We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful fireworks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel ICON

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel ICON to your Saves list
Hotel ICON
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China (Tsim Sha Tsui)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 30% + Free Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 667 Hotels in Hong Kong
northamptonshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful fireworks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Excellent hotel wonderful views of the harbour. Our room on the 14th floor was very large with a hi spec bathroom. Our visit coincided with natinal day so we had a wonderful view of the fireworks from our room best I have ever seen. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
A good location. definitly stay again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,070
    332
    57
    14
    11
See reviews for
331
1,139
151
374
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Hotel Icon is run and owned by the university next door and uses it as a way to train staff in a live environment. It is a wonderful way to breed a great culture and this showed through the stay we had.

Hotel Icon is about half the price of some of the top Hotels in HK and over delivers in comparison. Staff cannot do enough for you. The mini bar is free. The showers and rooms are amazing. The views are brilliant (go for a Harbour view). IF you can stretch go for the 'Above and beyond' package as they do free cocktails and canapes everynight from 6-8pm.

We got a late check out - 2pm (unheard of) then as our flight wasnt until late they have a 'timeless' lounge which is equivalent to a club airport lounge you can use until you want to leave.

We were also welcomed back up at Level 28 above and beyond for free cocktails even though we checked out at 2pm...(WOW)

The location is a little further out of the way than some other hotels in Kowloon and so a walk to Ocean Terminal/Nathan road takes about 10-15 mins. But then you also get the benefit of experiencing the city on foot.

We were also given a credit for laundry each day and therefore came home with clothes all washed at no expense! In addition the room had a superb view of the harbour skyline.

Breakfast was beautiful everyday with full buffett which was high quality.

My partner loved the pillow menu so she could choose the pillows she wanted.

Overall what a magnificent culture this hotel has.

Extremely impressed. Dont hesitate to stay here!

Room Tip: Go for breakfast included, Harbour view and inclusion of above and beyond for free nightly cocktails...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Hotel ICON is THE 5 stars hotel; we have stay there for 5 days in August and had a wonderfull experience. New hotel, with extremely efficient staff and good location, on Kowloon island( the nice part of Hong Kong, with restaurants, stores). From expresso cofeemachine to multifunctional and Bose audiosytem I dock , we found everything in the room. Nice touch with free Perrier, nuts or dry fruits and fabulous view. From our room we had a splendid harbour overview, in the night lights show was great. The food was great , the breakfast is served in to a restaurant with the same view, at The Market and afternoon tea with nice apetisers at GREEN. We did not have time to try the spa or pool.
The staff was great, we received indication about everything.
It was very nice to travel from Kowloon station from airport, a hotel bus was waiting and we receive a free suttle bus to the same station. Also, every 15 minutes, a bus take the guests in the city. The checking formalities were very efficient, overal, a wonderfull stay. I would reccomend the hotel with all the trust.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

CHose this as was new and had never been there. What a good choice! A lobvely hotel, fabulous views from my bedroom (Club room), used the Club room a lot and breakfast views are wonderful

Staff very friendlly, service is frst rate, bathrooms super and great lines and style. Bed nice and comfy and food quality is lovely

Concierge very knowledgable and while not close to thed MTR as otehr hotel it is a short walk and the hotel has a regular shuttle bus so I never felt this was a problem

Stylish hotel and I l;ikely will never stay anywhere else in Hong Kong again as this is a really wonderful and awesome hotel

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Club floor and get a harbiour view room especially if travelling with a partner - you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

As a family of five we found it hard to find hotels in Hong Kong that could accommodate us. Here we had a suite in the Above & Beyond floor and they upgraded our other twin room to that floor too so we could be next door. The design of the communal areas is fab and there is great attention to detail in the rooms too. We loved the friendly but helpful service and on the whole we felt the hotel offered a real Wow experience.

Would very happily stay here again!

For some more details & photos, check here on our blog...just ignore the general holiday info...

http://jet-rtw.blogspot.com/2011/10/hotel-icon-hong-kong.html

Room Tip: The Above & Beyond floor is great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Overall highly recommended and excellent value for money compared to the other HK hotels.
Pros - central location, 5-7min walk to metro station, large rooms very modern and chic, excellent shower with TV, good value, free wi-fi in the room most other HK hotels charge, nice gym and pool, excellent service very helpful staff booking restaurants, arranging taxis, free shuttle bus, free shuttle bus from kowloon station, airport check in at kowloon station.
Cons -overall not many cons but if you want to be extremely picky, ex-pat nightlife more on HK island side, decent harbour view but not the picture classic that you get from Ritz-carlton (which is 3 times the price).
overall i wouldnt hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Harbour view is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Nicely appointed rooms, very clean throughout, good roof top pool, spa & gym.
The downside was the complete lack of any degree of customer service from any of the staff with the exception of Tom at the pool area,
The food and service in the "Above & Beyond" restaurant on 28th floor floor was at best very poor.
This hotel could have been so much better.

Room Tip: Choose Harbour view, the hotel has 28 floors, the higher the room the better the view. We had floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel ICON? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ICON

Address: No.17 Science Museum Road, Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong Region > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel ICON 4.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel unlike any other. Welcome to a different world. Hotel ICON is a unique hotel designed by celebrated architects Terence Conran, Rocco Yim and William Lim. Breathtaking open public spaces, a striking vertical garden by Patrick Blanc, a grand sweeping staircase, innovative guest rooms and three vibrant dining spaces radiate contemporary style. We offer our guests traditional Asian hospitality, with all its courteous and attentive qualities – but in a refreshingly modern, stylish and international environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Ctrip DaoDao, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel ICON reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ICON Hong Kong

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel ICON, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.