star visits.

The only thing I need to highlight is that it is quite some distance to walk to the mtr. So in the end, we will take the hotel shuttle out in the morning and take the taxi back at night. Given how lazy I'm, this will be the only reason why I may not return to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We were lucky enough to book the club 80 suites during our stay during their grand opening. The staff were attentive and professional striving to meet our every need during our stay.

Room service meals were fantastic and quick. Happy hour drinks were wonderful on the club level. The executive day room and use of showers after check out was an absolute bonus with coffee, tea, snacks and movies available before your trip to the airport (after checking out!!!!).

Our suite was enormous with a complimentary mini bar and wonderful espresso machine (all complimentary!)

I cannot wait to return to the ICON.

Room Tip: Book the club 80 suites and enjoy the benefits that come along with the club membership
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend after a week long vacation visiting family in Manila. This hotel was great. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and ultra modern - especially the bathroom. The bed was comfy, mimi bar snacks were free, the lighting and electronics were high tech. The shuttle was punctual, convenient and had free wifi - as did the rest of the hotel. Location was great ... short walk to the harbour, close to restaurants and bars/nightlife, everything else a short shuttle ride away. We booked a harbour view room 19th floor and we flew in late and didn't have enough time to make it to the harbour to watch the symphony of lights so we watched it from the huge floor to ceiling windows of our room. This is definitely the place to stay for a more unique and trendy experience. They even gave us a credit so we could check out the above & beyond lounge for cocktails.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

The rooms are nice wish they had opening windows. The hotel is relatively new opened in 2011. The service is nice. Clean rooms. The location of the hotel is right in the heart of hong kong. The best part is that the mini bar is free. Had a awesome experience here.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Icon for 2 nights in February. The hotel is quite new and very modern. Our room was on a high floor as requested of a good size and very comfortable. The mini bar was slightly disappointing as neither of us like fizzy drinks or M&Ms. We were quite happy to walk to Nathan Road which took around 15 minutes; the hotel provide a shuttle bus which we used once. We ate in the Market Restaurant one evening and although the food was good it arrived a different times and plates cleared while one of us was still eating. We also had to ask for napkins. The 'Timeless' rooom on the 9th floor is a nice idea, if you check in early or have a late flight it's very nice to relax in. Complimentary beverages and fruit are provided. We could not take advantage of the nice pool area due to the weather.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ICON, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.